$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
843 reviews
lovely kitchen, nice hotel, worthwile

I know this hotel long before. Last time I booked this hotel but I failed to live in for the reason... See full review

  • zhaangty
  • Aug 29, 2014
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (843)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
843 out of 843
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yichtsai
Indianapolis
Oct 17, 2012

wonderful hotel ever!

wonderful location! wonderful hotel! wonderful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 29, 2008

good value in DC

Room was larger than expected, clean and comfortable. staff seemed friendly and hotel was in the Georgetown/GWU area convenient to for my needs. About a 6 block walk from the nearest metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 23, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

THE STATE PLZA HOTEL WAS A NICE CLEAN HOTEL . STAFF WAS VERY NICE AND HELPFULL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, MA
Jul 14, 2008

Everything you need and more

This is the hotel for the person who doesn't want to be paying $3.00 for a soda, etc. The building once housed apartments, so each room comes with a little kitchenette to allow you to do some basic cooking, heating, and keeping stuff in the refrigerator - in DC, that can save a lot of money. It's not fancy but such a relief to have a room design that's different from your standard hotel. It has a 'european' feel to it - a little older, small elevators, rugs that are very basic. But the bed is comfortable, the staff are great, the internet works, and you can make your own midnight snack. It's also a great location - right on the edge of the George Washington University campus - meaning more access to everyday shops like CVS etc. that are harder to find in the downtown area. It's only a couple of blocks from the mall, and within a few blocks of the Metro. The only down side is the four steps to the first elevator level. This could be a problem for anyone with mobility issues. All in all, I loved it, and this will be the first place I look to stay when going to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a 24 hour CVS next door and a great restaurant, Tonic, that has good food, especially brunch on the weekends. It's also just a few blocks from the Mall near the Viet Nam Memorial.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 13, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

The State Plaza Hotel was not what I expected. There was no problem checking in and the staff was helpful taking bags to the room. Immediate parking in the hotel lot was not available. The staff would not put my name on a list in case a spot would open and they referred me to a parking garage 5 blocks away when I later learned there was a public garage behind the hotel. Why was this garage not presented as an option? The fixtures in the kitchenette seemed to be older and I didnt really want to touch them. The refrigerator did not work properly and the hotel did not have an ice machine or any vending machines. The hotel was made up of two separate buildings -- the room key was supposed to open the doors connecting the two builings -- my key did not work. Had a very difficult time getting credit for third night that I did not use. Was generally dissatisfied with this hotel and would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jul 13, 2008

Very Efficient

The staff at the desk are friendly and efficient. The car and luggage handlers are great. The restaurant staff is not very communicative and helpful. The accomodations are very nice and my room was well kept. This was my third time to stay at tha hotel. I highly recommended it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice cafe two blocks away, on the Geo. Washington University campus. They have good meals and a lovely brunch on Saturday and Sunday morning. Their name is The Tonic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oklahoma City
Jul 7, 2008

excellent location, excellent value

the State Plaza hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of national mall, GWU, shopping and metro. excellent kitchenette, 24 hour CVS right next door, small and friendly, staff very friendly and help, the beds are big, great mattress, plenty of pillows, big rooms, very good for families. one small negative was that the maids did not always vacum the floor every day, the bathtub would back up a little and it was obvious that the tubs were not scrubbed every day. however, the pluses of this place FAR outweigh the slight negatives. I wish all my vacation/business rooms were this outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a map, walk to White House and shopping because there are good restaurants along the way and due north of the hotel. larger grocery store is in Watergate, short walk west.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti
Jul 6, 2008

SIMPLE & CHIC

AS SOON AS WE WALKED IN WE FELT AT PEACE/EASE. THE ROOM WAS VERY RELAXING THE WHITE ON WHITE WAS VERY NICE. NOT TOO MUCH FANCY DECOR WHICH WE REALLY LIKED. COMFY AND CLOSE TO MAJOR ATTRACTIONS. WE HAD TO WALK A LITTLE BUT WE FOUND IT LAST MINUTE AT A GREAT PRICE. NOT TOO FAR FROM THE METRO. MY DAUGHTER ENJOYED IT! IT WAS VERY PEACEFUL. GRACIAS!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WE HAD TO WALK A LITTLE TO GET TO THE WHITE HOUSE AND LINCOLN MEMORIAL BUT WE SAW REALLY NICE THINGS ALONG THE WAY. THE ARCHITECTURE IS AMAZING!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville
Jul 5, 2008

Great Hotel for a Great Price

My family and I went to Washington D.C. for the Fourth of July. This hotel was a few blocks from a subway station. Also, fairly close to Lincoln Memorial and Washington Monument. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to check-in well before the scheduled time. The room included a kitchen area with fridge, stove, cups, plates, silverware, etc. so if you are on a tight budget you can save money by eating in. Although, part of the fun is searching for different/new places to eat. There is a restaurant in the hotel, but we did not try it. The beds were comfy, bathroom a good size, not real noisy. Overall, an excellent place to stay. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family! Right outside the hotel is a CVS Pharmacy for extra needs while visiting. Not a lot of restaurants in close proximity to the hotel it is in the George Washington University area. Very pretty/safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make sure to go to the zoo. It is not close to the hotel, so make sure you have your walking shoes on. The Old Post Office was nice to walk through, but would not recommend eating there. Do not waste your time at the National Aquarium. There are MUCH better museums to see and most are free admission. You can't beat that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 5, 2008

Not what I expected

The kitchen area was very small, it had a gas stove top. I have never used gas. There was no microwave or any oven of anykind. I was hoping to be within walking distance of the major attractions. We took the metro to most. It was also hard to find a good resturant within walking distance, only fast food types.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel did have a very good breakfast buffet. The food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newman Lake
Jun 29, 2008

Great spot for DC Tourists!

The State Plaza Hotel was a very enjoyable stay. We were just blocks away from many major attractions in Washington DC, as well as within a few minutes walk of a Metro Station. The hotel was older than I expected and had no continental breakfast, and the high speed internet was not wireless. But otherwise the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff friendly and prompt to respond to our requests. It was a great trip and we would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The tonic restaurant was just around the corner and tasty. I wouldn't waste my money with the hotel restaurant, especially when you have such a variety of options in DC

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top