$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful décor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1364 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl Bus Driver
Houston Texas
Dec 5, 2012

Enjoyed my stay

My room had a powder room, a kitchen and a dining area, I was surprised and impressed. The room was very clean, the pillows were fluffy and there were plenty of channels to choose from. The gentleman at the desk was nice enough to help me set up the free wi fi on my tablet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Actually I wouldn't call it short, I would say it's a medium walk to the White House from the hotel. So much to see. City is super clean. Hotel is across the street from George Washington Univ. You almost won't know it's there, the students are so quiet.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Feb 17, 2010

Huge suite; some features unusual.

Half a flight of stairs between lobby and elevator was a nuisance with luggage, and would seem innaccessible if in a wheelchair. Restaurant had limited hours; between the room and the restaurant we had to go outside for a short distance, then thru a parking garage for another short distance -- neither of those adds to ambience, and if I am staying in for a meal, why do I need to bundle up (February blizzard)? But, I WOULD stay here again, simply because the room was so big. A huge bedroom with 2 Queen beds; vanity area; full bathroom; large living room with couch, desk and chair, coffe table and side chairs, and flat screen TV; large foyer with coat closet; dining room; kitchen with fridge, microwave, stovetop, utensils, etc. Housekeeping did our dishes for us. 24-hour CVS with many food options right next door (I suspect due to Geo. Washington U. dorms about a block away.) Was able to find free street parking on the weekend, to avoid hotel valet parking of $30/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, NY
Feb 17, 2010

Huge suite; some features unusual.

Half a flight of stairs between lobby and elevator was a nuisance with luggage, and would seem innaccessible if in a wheelchair. Restaurant had limited hours; between the room and the restaurant we had to go outside for a short distance, then thru a parking garage for another short distance -- neither of those adds to ambience, and if I am staying in for a meal, why do I need to bundle up (February blizzard)? But, I WOULD stay here again, simply because the room was so big. A huge bedroom with 2 Queen beds; vanity area; full bathroom; large living room with couch, desk and chair, coffe table and side chairs, and flat screen TV; large foyer with coat closet; dining room; kitchen with fridge, microwave, stovetop, utensils, etc. Housekeeping did our dishes for us. 24-hour CVS with many food options right next door (I suspect due to Geo. Washington U. dorms about a block away.) Was able to find free street parking on the weekend, to avoid hotel valet parking of $30/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Bound One Day
Louisiana
Feb 16, 2010

Good Service

I think the hotel had a great location and I like the fact that they had a kitchen, meaning you did not have to go out just to get breakfast and on top of that, there was a 24 CVS next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the great DC landmarks are with in walking or metro distance.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Bound One Day
Louisiana
Feb 16, 2010

Good Service

I think the hotel had a great location and I like the fact that they had a kitchen, meaning you did not have to go out just to get breakfast and on top of that, there was a 24 CVS next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

All the great DC landmarks are with in walking or metro distance.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Feb 14, 2010

30$ for parking is ridiculous!!!

Great location, but paying 30$ just for parking is ridiculous. I asked for any other parking options other than valet parking. Front desk attendent never mention about public parking where is located just behind of the building. T

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Feb 14, 2010

30$ for parking is ridiculous!!!

Great location, but paying 30$ just for parking is ridiculous. I asked for any other parking options other than valet parking. Front desk attendent never mention about public parking where is located just behind of the building. T

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
santa barbara, ca
Feb 11, 2010

great hotel

Great experience...hotel was ideal, close to Metro, restaurants. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Beds were comfortable with soft linens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port Hueneme, CA
Feb 10, 2010

State Plaza DC

I am no stuck here in the latest blizzard. In every way the hotel staff has been great. Their professionalism and consideration at a difficult time is very appreciated. This is a very comfortable location, if you have to be stranded somewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even with inclement weather, it has been possible to walk to some very nice restaurants.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
North Dakota Traveler
Fargo ND
Feb 10, 2010

Storm of the century visit

We were in DC for the storm of the century, Feb of 2010, the staff was great and very helpful. the bellman were awesome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Memorial

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oxito
Business
Centreville Virginia
Feb 9, 2010

Blizzard of 2010

Great workers

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top