State Plaza Hotel ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$109
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 15, 2016 Check-out: Feb 16, 2016

Good bed

Would recommend Sat, Apr 19, 2008
The location was good - very near George Washington University. So there were the college type restaurants in the area. There was not a free PC available for guests; it cost 40 cents a minute to use their pcs. It was nice to have a kitchenette available but the plumbing left quite a bit to be desired. The linens and bed were very comfortable.

| USA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great Value for a Family

Would recommend Thu, Apr 10, 2008
When this said it came with a kitchen, I expected a small refrigerator and microwave. THERE WAS A FULL SIZED REFRIGERATOR, A STOVETOP WITH BURNERS, AND PLENTY OF STORAGE IF YOU BROUGHT GROCERIES. There were even a few pans, dishes, and utensils. A family could definitely save on meals by bringing or buying groceries. It is a converted apartment building, older, but clean. The neighborhood felt safe; however there was a liquor store and a CVS Pharmacy right next door. It was in walking distance to some national sites. The restaurant in the hotel was great, and the prices reasonalble for D.C. Parking is about $33 a night, but a family could easily save that much daily by using the kitchen to make their own meals. Not luxurious by any means, but value-priced, clean & functional. We did not have air-conditioning, but it may have not yet be turned-on for the season. Ask about that before you go!

| USA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Very Classy

Would recommend Thu, Apr 10, 2008
I was unexpectedly impressed with this hotel. If you like a modern facility with all the bells and whistles, this is NOT for you. Probably not a place you would want to take younger kids. Built in the '40's, this is a small boutique hotel that offers a classy atmosphere, but lacks the chain hotel amenities. It is located directly across from the State Department and within easy walking distance of the National Mall, GW University, the World Bank, the IMF and the Fed. My only complaint was that noise in the hall easily carried into the room.

Attractions

The restaurant on the property is excellent.

| Orlando, FL Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

My review of State Plaza Hotel

Would not recommend Wed, Apr 9, 2008
the heat did not work in the hotel, several guests were very upset at check in, with the heater not working and the cleaniness of the rooms. Great location, nice kichten, but it was warm very night

Attractions

white house, war memorials

| Tampa, FL Family

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Older hotel, but still good.

Would recommend Sun, Apr 6, 2008
You could tell it was an older hotel, but it was still an OK place to stay. Hotel staff was friendly to us and to our 5-yr old girls. The rooms were a little smaller than I'm used to in a hotel, but it did have the kitchen - no microwave or oven - and a nice dressing area outside of the bathroom. The bathroom was on the small side, at least for us with the 2 kids trying to do everything at the same time. The pipes made that old-pipe sound when you turned the shower on. The sink was shorter than normal - great for the kids! Unless you want to be up between 6:00 and 6:30, don't leave the window open...you'll hear what I assumed was a trash truck. They do have a restaurant at the hotel. You have to walk out the back of the hotel and then through the parking garge to get to it though. The food was OK, but not worth what we paid. They don't have a kids menu. The location was great. It's a 5 block walk to the closest metro station (foggy bottom-gwu, on the blue line), and about the same to the National Mall. It's next door to a liquor store and CVS. The CVS is good for college food, but not real groceries. Starbucks is 1 block away. Overall, we had a very good stay here and we would stay there again.

| Pensacola, FL Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Has what is needed

Would recommend Thu, Apr 3, 2008
Hotel was nothing special but had the necessities. There was a small separate dining area that had a frige and stove. Very few items provided to actually cook there. If you want a view you won't get it here with all the tall building surrounding. The hotel is more in the college campus area but there is a bus stop very close and the metro is about 5 or so blocks away. You can walk to the White House in about 10 mins or so but the Capitol is much further away.

| Los Angeles, CA Family

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

My review of State Plaza Hotel

Would recommend Wed, Apr 2, 2008
hotel stay was very pleasent and affordable. It was close to main attractions and the internet access was great

Attractions

the starbucks was close by for coffee and breakfast in a pinch

| Washington, DC Friends

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

nice price and close

Would recommend Wed, Apr 2, 2008
State Plaza Hotel was close to everything a tourist would want to see in Washington DC and close to the metro line to get you to where you couldn't walk. I liked the small attached kitchen for making toast or breakfast. It was also nice to have a parlor room so I could put on my makeup while someone else in my family used the bathroom or shower. The room was big enough that my family of 4 wasn't tripping on each other. We walked to the Kennedy Center and all the monuments easy from this hotel location.

| Des Moines, IA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Awesome place to stay.

Would recommend Sun, Mar 30, 2008
The State Plaza Hotel was an awesome place to stay when visiting Washington, DC... especially since it was pretty much centrally located to all of the points of interest and was in a great area. The room was great, plenty of room for my boyfriend and son to make themselves comfortable. The staff was very helpful and polite, and since we checked in late the staff even gave us menus to local restaurants that frequently delivered to their hotel. There was even a full kitchen! Our stay was overall very pleasant, and we are planning to return again sometime this summer.

Attractions

The White House, Washington Monument, Department of the Treasury and quite a few more attractions were around 5 blocks away from the hotel... it was a nice walk and had really nice scenery with all the blossoms blooming!

| USA Family

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Such a Deal!

Would recommend Sun, Mar 30, 2008
I was hoping for a hotel room that was clean, affordable, and in a safe neighborhood. What I got was a one bedroom apartment, that was clean, safe, and a steal! I was in DC for a week's vacation and on a budget. With a full kitchen that came with everything except a oven (although it did come with a microwave oven), I was able to save a ton of money by stocking up at the nearby Trader Joe's and eating in most of the time. The kitchen came stocked with dishes and utensils that the maid service cleaned everyday along with making up the bed, cleaning the bathroom, an tidying up. The hotel service was excellent.

Money saver

There is a liquor store and a pharmacy that carries a lot of food items right next door. Also, the rail line is only 4 blocks away, so I didn't need to rent a car to get around.

| San Francisco, CA Singles

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5