$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
859 out of 859
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
May 9, 2009

pretty good

The hotel was in a good location- walking distance to my conference which is mostly why I chose it. The service was pretty good and the employees were very professional and polite. On ht downside, the buffet breakfast was $14 and they charged extra for coffee and included the tip in the check so that brought it to a minimum $20 even if, like me, you tend to eat a small breakfast. So I was not pleased with that. Also, the only view I had was of the office building across the street but that is typical of most city hotels. The room was very large and had a kitchen. The internet service was a bit sketchy but tolerable. The shower/bathroom was great and very well stocked with all kinds of amenities. There was a big flat screen tv with good reception and the bed was fairly comfortable- I'd say 6 or 7 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chakalkar
Business
Orlando FL
May 8, 2009

Good, not great

I've stayed in DC dozens of times at hotels all over the metropolitan area, and although this hotel is ok it was one of my least favorites in the DC area. The main problem is it's not close enough to the subway so be prepared to walk or taxi it. Also the place is old and everything is small. The lobby, the rooms, the elevators, the hallways...everything. Again it's not bad, there is just way better options in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When sight seeing near the White House, go to the food court in the Ronald Reagan Building, great location, great choices and on the weekend its empty and quiet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' robin
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Smart, boutique and a great place

Needed a room quick for a meeting in DC. Great place - almost residential - wish I had known about this place before because I plan on always using it. Kitchenette is great for breakfast and easy lunch or late night snack. ONLY PROBLEM - not all rooms have internet access - check this out before they give you a room - some do not have Wi-FI - all lobbies (2) have wi-fi and I assume the bar also has Wi-Fi - they were willing to change my room - staff is unbelievable - loved the location (near GWU) Great meal at TONIC just up the street - next morning was able to get a cab and make it to meeting with NO PROBLEM! Great job Orbitz! BTW - skip the breakfast buffet - not worh the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TONIC - upstairs restaurant - bar was noisy but food in restaurant was great (just know you have to climb steps - was a problem for some in my party)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotts Babe
Business
Medford, Oregon
May 4, 2009

Great Place To Stay

Within Walking distance to ALL attractions in DC! So I highly recommend NOT, renting a car if you are flying to DC., there is just no need to. If you get tired of walking at the end of the day, you can always jump on a bus or flag down a cab. There is a bus stop right across the street. Our room on the 7th floor had a beautiful view of the Washington Monument, Capitol and the flag on top of the White House. The Hotel Staff was very friendly! We spent our honeymoon here and alrerady can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a CVS Pharmacy right next door, that is open 24 hours, where you can pick up several food items, milk, ect. There is no grocery store nearby that we could find, but we did see a woman walking with a Safeway grocery bag, so maybe? There are several little diners all around the college, as well as high end resturants. I felt very safe there. However, the food at the Hotel was aweful! I ordered the steak and it was so terrible, I had to ask for steak sause just to add flavor to it! My husbands crab cakes were just as bad. $60.00 later.. we ran next door to CVS and bought hot pockets and snacks for dinner! I do NOT recommend it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rirobjr
Business
Saginaw, MI.
Apr 27, 2009

Terrific price, location and staff! A++

I attended several events at the Kennedy Center. Staff very helpful in every way! Room was HUGE! Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Sits directly between White House and Georgetown! Staff directed me to MANY local eateries, all were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown! Great food. Great prices! LOTS of college students! Fun vibe!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paual pt
Business
texas
Apr 27, 2009

good location

Location of hotel was very close to lincoln memorial and was about a 10 minute walk to the subway/metro. There is a CVS store right next door which had groceries as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dalindamark
Business
Auburn Hills, MI
Apr 27, 2009

Great hotel - great location

Really nice hotel. We had no problems at all with our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
delray beach florida
Apr 25, 2009

centrally located

some business to take care, attractions are nearby really enjoy washington dc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Streamwood,Il
Apr 23, 2009

State Plaza Hotel

very large room with small kitchenette, separate kitchen and dressing area. great location, 5 blocks from metro, White House, nice neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
family travel planner
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Apr 23, 2009

Fabulous Location

We stayed one night for a quick trip to DC. Location was wonderful, very close to the National Mall between the Lincoln Memorial and Washington Monument. Would definitely recommend! Our room was perfect for a short stay. Would loved to have stayed longer... Room actually had a small kitchen, dressing area and small but nice bathroom. Valet Parking Attendants were very helpful and friendly! Made a very nice impression for a first visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Founding Farmers Restaurant was a wonderful surprise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top