$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa, FL
Apr 9, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

the heat did not work in the hotel, several guests were very upset at check in, with the heater not working and the cleaniness of the rooms. Great location, nice kichten, but it was warm very night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

white house, war memorials

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pensacola, FL
Apr 6, 2008

Older hotel, but still good.

You could tell it was an older hotel, but it was still an OK place to stay. Hotel staff was friendly to us and to our 5-yr old girls. The rooms were a little smaller than I'm used to in a hotel, but it did have the kitchen - no microwave or oven - and a nice dressing area outside of the bathroom. The bathroom was on the small side, at least for us with the 2 kids trying to do everything at the same time. The pipes made that old-pipe sound when you turned the shower on. The sink was shorter than normal - great for the kids! Unless you want to be up between 6:00 and 6:30, don't leave the window open...you'll hear what I assumed was a trash truck. They do have a restaurant at the hotel. You have to walk out the back of the hotel and then through the parking garge to get to it though. The food was OK, but not worth what we paid. They don't have a kids menu. The location was great. It's a 5 block walk to the closest metro station (foggy bottom-gwu, on the blue line), and about the same to the National Mall. It's next door to a liquor store and CVS. The CVS is good for college food, but not real groceries. Starbucks is 1 block away. Overall, we had a very good stay here and we would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 3, 2008

Has what is needed

Hotel was nothing special but had the necessities. There was a small separate dining area that had a frige and stove. Very few items provided to actually cook there. If you want a view you won't get it here with all the tall building surrounding. The hotel is more in the college campus area but there is a bus stop very close and the metro is about 5 or so blocks away. You can walk to the White House in about 10 mins or so but the Capitol is much further away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 2, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

hotel stay was very pleasent and affordable. It was close to main attractions and the internet access was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the starbucks was close by for coffee and breakfast in a pinch

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny1stabv
Business
Des Moines, IA
Apr 2, 2008

nice price and close

State Plaza Hotel was close to everything a tourist would want to see in Washington DC and close to the metro line to get you to where you couldn't walk. I liked the small attached kitchen for making toast or breakfast. It was also nice to have a parlor room so I could put on my makeup while someone else in my family used the bathroom or shower. The room was big enough that my family of 4 wasn't tripping on each other. We walked to the Kennedy Center and all the monuments easy from this hotel location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Awesome place to stay.

The State Plaza Hotel was an awesome place to stay when visiting Washington, DC... especially since it was pretty much centrally located to all of the points of interest and was in a great area. The room was great, plenty of room for my boyfriend and son to make themselves comfortable. The staff was very helpful and polite, and since we checked in late the staff even gave us menus to local restaurants that frequently delivered to their hotel. There was even a full kitchen! Our stay was overall very pleasant, and we are planning to return again sometime this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House, Washington Monument, Department of the Treasury and quite a few more attractions were around 5 blocks away from the hotel... it was a nice walk and had really nice scenery with all the blossoms blooming!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 30, 2008

Such a Deal!

I was hoping for a hotel room that was clean, affordable, and in a safe neighborhood. What I got was a one bedroom apartment, that was clean, safe, and a steal! I was in DC for a week's vacation and on a budget. With a full kitchen that came with everything except a oven (although it did come with a microwave oven), I was able to save a ton of money by stocking up at the nearby Trader Joe's and eating in most of the time. The kitchen came stocked with dishes and utensils that the maid service cleaned everyday along with making up the bed, cleaning the bathroom, an tidying up. The hotel service was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a liquor store and a pharmacy that carries a lot of food items right next door. Also, the rail line is only 4 blocks away, so I didn't need to rent a car to get around.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Mar 29, 2008

Huge rooms with great views, very friendly staff

I go to DC for business at least once a month. This was my first stay at the State Plaza Hotel, and I will definitely stay there again in the future. The location is ideal for anyone with business in downtown (it's an easy walk to many locations in northwest dc, and close to the Foggy Bottom metro station). It's also very close to many tourist attractions (especially the Lincoln, Jefferson, Vietnam, Korean and WWII memorials, the White House and the Washington Monument). I had a view of the Washington Monument and the Capitol from my room. I also had a full kitchen with all the necessities, which made my extended stay pleasant (I could have cereal in the morning while I watched the Today show, it was just like home!). Although the decor is older, it's very clean and comfortable. It's also quite large. The staff is very approachable and helpful. It was the best hotel I've stayed at in DC (or Virginia for that matter).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 27, 2008

convenient to tourist attractions

Hotel a bit dated. Rooms large for city hotel. Kitchen not very useful except for fridge. The stove was disconnected but on calling the front desk a dated microwave was sent up and installed. Good showers, comfortabel beds and linens. Buffet breakfast varried on quality day to day and staff in restaurant seemed rushed and not overly friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to the White House, tourist bus stops, and monuments. Metro a few blocks walk. Front staff not too knowledgeble about where to get the tour buses. Best to research that on your own. Except for restaurant in hotel it was hard to find a place to eat close by.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Mar 16, 2008

Clean and Convenient Location

The State Plaza Hotel is a comfortable, convenient hotel for tourists, as well as for individuals travelling to Washington D.C. on business trips. Our room was large and clean, and the kitchenette was stocked with both cooking and eating utensils. The staff was courteous and helpful, also. The location is also a great plus - 4 1/2 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station, 1 block from the State Dept. Building, 3 blocks from the Vietnam War Memorial and the TourMobile Bus stop, and 2 doors down from a CVS Pharmacy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Close to the Korea, and WW II Memorials, as well as the Lincoln Memorial

Back to menu Return to top