$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 24, 2014 Check-out: Dec 27, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
843 reviews
lovely kitchen, nice hotel, worthwile

I know this hotel long before. Last time I booked this hotel but I failed to live in for the reason... See full review

  • zhaangty
  • Aug 29, 2014
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (843)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
843 out of 843
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbn321
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great Hotel

We wanted to be near the National Mall and a metro station. This hotel fits the bill. It was literally 3-4 blocks from the WA Monument and 5 blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro station. There is a CVS store right next door that is opened 24 hrs, so if we needed quick snacks, drinks, etc...it was perfect. The hotel staff were courteous, helpful, professional and very friendly. The rooms are clean and quiet. The only downfall was that we didn't have AC in our room. It was so hot. They don't turn on the AC until summer kicks in. But once we brought it to their attention, they brought up a portable fan for us. That solved the hot room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valerie308
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Perfect for our needs

We were there for the cherry blossoms. Stayed 5 nights. The hotel was perfect for our needs, even had a lovely restaurant that was frequented by local business people (always a good sign). It is a bit old, but was very clean and the beds were wonderful. It was directly next door to a liquor store and a CVS, and we shopped at both. We were able to walk at night because we were in the midst of George Washington University -- lots of evening foot traffic. Our room had a kitchenette with a table and chairs, stove and full-sized fridge. We're not breakfast people so we made coffee each day and were on our way. We would definitely stay at the State Plaza Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We only took cabs when the weather was rainy. Otherwise, we were within walking distance to the Washington Monument.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
Apr 22, 2009

state plaza hotel

All was fine except the restaurant is a rip off. Buffet breakfast especially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Super Mom
Business
Colorado Springs
Apr 22, 2009

Unbeatable Location for the Price

The location of this hotel to the National Mall, museums and the metro was great. Only a few blocks to each. The size of the rooms were good, even with a small kitchen. The kitchen didn't have a oven, only a stove top, so don't plan on baking any food. There was a CVS drugstore next door which came in handy. You can buy some food there (ie milk, cereal, snacks). There is a coffee shop next door as well which is good in the morning. The only downfall to the location of this hotel is that there were not many restaruants real close by. You can walk 5-6 blocks and there are some. We did eat in the hotel once and it was pretty good. The staff was helpful arranging taxis, and they had umbrellas to borrow. This hotel is a great deal. I would totally recommend. I was traveling with my two kids over spring break so I really wanted a safe location/hotel. I did not feel unsafe at anytime. We even took the metro at night and we felt safe. An awesome trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to take the metro you can buy day passes for approx $7.80 per person for unlimited stops or you can purchase by the week. We found it better to buy by the day based on were we wanted to go in DC. Most days we walked everywhere due to the location of the hotel relative to all the sites and only used the metro when ou feet hurt from all the walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago suburbs
Apr 22, 2009

Nice family apartment style hotel

Everything was very satisfactory, free upgrade to larger room, new carpet. Only on Saturday night, there was an ethnic type convention nearby and many of the people were staying at the hotel, which would have been fine, except that the young adult kids were noisy until after midnight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great restaurants within walking distance from about 5 blks. to 20 blks, but we love walking everywhere. My favorite was Founding Farmers. Organic, green, great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 12, 2009

Family friendly

9 out of 10 for friendly staff, personal and eager to help. Spotless rooms with excellent maid service. Older hotel w/no easy switch from heat to air, but very accomodating to make the customer happy and comfortable. Relatively quiet and nice neighborhood. Would have liked the metro to be closer, but no complaint against hotel itself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Magichanzz
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 8, 2009

Substandard

The kitchenette had 3 forks, 5 knives and no spoons. there were no paper towels or wash clothes, no tea kettle, etc. You can call down for all those things but they don't pay attention to what you ask for and the people who work there can barely speak english and brought us up the wrong things every single time we requested things. We stopped letting the maid in on the 2nd day because she threw out food that was sealed in zip lock bags and was on the table- clearly things that were not trash. We were on the 3rd floor off the alley and because the air conditioning was blowing out warm air we had to have our windows open all the time - it was very noisy. Even with the windows closed the noise inside the hotel was too loud. I think this used to be apartments or something- the walls are paper thin; you can hear everyone and everything. They don't sell tours like the other hotels, but they have a computer room where you can do it yourself. They also don't have laundry facilities and there isn't a laundry mat in the vicinity, if there was they didn't know about it. They don't have breakfast, the F Street Bistro is terrible and the hotel doesn't have a concierge. Its 6 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, next time we will stay somewhere closer to the Capitol or a Metro stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Mar 24, 2009

A good hotel in the city

This hotel is at a great location. Interesting places are very close. Especially, Washington monument, Lincoln Memorial, Capitol Hill, The White House, US Department of State. These are the main places in a capital city. There's a CVS pharmacy just next door where u can get almost all daily stuffs, from food to clothes. The kitchen attached to the room is also spacious and has everything. This is a perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a CVS store and a liquor store just next door. That will be helpful. But there must be more computer in the Computer/Internet room (only two).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skye D.
Business
Bangor, ME
Mar 3, 2009

Great location for sightseeing!

From the moment my sons and I arrived, it was an excellent experience! The staff were extremely helpful, courteous, and gracious. Our room was terrific, the kitchen/dining nook was ideal and larger than I expected. We did a lot of sightseeing; from the front entrance of the hotel you can see the Washington Monument, so it was an awesome location for us. Complimentary newspaper arrived at about 8:30 a.m., perfect timing for us as well. There is parking available for a fee, I very gladly handed my keys over for the duration of our stay! What few requests we made were attended to very promptly. My sons were thrilled with the flat screen tv, cable, and internet access. There is a small store beside the hotel with a limited selection of food/drinks etc. If one were staying more than a few days, I would definitely find a nearby market. (The only thing the kids missed was a microwave..) The kitchen area had loads of cupboard space, and dishes and flatware; cookware arrived within a very short time after requesting it! The stovetop and fridge are like something you would have on your own kitchen. The toiletries provided were of very high quality, another pleasant surprise! I was very pleased with how quiet the room & hotel were despite being in a busy area. We did not use the local transportation, however there was a commuter bus area just a few steps away. We did not go to the hotel restaurant during out stay, the menu looked delightful though. Over all, our experience at this hotel was excellent and I would definitely stay there on a return trip! I have already recommended it to friends who will be travelling to Washington DC in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austell
Jan 6, 2009

Older with a lot of charm

This is an older hotel but well maintained and comfortable. The staff was great. The location was perfect for the meeting I had at the Theodore Roosevelt building across the street. My only dissatisfaction was the dining room and room service was not open after 9pm and both times I stayed at this hotel I got there after 9pm. However, there is a CVS next door with many food items that can be cooked or heated in the room's full kitchen. I enjoyed my stay and felt comfortable there as a women traveling alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

State Department, OPM, Red Cross National Headquarters. White House and George Washington University are within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top