$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 23, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
839 reviews
lovely kitchen, nice hotel, worthwile

I know this hotel long before. Last time I booked this hotel but I failed to live in for the reason... See full review

  • zhaangty
  • Aug 29, 2014
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (839)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
839 out of 839
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
asimpson
Rock Hill
Feb 27, 2013

Great place to stay

If you are looking for marble and spa tubs, keep looking. If what you need is a clean, well-located place to stay near the mall in DC, this is a great place to stay. We were in town for a conference at the Corcoran (3 blocks away) and to see the normal tourist sites (the mall is only a few blocks away) and museums (a longer walk). The room was older but spotless, the bed comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to make sure our visit was great. We had such a good trip we are coming back in a few months for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food can be found at DuPont circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Apr 23, 2009

great small hotel

Great location, only a few blocks from White House. Quiet, clean, comfy beds. Is an older apt building that was made into a hotel, so every room has a small kitchen with dishes. CVS next door has food, snacks. Saved time and money eating breakfast in our rooms. Felt very much at home. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is within walking distance. Also, we bought 2 day Tour Mobile passes, which go to all the main tourist sites, and even into Arlington Cemetery. Really great for families. You get on and off wherever you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jav
Business
Orlando, Florida
Apr 23, 2009

Good hotel

Loved it overall, very clean, new LG LCD TV, 2 desks, free internet, everything looked clean, the elevators, bathrooms and kitchen area looked old but clean and comfi. Temperature outside was cold, they kept the building temperature hot and the room a/c had no controls, the front desk provided us with a fan to draw outside air in but the window barely opens. The location is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State Plaza Hotel
Apr 23, 2009

My family stay

Very hard to locate..DC is one big circle. The hotel was very gracious once we finally arrived they waived our parking fee. Rooms were clean, but you had to ask for microwave... My children were bored there is no hotel activities for children to do anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramblinrose
Business
Seattle
Apr 22, 2009

Delightful Staff, excellent price

Our family really utilized the small kitchen during our week in Washington DC and when my daughter was ill allowed us to bring home food and make simple meals. The nearby metro stop and tourist attractions were easily walked by the younger, healthy members of our group but the 80 year old grandparents would have preferred a closer metro stop. The staff gave travel, dining and destination suggestions, got us Taxis as needed and brought us requested items at 11:00 at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

With family check out Operation Spy at the International Spy Museum and the Newseum. Use the Metro from Foggy Bottom as much as possible and/or purchase a 2 day pass on Tourmobile for excellent narrative between monuments and memorials and you choose how long to stay at each place. Starbucks nearby, long walk but doable to The Mall, White House and free 6 PM concerts at the nearby Kennedy Center.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brindley
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Perfect hotel and good location

Good location, it's near white house and downtown and the room is much bigger than I thought, service is quite good, this hotel is one of the best I've visited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Skippy the super dad
Business
Dover, DE
Apr 22, 2009

Not that impressed but great location

My wife and 16 month old son came to DC to see the sights. The hotel was walking distinct to everyting but that's about it on the positive side. It was warm when we arrived and the building still only had heat so it was very warm in the room. Our room was a suite but had little to no cooking tools. We had to beg/borrow/steal just to make our dinner. Parking is $30 a night plus tax with really no other options. There are no ramps for luggage or strollers so it was a challenge checking in/out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a CVS right next door if you need bus/train passes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbn321
Business
Sunnyvale, CA
Apr 22, 2009

Great Hotel

We wanted to be near the National Mall and a metro station. This hotel fits the bill. It was literally 3-4 blocks from the WA Monument and 5 blocks from the Foggy Bottom metro station. There is a CVS store right next door that is opened 24 hrs, so if we needed quick snacks, drinks, etc...it was perfect. The hotel staff were courteous, helpful, professional and very friendly. The rooms are clean and quiet. The only downfall was that we didn't have AC in our room. It was so hot. They don't turn on the AC until summer kicks in. But once we brought it to their attention, they brought up a portable fan for us. That solved the hot room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valerie308
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2009

Perfect for our needs

We were there for the cherry blossoms. Stayed 5 nights. The hotel was perfect for our needs, even had a lovely restaurant that was frequented by local business people (always a good sign). It is a bit old, but was very clean and the beds were wonderful. It was directly next door to a liquor store and a CVS, and we shopped at both. We were able to walk at night because we were in the midst of George Washington University -- lots of evening foot traffic. Our room had a kitchenette with a table and chairs, stove and full-sized fridge. We're not breakfast people so we made coffee each day and were on our way. We would definitely stay at the State Plaza Hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We only took cabs when the weather was rainy. Otherwise, we were within walking distance to the Washington Monument.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vermont
Apr 22, 2009

state plaza hotel

All was fine except the restaurant is a rip off. Buffet breakfast especially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisa Super Mom
Business
Colorado Springs
Apr 22, 2009

Unbeatable Location for the Price

The location of this hotel to the National Mall, museums and the metro was great. Only a few blocks to each. The size of the rooms were good, even with a small kitchen. The kitchen didn't have a oven, only a stove top, so don't plan on baking any food. There was a CVS drugstore next door which came in handy. You can buy some food there (ie milk, cereal, snacks). There is a coffee shop next door as well which is good in the morning. The only downfall to the location of this hotel is that there were not many restaruants real close by. You can walk 5-6 blocks and there are some. We did eat in the hotel once and it was pretty good. The staff was helpful arranging taxis, and they had umbrellas to borrow. This hotel is a great deal. I would totally recommend. I was traveling with my two kids over spring break so I really wanted a safe location/hotel. I did not feel unsafe at anytime. We even took the metro at night and we felt safe. An awesome trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to take the metro you can buy day passes for approx $7.80 per person for unlimited stops or you can purchase by the week. We found it better to buy by the day based on were we wanted to go in DC. Most days we walked everywhere due to the location of the hotel relative to all the sites and only used the metro when ou feet hurt from all the walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top