$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcoNut
Couples
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 19, 2013

Activacation

Came to support climate change action in D.C. Loved the hotel and location. Would not rent a car next time. Lovely, helpful staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car in D.C. Use public transit or bikeshare. Parking is either ridiculously expensive or very difficult to find, everywhere.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 9, 2008

Great location and very friendly staff

The hotel was very comfortable with all nesessary amenities for business and leisure. The room and kitchen look much larger than anticipated. The biggest point - good location near metro station and White House. In a whole, Georgetown area is nice and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The National mall and White House just a few blocks away. Shopping center and recreation Potomac area within walking distance. The Kennedy center for art performance, Watergate complex and Memorials are not a long away.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Deland
Jun 9, 2008

No A/C

The worst Hotel I have stayed at in the last 20 years. First you had to park in on building, drag you luggage thru the basement to the other building. Told they had no bellman on at that time. The room had no micro/w, the carpet was dirty and needed to be repulled as it had rolls in it. I trip on these several times, again bad back)The A/C barely worked the first night.They had no ice and had to make several calls to finally get ice. I was told I could use the ice trays in the room but they had not been refilled. So I got the privilege of tipping the persom who delivered the ice.As I stated earlier- no Micro/w- and in that type of setting it is the one thing you use the most. And ever time we had to go to the car we had to thake te elavator to the 1st Floor walk across the building ( about1/2 block) take another elavator down to the car. The second day was worst. We get back after a long hot day of sightseeing to find the A/C is not working at all. We pack up everything and started to leave. Just before we reach our car the Manager came up and said he had a room that the A/C was working. Since it was so late and we had such a bad day we took it. My wife went to get the key and the desk clerk was made because he had just rented that room. Did not care about the ones already check-in. This new room was much nicer and it had a micro/w.Ther was more but I hate to type, but you get the idea.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 8, 2008

A disaster

Kitchens have no microwaves and gas stoves that do not work. One of our rooms had a severe gas leak (the other room had the stove turned completely off, probably due to a gas leak)to which the hotel sent a serviceman who banged on the pipes with a wrench. Our room was not changed until the next day at our demand, as the guests were becoming ill. The only good thing about this hotel was that the showers were hot and had excellent water pressure. Other than that this property is a safety hazard. In addition, most of the staff had no clue about restraunts or attractions in the area and when asked gave wrong directions or simply stated I don't know. Stay away from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Irving, *
Jun 5, 2008

Good location

The location of The State Plaza Hotel was great for walking to almost all of the attractions in DC. The Metro was a little further that I thought but still was not bad. I liked having the kitchen, but there was no groceries close by so we had to shop at the CVS. The cleaning people took my turban towel on the first day when they were cleaning and I never got it back, although I asked every day. No one would call me back and when we checked out, after staying there five days, they still had not found and returned it to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Peachtree City, GA
Jun 5, 2008

Great location

The State Plaza Hotel is located within walking distance of many major D.C. attractions. There is a 24 hour pharmacy next door which my granddaughter called our life line. The staff was pleasant and willing to assist when needed. The rooms were well maintained and clean. It was nice to have a kitchen. However, we did not find out until the last day that we could have requested a microwave. On my next trip to Washington, I would glad stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask about restaurants in the area. There are good ones nearby, but are a bit difficult to find. Most of the major monuments, as well as the White House and the Capitol, are within walking distance. The White House and Capitol are rather long walks, but are doable.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Antonio
May 27, 2008

Great location,great value

State plaza Hotel was vert convenient to parking, the Metro, and an easy walk to the mall and its attractions. Very good value for the money, clean, and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Bistro happy hour and buffets.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
huntington
May 25, 2008

friendly

very close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance from alll activities

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Irvine, CA
May 11, 2008

Great location

The State Plaza was in a central location. Most parts of DC were within a 1-2 mile walk. It's also just a few blocks from a metro stop (which is very convenient if you are arriving from Reagan national airport). There's a CVS next door and the national mall is just a 10 minute stroll away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Denver, CO
May 4, 2008

Excellent staff

The front desk and gentlemen greeting were wonderful and very knowledgeable. This was our first trip to DC, and we had lots of questions. The room was wonderful. We had a plaza suite, which enabled my sons to stay up until all hours, while I comfortably slept in the other room. Room service was disappointing, as the menu was very limited, very expensive, and not all that great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic Restaurant (suggested by Hotel staff) was very good and relaxing

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2008

How many hotel rooms have a kitchen?

I found the room very comfortable and even though the TV was small, the room was spacious and the kitchen was a definite bonus! The doorman was fabulous and the location is ideal whether you're there on business or just site-seeing. Only a ten minute walk from the White House and a six minute cab ride from Georgetown, which has every store and restaurant you'd want. Only negative was that there was much dining and shopping in a close walking distance since you're basically located in the middle of a college campus. Lovely scenery though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Utilize the Metro. Twenty dollars lasted me almost the full 4 days and we traveled from Arlington to the Capitol building and back.

Back to menu Return to top