$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
930 out of 930
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, California
Jul 28, 2009

Great Place to Stay

Outstanding staff. [...], one of the maintenance staff was extremely helpful, as was the desk staff. It's close easy walk to the Mall and the downtown. The only complaint I have is Wifi does not work in every room, so I had to change my room. But they said soon the entire hotel will be fixed. Otherwise a great place, and I am planning on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 28, 2009

State Plaza 7-20

Great rooms, very large for DC & with a kitchen. Dated in a very clean classy way. Proves that what is built well last well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Jul 28, 2009

Educational Vacation

I found the State Plaza Hotel to be in an excellent location. My children and I brought our bikes with us and were able to bike the entire area do to the location of the hotel. They helped me bring the bikes into and out of the hotel every time we went for a ride, which was quite often. The staff is very helpful with all types of questions and directions. The rooms were cleaned every day to perfection. The one flaw which I do not find to be a huge problem is that the rooms could be updated. But that is typical in most smaller, non hotel chains. Also, I did not know that I would have to pay to park my vehicle. It would have been nice to know about that cost upfront. At first I was put off by that but after pedalling around the city it was nice to know that I did not need to worry about my vehicle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The rooms come with a stove top range, refriderator and microwave. Bring food with you and save lots of money.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Occasional Tourist
Business
Louisville, KY
Jul 27, 2009

Great Value!

This hotel had a great location, within easy walking distance of the White House, the Mall and its monuments, and the Kennedy Performing Arts Center. Rooms were very comfortable and quiet. A number of good restaurants were about a 10-15 minute walk away. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting convenience, comfort, and value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 27, 2009

Superb Staff!

The hotel was within walking distance to restaurants and major attractions. The front entrance was under construction which meant we had to walk around to the other side of the building for an entrance. However, the elevator on that side of the hotel did not support the rooms on the other side of the hotel. The alternative route was through the parking garage into the adjoining building. Awkward, but not a great inconvenience, just slightly confusing at first. The room was clean and kept very tidy by the staff. Everyone was pleasant and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spain
Jul 25, 2009

"The good, the bad, and the really ugly"

Small bathroom, wardrobe, short on kitchen utensils.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GS Leader
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 23, 2009

rooms large and clean

clean hotel with helpful staff rooms are quaint and towels are fluffy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GS Leader
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 23, 2009

rooms large and clean

clean hotel with helpful staff rooms are quaint and towels are fluffy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom and daughter getaway
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 22, 2009

Great Hotel! Stay Here!

My daughter and I enjoyed this hotel. It was convenient to the Metro station (Foggy Bottom a couple of blocks away) and directly across the street from George Washington University. It is an older building, and slightly confusing because of the two entrances, but it is well kept and a good value for the money. The bed was extra comfy and the room was very clean. The staff was helpful, and the food in the restraunt was not bad. I am sure there are nicer places to stay in Washington, but they also come with a huge price tag. This hotel is a great value. I recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When I read other reviews on this hotel, they said it was not convenient to restraunts or food. Found a great place a short walk away called Tonic food was good and so were the drinks.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crazy P
Business
Glastonbury, CT
Jul 21, 2009

Great Hotel, but not without fault

Great little hotel, great rooms, great price ($120 a night), and first class service! But I was rather disappointed with the internet access because I could only get intermittent connection and could hardly look up details on DC when I was visiting with my family. But I talked to the manager and they are in the process of installing a hotel wide WiFi network... other than that, it was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend it, especially if it can be had for a low price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top