$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
864 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great location, super comfy

The State Plaza is within walking distance to all the major Washington attractions, the room was... See full review

  • Aussie Lou
  • Jun 16, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (864)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
864 out of 864
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maresyd
Pittsburgh
May 11, 2009

Great Hotel

the hotel was great convineint to everything and the staff was super..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence, RI
May 9, 2009

pretty good

The hotel was in a good location- walking distance to my conference which is mostly why I chose it. The service was pretty good and the employees were very professional and polite. On ht downside, the buffet breakfast was $14 and they charged extra for coffee and included the tip in the check so that brought it to a minimum $20 even if, like me, you tend to eat a small breakfast. So I was not pleased with that. Also, the only view I had was of the office building across the street but that is typical of most city hotels. The room was very large and had a kitchen. The internet service was a bit sketchy but tolerable. The shower/bathroom was great and very well stocked with all kinds of amenities. There was a big flat screen tv with good reception and the bed was fairly comfortable- I'd say 6 or 7 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
chakalkar
Orlando FL
May 8, 2009

Good, not great

I've stayed in DC dozens of times at hotels all over the metropolitan area, and although this hotel is ok it was one of my least favorites in the DC area. The main problem is it's not close enough to the subway so be prepared to walk or taxi it. Also the place is old and everything is small. The lobby, the rooms, the elevators, the hallways...everything. Again it's not bad, there is just way better options in the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

When sight seeing near the White House, go to the food court in the Ronald Reagan Building, great location, great choices and on the weekend its empty and quiet.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travelin' robin
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Smart, boutique and a great place

Needed a room quick for a meeting in DC. Great place - almost residential - wish I had known about this place before because I plan on always using it. Kitchenette is great for breakfast and easy lunch or late night snack. ONLY PROBLEM - not all rooms have internet access - check this out before they give you a room - some do not have Wi-FI - all lobbies (2) have wi-fi and I assume the bar also has Wi-Fi - they were willing to change my room - staff is unbelievable - loved the location (near GWU) Great meal at TONIC just up the street - next morning was able to get a cab and make it to meeting with NO PROBLEM! Great job Orbitz! BTW - skip the breakfast buffet - not worh the money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

TONIC - upstairs restaurant - bar was noisy but food in restaurant was great (just know you have to climb steps - was a problem for some in my party)

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scotts Babe
Medford, Oregon
May 4, 2009

Great Place To Stay

Within Walking distance to ALL attractions in DC! So I highly recommend NOT, renting a car if you are flying to DC., there is just no need to. If you get tired of walking at the end of the day, you can always jump on a bus or flag down a cab. There is a bus stop right across the street. Our room on the 7th floor had a beautiful view of the Washington Monument, Capitol and the flag on top of the White House. The Hotel Staff was very friendly! We spent our honeymoon here and alrerady can't wait to come back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

There is a CVS Pharmacy right next door, that is open 24 hours, where you can pick up several food items, milk, ect. There is no grocery store nearby that we could find, but we did see a woman walking with a Safeway grocery bag, so maybe? There are several little diners all around the college, as well as high end resturants. I felt very safe there. However, the food at the Hotel was aweful! I ordered the steak and it was so terrible, I had to ask for steak sause just to add flavor to it! My husbands crab cakes were just as bad. $60.00 later.. we ran next door to CVS and bought hot pockets and snacks for dinner! I do NOT recommend it!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rirobjr
Business
Saginaw, MI.
Apr 27, 2009

Terrific price, location and staff! A++

I attended several events at the Kennedy Center. Staff very helpful in every way! Room was HUGE! Walking distance to EVERYTHING. Sits directly between White House and Georgetown! Staff directed me to MANY local eateries, all were great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Georgetown! Great food. Great prices! LOTS of college students! Fun vibe!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
paual pt
texas
Apr 27, 2009

good location

Location of hotel was very close to lincoln memorial and was about a 10 minute walk to the subway/metro. There is a CVS store right next door which had groceries as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dalindamark
Auburn Hills, MI
Apr 27, 2009

Great hotel - great location

Really nice hotel. We had no problems at all with our trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
delray beach florida
Apr 25, 2009

centrally located

some business to take care, attractions are nearby really enjoy washington dc

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Streamwood,Il
Apr 23, 2009

State Plaza Hotel

very large room with small kitchenette, separate kitchen and dressing area. great location, 5 blocks from metro, White House, nice neighborhood

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search