$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
859 out of 859
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie735
Business
Colorado
Jun 21, 2009

Great value, pleasant lodgings

Housekeeping was wonderful, room was spotless every day. Furnishings were older but beds were very comfortable and we felt this hotel was a Great Deal for the money. Prepare to walk about 5 blocks to the metro but very doable in all but the very worst weather. Many major attractions are almost that close as well, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dipas
Business
belleville nj
Jun 15, 2009

good location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catalyst
Business
albany,ny
Jun 14, 2009

very comfortable accomodations,nice xtra

We went to see all the historical spots like capitol, museums, nat. mall, zoo, aquarium, holocaust museum. We just wish they had provided local eatery info, we were kind of lost. This experience was a good one. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room comfortable. The last 2 nites, our neighbor in rm 733 kept us up being loud until after 11pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do an internet search ahead of time because the hotel doesn't have info on these things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Jun 14, 2009

Good experience, would stay again.

The rooms were clean, and very appealing with fluffy white beds. The small kitchenette with full size fridge was great, it allowed us to stock up on food items to keep eating costs a little lower. The staff was friendly. The only negatives -- the hotel is split into two sides and requires a walk out of one building into the other, which was a little difficult with suitcases. Also, the walls were very thin, we could hear all passers-by in the halls and neighboring rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley Family
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 14, 2009

Walking D.C.

Excellent location if you plan to walk around D.C. Within just a few blocks of Museums and monuments. Exceptionally clean and spacious rooms that allowed room for the children to play while the adults could relax. There was plenty of places to park nearby and you could use the hotels valet parking for a higher price. If this hotel added a pool it would get a five star rating from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The tours are very pricy. You could stay at this hotel and walk around the site seeing areas on your own and save some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jls
Business
fairfield county ct
Jun 14, 2009

A Capitol find

Nice "home away from home." Extremely clean and spacious. Own kitchen! Felt like you had your own apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in-house - small relaxing restaurant where you can get a meal or a sandwich and unwind...Hotel is right next to George Washington campus/Foggy Bottom.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy Italian
Business
Paducah, Ky
Jun 12, 2009

Wonderful time at the State Plaza

Our stay at State Plaza Hotel in DC was wonderful! It didn't look the greatest from outside but once in your room, it was heaven! The beds were so incredibly comfy and the place was spotless. If you needed anything, they were at your door within 2 minutes. One of the elevators was out of service on the last day we were there and it was a little slow but it wasn't like that the whole time we were there. We had a problem with our flight and may not ever fly "United" again but when we got to our hotel, they were so acommodating for us. The help was super friendly. We met lots of very friendly "regular" guest there too. It was close to all the attractions we wanted to see and walking distance from the Metro subway. Our accomodations included a full kitchen with all that you needed, a dressing room separate from the bath, and a very large bedroom. TV was updated and the room was restful. I felt very safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking is expensive at the Hotel but the subway was maybe 6 blocks away and it took you anywhere you wanted to go. At night, there was street parking that was free.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ogden, Utah
Jun 8, 2009

Within walking distance

We went on our family vacation to D.C. We woke up in the morning and walked about .5miles to get to the National Mall area. Most Smithsonian museums, memorials, and White House are all within walking distance. Metro is about 4 blocks away from the hotel.We felt very safe at this hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside was no microwave in kitchen and sometimes hot water ran out when the next room was in use. Also my kids were upset there wasn't a pool. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is not much in dining right by this hotel unless you eat at the hotel restaurant. There is a Subway close by and a CVS pharmacy where you can pick up limited groceries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Menomonee Falls, WI
Jun 8, 2009

An Okay Hotel for the Price

Ours was a family vacation to Washington, D.C. We enjoyed four days and three nights of touring and sightseeing. Our hotel, the State Plaza was located on 21st and E. This was a terrific location because it allowed us with two young children to easily access the Metro or walk to many of the wonderful sites such as The Mall, Smithsonians, and George Washington University. The location of the State Plaza was one of its two strengths. The other strength was the hotel's outstanding service. The staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. They were very helpful and polite. The hotel itself was old. It may have once been an apartment building. The appliances, including the bath facilities, were outdated. We ordered a microwave which didn't work and needed to be replaced. The paint on the walls was very thick in some places lending to the assumption that the building was old. On the whole, our vacation to D.C. was enjoyable, but I really cannot recommend the State Plaza Hotel. There are many other choices in the same area, for about the same price, that would be worth checking out. They allow on average about 20 minutes to get off the bus and take pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend the use of the tour service, "All About Town." The clean and air-conditioned bus picks you up in front of the hotel and takes you to all of the popular monuments including the Lincoln, Jefferson, FDR, Korean War, WWII, and Iwo Gima memorials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bldtdan
Business
Camarillo CA
Jun 5, 2009

OLD but clean.

This is a complex of old buildings with tiny hallways and elevators. The rooms were clean and Spartan. Furniture was OK nothing more. When I reserved the room there was no information that the rooms were apartment type. Kitchen had a coffee maker but the outlet was on the floor with no extention cord, also no papertowels or napkins in the kitchen. Actually this hotel is perfect for a family visiting DC or George Town University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top