$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful décor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1364 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bahoo65
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Week trip to D.C.

Stayed in D.C. for the week. Hotel was in a convenient location. About three blocks from the metro and three blocks from the mall. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint would be that my room was right next to the lobby and you could hear people coming in and out at all times of the day. The room was very spacious. The resturant located at the hotel was very good and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Mar 19, 2010

Super location and great accomodations

The rooms were very nice and large. Having a kitchen was a great time saver. We were next door to a CVS store and could purchase many things to prepare in our room. We were there for a forum on Alzheimer's and then some sight seeing. It was close to many sights. We didn't find as much dining choses, but to be honest we did not walk the area much. It is definitely a place I would stay again and refer friends to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Oregon
Mar 19, 2010

Super location and great accomodations

The rooms were very nice and large. Having a kitchen was a great time saver. We were next door to a CVS store and could purchase many things to prepare in our room. We were there for a forum on Alzheimer's and then some sight seeing. It was close to many sights. We didn't find as much dining choses, but to be honest we did not walk the area much. It is definitely a place I would stay again and refer friends to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie Cross
Edina, MN
Mar 15, 2010

Enjoyable stay, pleasant staff,

Hotel is in a super location and the staff was very friendly and responsive to our needs. Needs updating but the beds were comfrotable with nice linens and Bath and Bodyworks toiletries. Excellent room service food from F Street Bistro. Only negative is we couldn't control AC/HV and our room was very hot. But I would stay here again and would recommend it. Reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

F Street Bistro Room Service

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BuckyPharmD
Wisconsin
Mar 15, 2010

Vintage Style, Chlorine Smell

This hotel is quite quaint with a vintage feel and kitchenettes in each room. The staff is extremely helpful and made reservations, called taxis, etc for us. The only downsides are the location on the far west side of DC - far from museums and the center of the mall - although you are close to the Lincoln Memorial. Also, the water is terribly chlorinated and smells and tastes awful. There is a CVS next door and I recommend stocking up on water there. Especially if you plan on making coffee in the morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Forget about those expensive "Washington after-dark" tours - take one yourself and save the money and get a good workout at the same time. The monuments all have rangers that staff them and can answer questions and give tours.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cheshire, MA
Mar 15, 2010

Retro, super clean, A+ location

We were in D.C. to view the sights and see the Terra Cotta Warrior exhibit. This hotel is in an awesome location. It is in a very nice neighborhood surrounded by George Washington University and we were able to walk everywhere. We didn't use our car the whole weekend and we were on able to park on the street for free on Saturday and Sunday. It was about 10 blocks to walk to the red line metro to go to the zoo, but it was good exercise. The bedding was of good quality. The bath was circa 1950's, but in excellent condition. The kitchen was from the same time period as well with metal cabinets, but everything was spotless. The dressing room was a nice bonus. The staff was very nice. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter Smith
San Jose, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Very good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cheshire, MA
Mar 15, 2010

Retro, super clean, A+ location

We were in D.C. to view the sights and see the Terra Cotta Warrior exhibit. This hotel is in an awesome location. It is in a very nice neighborhood surrounded by George Washington University and we were able to walk everywhere. We didn't use our car the whole weekend and we were on able to park on the street for free on Saturday and Sunday. It was about 10 blocks to walk to the red line metro to go to the zoo, but it was good exercise. The bedding was of good quality. The bath was circa 1950's, but in excellent condition. The kitchen was from the same time period as well with metal cabinets, but everything was spotless. The dressing room was a nice bonus. The staff was very nice. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter Smith
San Jose, CA
Mar 15, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Very good overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queenie Cross
Edina, MN
Mar 15, 2010

Enjoyable stay, pleasant staff,

Hotel is in a super location and the staff was very friendly and responsive to our needs. Needs updating but the beds were comfrotable with nice linens and Bath and Bodyworks toiletries. Excellent room service food from F Street Bistro. Only negative is we couldn't control AC/HV and our room was very hot. But I would stay here again and would recommend it. Reasonably priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

F Street Bistro Room Service

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Knoxville, TN
Mar 14, 2010

State Plaza Hotel

Excellent room, great service. Only difficulty was in regulation of room temperature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top