State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
864 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great location, super comfy

The State Plaza is within walking distance to all the major Washington attractions, the room was... See full review

  • Aussie Lou
  • Jun 16, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (864)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
864 out of 864
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wayland Mass
Jun 21, 2009

Clean, Comfortable Rooms Kitchenette

Relatively inexpensive. Strange lobby areas that are very stark but rooms are clean, roomy, with nice mattresses, bedding,towels, kitchenette with coffee maker, stove, and basic cooking pots,pans,plates etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Washington Monument and White House. GW campus next door. Great location for tourists or parents of GW students.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie735
Colorado
Jun 21, 2009

Great value, pleasant lodgings

Housekeeping was wonderful, room was spotless every day. Furnishings were older but beds were very comfortable and we felt this hotel was a Great Deal for the money. Prepare to walk about 5 blocks to the metro but very doable in all but the very worst weather. Many major attractions are almost that close as well, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dipas
belleville nj
Jun 15, 2009

good location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catalyst
albany,ny
Jun 14, 2009

very comfortable accomodations,nice xtra

We went to see all the historical spots like capitol, museums, nat. mall, zoo, aquarium, holocaust museum. We just wish they had provided local eatery info, we were kind of lost. This experience was a good one. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room comfortable. The last 2 nites, our neighbor in rm 733 kept us up being loud until after 11pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do an internet search ahead of time because the hotel doesn't have info on these things.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa Bay, FL
Jun 14, 2009

Good experience, would stay again.

The rooms were clean, and very appealing with fluffy white beds. The small kitchenette with full size fridge was great, it allowed us to stock up on food items to keep eating costs a little lower. The staff was friendly. The only negatives -- the hotel is split into two sides and requires a walk out of one building into the other, which was a little difficult with suitcases. Also, the walls were very thin, we could hear all passers-by in the halls and neighboring rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley Family
Pennsylvania
Jun 14, 2009

Walking D.C.

Excellent location if you plan to walk around D.C. Within just a few blocks of Museums and monuments. Exceptionally clean and spacious rooms that allowed room for the children to play while the adults could relax. There was plenty of places to park nearby and you could use the hotels valet parking for a higher price. If this hotel added a pool it would get a five star rating from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The tours are very pricy. You could stay at this hotel and walk around the site seeing areas on your own and save some money.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jls
fairfield county ct
Jun 14, 2009

A Capitol find

Nice "home away from home." Extremely clean and spacious. Own kitchen! Felt like you had your own apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in-house - small relaxing restaurant where you can get a meal or a sandwich and unwind...Hotel is right next to George Washington campus/Foggy Bottom.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sassy Italian
Paducah, Ky
Jun 12, 2009

Wonderful time at the State Plaza

Our stay at State Plaza Hotel in DC was wonderful! It didn't look the greatest from outside but once in your room, it was heaven! The beds were so incredibly comfy and the place was spotless. If you needed anything, they were at your door within 2 minutes. One of the elevators was out of service on the last day we were there and it was a little slow but it wasn't like that the whole time we were there. We had a problem with our flight and may not ever fly "United" again but when we got to our hotel, they were so acommodating for us. The help was super friendly. We met lots of very friendly "regular" guest there too. It was close to all the attractions we wanted to see and walking distance from the Metro subway. Our accomodations included a full kitchen with all that you needed, a dressing room separate from the bath, and a very large bedroom. TV was updated and the room was restful. I felt very safe there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Parking is expensive at the Hotel but the subway was maybe 6 blocks away and it took you anywhere you wanted to go. At night, there was street parking that was free.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ogden, Utah
Jun 8, 2009

Within walking distance

We went on our family vacation to D.C. We woke up in the morning and walked about .5miles to get to the National Mall area. Most Smithsonian museums, memorials, and White House are all within walking distance. Metro is about 4 blocks away from the hotel.We felt very safe at this hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The only downside was no microwave in kitchen and sometimes hot water ran out when the next room was in use. Also my kids were upset there wasn't a pool. I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There is not much in dining right by this hotel unless you eat at the hotel restaurant. There is a Subway close by and a CVS pharmacy where you can pick up limited groceries.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Menomonee Falls, WI
Jun 8, 2009

An Okay Hotel for the Price

Ours was a family vacation to Washington, D.C. We enjoyed four days and three nights of touring and sightseeing. Our hotel, the State Plaza was located on 21st and E. This was a terrific location because it allowed us with two young children to easily access the Metro or walk to many of the wonderful sites such as The Mall, Smithsonians, and George Washington University. The location of the State Plaza was one of its two strengths. The other strength was the hotel's outstanding service. The staff did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. They were very helpful and polite. The hotel itself was old. It may have once been an apartment building. The appliances, including the bath facilities, were outdated. We ordered a microwave which didn't work and needed to be replaced. The paint on the walls was very thick in some places lending to the assumption that the building was old. On the whole, our vacation to D.C. was enjoyable, but I really cannot recommend the State Plaza Hotel. There are many other choices in the same area, for about the same price, that would be worth checking out. They allow on average about 20 minutes to get off the bus and take pictures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

I highly recommend the use of the tour service, "All About Town." The clean and air-conditioned bus picks you up in front of the hotel and takes you to all of the popular monuments including the Lincoln, Jefferson, FDR, Korean War, WWII, and Iwo Gima memorials.

Back to menu Return to top