$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 29, 2009

Great experience~

The hotel was great, it is very close to downtown and all the museums. It didn't have a lot of parking around it, and they wanted $30/night for valet parking which wasn't very pleasant. But the room was great, the bathroom had its own entrance separately, and there was a kitchen! It was great! People that worked there were also friendly. Overall, it was a very nice hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to the National Mall with all its museums and parks. There really is no need for a car there (and also because it is very difficult to find parking).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 24, 2009

very comfortable and convenient

Check-in was super-quick, but I had to walk through a creepy parking garage to get to my room, which was in the second tower. The room was fabulous! The bed and bedding were the most comfortable I think I've ever experienced! The suite was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was in excellent working order, with dishes, utensils, and ice freezing in trays in the freezer. Wonderful eating area and windows. Great view of Washington Monument from bedroom window. The bath/shower was excellent and very, very comfortable. Plenty of room for hygiene and grooming products in bathroom and the adjacent dressing room. Would be excellent for two couples traveling together, as there was excellent privacy and plenty of room. I was alone, so it was bigger than I needed, but very comfortable. No instant check-out from the room, but check-out took only a minute in person, and could be done from a front desk in either of the towers. It's right on the GWU campus, so would be perfect for families visiting the college. Closet was fairly small if several ppl were using it, but more than adequate for my needs. Food was the only problem. The room service menu only included lunch and dinner and was only available until 10pm. The menu was very limited and very expensive. I didn't find anything that appealed to me, and the hotel didn't have information about local eateries, but I found a TGIFriday's and a few local college places within a few blocks. Coffee and coffee maker were in the room, and Washington Post was delivered to the room in the morning, but no in-room breakfast was available unless I went next door to the CVS and picked up groceries. I'm not sure if breakfast was available in the hotel restaurant, but I'd heard bad reviews and the menu was very weird, so I didn't even try. I found breakfast near my meeting a few blocks away on my own. The location is fabulous for visiting GWU, doing business downtown, sightseeing, or anything else you'd need to do in the Foggy Bottom/downtown areas. It's fairly close to Metro, but it was a rough walk after a long travel day with my luggage from the train to the hotel. If you're not carrying large or heavy bags, it's an easy and pleasant walk. I didn't use the fitness center or business center while I was there, but I did view them. I saw other people using them, and they both seemed well equipped, well maintained, and useful. No pool or spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do some research online before your trip or check with locals (maybe GWU) to find dining options. You'll have to walk at least several blocks or take the Metro or a taxi to get somewhere. Plan ahead for breakfast. There are several places within a several block walk, but you have to know where to go to find them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
munchkn14
Business
Springfield, IL
Jun 23, 2009

Great place to stay!

The hotel was close enough to Metra to be able to travel everywhere I needed to go. The kitchen was great! It came stocked with a full set of dishes, fridge, microwave, and full stove!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayland Mass
Jun 21, 2009

Clean, Comfortable Rooms Kitchenette

Relatively inexpensive. Strange lobby areas that are very stark but rooms are clean, roomy, with nice mattresses, bedding,towels, kitchenette with coffee maker, stove, and basic cooking pots,pans,plates etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to Washington Monument and White House. GW campus next door. Great location for tourists or parents of GW students.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
maggie735
Business
Colorado
Jun 21, 2009

Great value, pleasant lodgings

Housekeeping was wonderful, room was spotless every day. Furnishings were older but beds were very comfortable and we felt this hotel was a Great Deal for the money. Prepare to walk about 5 blocks to the metro but very doable in all but the very worst weather. Many major attractions are almost that close as well, great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dipas
Business
belleville nj
Jun 15, 2009

good location

very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
catalyst
Business
albany,ny
Jun 14, 2009

very comfortable accomodations,nice xtra

We went to see all the historical spots like capitol, museums, nat. mall, zoo, aquarium, holocaust museum. We just wish they had provided local eatery info, we were kind of lost. This experience was a good one. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the room comfortable. The last 2 nites, our neighbor in rm 733 kept us up being loud until after 11pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do an internet search ahead of time because the hotel doesn't have info on these things.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tampa Bay, FL
Jun 14, 2009

Good experience, would stay again.

The rooms were clean, and very appealing with fluffy white beds. The small kitchenette with full size fridge was great, it allowed us to stock up on food items to keep eating costs a little lower. The staff was friendly. The only negatives -- the hotel is split into two sides and requires a walk out of one building into the other, which was a little difficult with suitcases. Also, the walls were very thin, we could hear all passers-by in the halls and neighboring rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Riley Family
Business
Pennsylvania
Jun 14, 2009

Walking D.C.

Excellent location if you plan to walk around D.C. Within just a few blocks of Museums and monuments. Exceptionally clean and spacious rooms that allowed room for the children to play while the adults could relax. There was plenty of places to park nearby and you could use the hotels valet parking for a higher price. If this hotel added a pool it would get a five star rating from me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The tours are very pricy. You could stay at this hotel and walk around the site seeing areas on your own and save some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jls
Business
fairfield county ct
Jun 14, 2009

A Capitol find

Nice "home away from home." Extremely clean and spacious. Own kitchen! Felt like you had your own apartment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great dining in-house - small relaxing restaurant where you can get a meal or a sandwich and unwind...Hotel is right next to George Washington campus/Foggy Bottom.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top