$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 28, 2015 Check-out: Mar 1, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
851 reviews
weekend getaway

came to dc to visit my brother who lives on-campus at gw. was pleasantly surprised to walk into a... See full review

  • Aarika S.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Across the street from GWU dorms

Clean and convenient- across the street from the George Washington University dormitories. Large... See full review

  • Sandy from Va
  • Jan 14, 2015
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (851)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
851 out of 851
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4th of July
Business
Bloomington, MN
Jul 5, 2009

State Plaza Hotel

We really enjoyed our stay at the State Plaza Hotel over the 4th of July weekend. Convenient location, within walking distance to see the fireworks display at the Lincoln Memorial. Their staff was excellent! We look forward to staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A short walk to the Washington DC Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ottis Spunkmeyer
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jul 5, 2009

"Good Location"

Our hotel was good walking distance to see the monuments and the white house but it is quite a walk to arlington. The rooms had kitchenettes in them but no microwave or stove or forks. It had only two pans. The decor was outdated. There was no pool and the veiw was of other buildings right next to you. Overall, it was just okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

By the old post office we found out that there are bikes for rent for $35 a whole day. I would definatley suggest that otherwise you will be walking A LOT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Wayne, IN
Jul 3, 2009

Quite a bit for you money

I was able to walk to many sites and had easy access to the metro for those far away places. Short taxi ride from the airport. GREAT STAFF! Kitchen was a disappointment with no microwave and you had to request pans, etc. Still, compared to other places, this was a great value for what I paid through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you don't want to walk, take the subway (metro) system. It gets you where you want to be quickly and cheaply.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
erdiesel
Business
miami, fl
Jul 1, 2009

Pleasant hotel

My family and I visited for vacation, and it was a good trip after all. Our stay in the hotel was pleasant. The hotel was conveniently located to tourist attractions, and the staff members were very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely consider coming back to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS and liquor stores are next to the store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
suliveraspr
Business
Oakland Park, FL
Jul 1, 2009

Excellent Location!

The location and experience was wonderful! The hotel was within walking distance to all the main sights. The rooms were clean and in excellent condition. Service staff was wonderful! Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Jun 29, 2009

Great value, Great location

Great staff, superb location just blocks from the White House and the National Mall & Monuments. Close to the Metro. Nice to have a kitchen in the unit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jun 29, 2009

Great Hotel, Great Location

This was a great hotel. The staff was helpful, rooms were clean, great little kitchen..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking to eat out there is a subway 1/4 of a mile up the road or goto George Washington Univ. PotBelly, Duncan Donuts, etc.. the food is good, they are open from 3:00am - 9:00pm. For you late night munchers there is a 24 hours drugstore next to the hotel or 3:00am breakfast are GW Univ..

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evert
Business
The Netherlands
Jun 29, 2009

Close to all major attractions!

Nice hotel and the white house and all major other attractions are walkable from here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 29, 2009

Great experience~

The hotel was great, it is very close to downtown and all the museums. It didn't have a lot of parking around it, and they wanted $30/night for valet parking which wasn't very pleasant. But the room was great, the bathroom had its own entrance separately, and there was a kitchen! It was great! People that worked there were also friendly. Overall, it was a very nice hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is very close to the National Mall with all its museums and parks. There really is no need for a car there (and also because it is very difficult to find parking).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Jun 24, 2009

very comfortable and convenient

Check-in was super-quick, but I had to walk through a creepy parking garage to get to my room, which was in the second tower. The room was fabulous! The bed and bedding were the most comfortable I think I've ever experienced! The suite was very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was in excellent working order, with dishes, utensils, and ice freezing in trays in the freezer. Wonderful eating area and windows. Great view of Washington Monument from bedroom window. The bath/shower was excellent and very, very comfortable. Plenty of room for hygiene and grooming products in bathroom and the adjacent dressing room. Would be excellent for two couples traveling together, as there was excellent privacy and plenty of room. I was alone, so it was bigger than I needed, but very comfortable. No instant check-out from the room, but check-out took only a minute in person, and could be done from a front desk in either of the towers. It's right on the GWU campus, so would be perfect for families visiting the college. Closet was fairly small if several ppl were using it, but more than adequate for my needs. Food was the only problem. The room service menu only included lunch and dinner and was only available until 10pm. The menu was very limited and very expensive. I didn't find anything that appealed to me, and the hotel didn't have information about local eateries, but I found a TGIFriday's and a few local college places within a few blocks. Coffee and coffee maker were in the room, and Washington Post was delivered to the room in the morning, but no in-room breakfast was available unless I went next door to the CVS and picked up groceries. I'm not sure if breakfast was available in the hotel restaurant, but I'd heard bad reviews and the menu was very weird, so I didn't even try. I found breakfast near my meeting a few blocks away on my own. The location is fabulous for visiting GWU, doing business downtown, sightseeing, or anything else you'd need to do in the Foggy Bottom/downtown areas. It's fairly close to Metro, but it was a rough walk after a long travel day with my luggage from the train to the hotel. If you're not carrying large or heavy bags, it's an easy and pleasant walk. I didn't use the fitness center or business center while I was there, but I did view them. I saw other people using them, and they both seemed well equipped, well maintained, and useful. No pool or spa.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Do some research online before your trip or check with locals (maybe GWU) to find dining options. You'll have to walk at least several blocks or take the Metro or a taxi to get somewhere. Plan ahead for breakfast. There are several places within a several block walk, but you have to know where to go to find them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top