$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
859 out of 859
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, NY
Aug 18, 2009

"The Nugent's go to Washington, DC"

Our taxi arrived late afternoon at State Plaza Hotel and doorman greeted us and put all the luggage on a cart. Checking in went fast&easy and we went up to our room. First impressions were good and our suite was very accomodating and attractive. Excellent room service for emergencies and friendly staff. Just wish the desk could speak better English for directions and understand better. Never ate in restaurant but it seemed nice. Breakfast menu was alittle pricey and surprised hotel didn't offer a continental breakfast for their guest. This became an inconvenience for us and we bought breakfast food next door at CVS Pharmacy which we enjoyed in our kitchenette back in our room. A first class hotel should always offer some kind of continental breakfast for the quests. State Plaza Hotel is located in the Foggy Bottom area across the street from the State Department so access to buses and transportation is satisfactory. Requires taxi fares going to restaurants not easily walked. Tonic is one of the best restaurants that is walkable from hotel. Just glad we chose the convenience of a suite which is State Plaza's specialty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tonic Restaurant is a short walk from the hotel and the food is superb. Just order two dinner entre's and you receive a free bottle of wine that's on Monday evenings. Also they have a patio if you prefer to dine out. Great place with atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wasabigirl
Business
Anaheim, CA
Aug 18, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

I and my daughter liked the hotel and their service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julie business traveller
Business
Sydney Audtralia
Aug 18, 2009

Poor internet connection

My trip was specifically business; it took an hour to get technical service for the internet and then I had to move rooms. In the second room the internet service was 10mps, very slow. The breakfast menu did not include milk for cereal (i had my own cereal with me) and it was a problem to be provided a bowl and milk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scholargipsy
Business
New York, NY
Aug 18, 2009

Fantastic service and value

The State Plaza is attractively located for Mall sightseeing, and is on one of the more tourist-friendly Metro lines as well. Rooms are suite-style and impressively huge; the housekeeping is also excellent. Finally, the desk staff is informed and friendly. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, NY
Aug 18, 2009

"The Nugent's go to Washington, DC"

Our taxi arrived late afternoon at State Plaza Hotel and doorman greeted us and put all the luggage on a cart. Checking in went fast&easy and we went up to our room. First impressions were good and our suite was very accomodating and attractive. Excellent room service for emergencies and friendly staff. Just wish the desk could speak better English for directions and understand better. Never ate in restaurant but it seemed nice. Breakfast menu was alittle pricey and surprised hotel didn't offer a continental breakfast for their guest. This became an inconvenience for us and we bought breakfast food next door at CVS Pharmacy which we enjoyed in our kitchenette back in our room. A first class hotel should always offer some kind of continental breakfast for the quests. State Plaza Hotel is located in the Foggy Bottom area across the street from the State Department so access to buses and transportation is satisfactory. Requires taxi fares going to restaurants not easily walked. Tonic is one of the best restaurants that is walkable from hotel. Just glad we chose the convenience of a suite which is State Plaza's specialty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tonic Restaurant is a short walk from the hotel and the food is superb. Just order two dinner entre's and you receive a free bottle of wine that's on Monday evenings. Also they have a patio if you prefer to dine out. Great place with atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Aug 17, 2009

A Good Bargain

The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was great. It was not a bad walk to the Washington Monument, Viet Nam veterans memorial and it was centrally located so that if you had to take a taxi, it was realtively cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Some small restaurants were a close walk, but the majority of variety were several blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Aug 17, 2009

Great price and luxury, great location

Right down the street from Metro, great location. A friend told me we got an unbelievable deal and I agree...top notch, spotless rooms and an excellent location. Whether in town for sight-seeing or an evening out on the town, being right by great shopping in Georgetown, local colleges like George Washington, great nightlife in Dupont Circle and Adams Morgan, and minutes from Metro access hundreds of other attractions, I can't think of a better place to stay to enjoy everything D.C. has to offer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

So much to do in all directions; a couple highlights are Georgetown down by the Potomac River, and right up the road to Dupont Circle/Adams Morgan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BND
Business
IN
Aug 14, 2009

Excellent value, location and staff

What a wonderful surprise! We booked a last minute family trip to DC and picked this hotel because of the low price, close location to the White House and great reviews. The hotel did not disappoint, friendly staff, clean, spacious, comfortable rooms and close to everything. What a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Shows at the Kennedy Center are a 10 minute walk. Shear Madness was great fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tired with Blisters
Business
Bartlett, NH
Aug 13, 2009

Great time!

The hotel was very clean-rooms were very nice if a little bit dated. Down-side: Even tho only 5 blocks from mall area, we were walking about 10 miles/day and to come back to hotel before going out to dinner and then walk back out was not very appealing. So we just spent the entire day out. We slept well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st Time DC visitor
Business
Rochester NY
Aug 13, 2009

Fabulous DC experience!

The State Plaza Hotel was a wonderful retreat after taking in the sights of Washington DC. The room was exceptionally clean, much larger than anticipated and set up very well. Off the bathroom there was a dressing area with a door that made it easy for 3 of us to get ready for our days. The kitchenette consisted of a full size refrigerator, 4 burners, microwave, coffee maker and table for 2. In addition, the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is located about 5 blocks from the Metro and is right on the campus of George Washington University. As we traveled in August, it was fairly quiet without a lot of student activity. This may look different during the school year. I felt safe walking to and from the Metro at all times. There is no pool or fitness center in the hotel, but that did not effect our enjoyment of our stay at the State Plaza

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top