$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
929 out of 929
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 18, 2009

Good location. Near the university.

The staff were very helpful and gracious. The location was close to the Metro in a rather safe area being almost on the University campus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gary & Deej
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 13, 2009

Great Bargain

Room had a nice kitchen. Desk staff always courteous and eager to help. Location near monuments and parks but not far from the Metro. Definitely will return next time in Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro system is frequent and inexpensive. A short walk will get you to almost all points of interest from the Metro. Definitely a time and money saver.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lowell, MA
Oct 12, 2009

Location, location, location

Hotel was in a central location - metro about qtr mile away. Excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Not too bad of a walk - nice central location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 12, 2009

State Plaza

We spent Columbus Day weekend in D.C. and we originally chose the State Plaza for its price and proximity to the mall. It was quite a walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station, our only transportation besides walking, but it was manageable. The hotel itself was very clean, with a kicthen and full-sized fridge if you don't want to spend money dining out. We could, however, clearly hear our neighbors conversations when we came back to the room to rest after a long day. The rooms were simple, but provided everything. The continental breakfast at the F street cafe downstairs was limited, but good quality. Walking, we felt safe walking to the metro and to the mall after dark, but we avoided going off of our path because the hotel is in a not very busy part of town. The CVS next-door to the hotel was convenient for breakfast before we had to catch our flight home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the metro unless you are willing to walk about 15 blocks to 7th st, where there are many restaurants to choose from and Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Oct 12, 2009

Eau de PineSol

I definitely would not classify this as a modern apartment-type hotel. Granted, they did have a flat-screened TV, but the nonworking heater, the worn carpeting, and the 1940s tile work and bathroom fixtures puts the word "modern" into perspective. I did not use the kitchenette. The overwhelming smell of PineSol cleaner was everpresent and made any time spent in the room very unpleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York,NY
Oct 12, 2009

good location, clean room

this hotel is good for short stay 1-2 days. Good location, clean room, comfortable bed and pillows. Did not like restaurant, overpriced. No problems to get parking on the street on weekend. Quiet, safe area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrenceville, GA
Oct 12, 2009

Convenient location

The hotel is divided into two buildings with separate entrances. It must have been apartments at one time, because there's a complete kitchen in every hotel room. The downsides: 1) there's no ice or vending machines (anywhere I could find) and 2) I couldn't get room service from an understaffed restaurant. At breakfast, there was only a buffet, because of too little staffing, instead of the full menu option that should have been there. Not that the food was less than attractive and great-tasting, but they don't have good restaurant management. I didn't like the buffet's automatic 18% PLUS $2.50 service charge gratuities for (basically) no service. So many alchohol choices were out-of-stock with no attempt to replace them. The staff answers the phone with, "Room service is not available today." However, it's a great location, EXTREMELY clean rooms, and a reasonable price. I think a family staying for some time might save some money, using the kitchen for meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

It's a good 6+ blocks to the subway, but one expects to walk a lot in DC. If you don't mind "hiking", this location is very convenient to many of the major attractions and museums of DC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 12, 2009

State Plaza

We spent Columbus Day weekend in D.C. and we originally chose the State Plaza for its price and proximity to the mall. It was quite a walk from the Foggy Bottom metro station, our only transportation besides walking, but it was manageable. The hotel itself was very clean, with a kicthen and full-sized fridge if you don't want to spend money dining out. We could, however, clearly hear our neighbors conversations when we came back to the room to rest after a long day. The rooms were simple, but provided everything. The continental breakfast at the F street cafe downstairs was limited, but good quality. Walking, we felt safe walking to the metro and to the mall after dark, but we avoided going off of our path because the hotel is in a not very busy part of town. The CVS next-door to the hotel was convenient for breakfast before we had to catch our flight home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the metro unless you are willing to walk about 15 blocks to 7th st, where there are many restaurants to choose from and Chinatown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lowell, MA
Oct 12, 2009

Location, location, location

Hotel was in a central location - metro about qtr mile away. Excellent staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Not too bad of a walk - nice central location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Small Town Wisconsin
Oct 11, 2009

Older but Nice; would stay again

We had a nice stay for our family vacation. The room was nice sized with tastefully appointed bedding. We enjoyed having a kitchen and a "powder" room. The staff was friendly - the bellmen/doormen more so than the front desk staff. Limited dining options in immediate vicinity, but just a few blocks up to George Washington University area for some meals. The location was very close to the bus line and near Lincoln Memorial. We would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining was a long walk, but there was a cafe and a coffee shop in the neighboring office building. Although it appeared closed to the public, it was open and delicious. No one could seem to tell us where a Startbucks was, but we found one just a block away along withe a subway for quick eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top