$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Painter Extrordin
Couples
Milwaukee
Oct 30, 2012

Best Anniversary yet

Wonderful kitchenette room. Restaurant was fabulous and very reasonably priced. Located in a nice neighborhood within easy walking distance to the monuments. Washington Post appeared at our door every weekday morning. Staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Room was clean and orderly whenever we returned from our touring. We will recommend it to our friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Wonderful food at a good price.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Azhun
Friends
the US
Oct 9, 2013

Nice hotel

My friend and I had a really good time in DC. The hotel was perfect, with a small but fancy bathroom(which was great!) and a kitchen! The bed is comfortable, and the pillow is soft. The only thing had bothered me a little was because that we can hear noise from the street or other customers in the hallway. But not too much, which wont bother your sleep. Overall good hotel. Good location, near GW University and bus stop, two or three blocks to the subway station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To bus stops and subway station.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven New Travelor
Couples
Phoenix
Sep 23, 2013

Great location and very comfortable suite

We were very impressed with the newly renovated suite and enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating of our every request. The room was beautiful and very large. It was a 15 minute walk to the White House and downtown DC. A perfect place to stay. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk just a few short blocks to downtown and enjoy the sights at your leisure.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honnie
Family
buffalo,ny
Sep 22, 2013

getaway

The location was perfect. Room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter D Intrepid Traveler
Couples
NYC, NY
Sep 20, 2013

Had some doubts, but...

this is the first review I've ever written. After reading all the reviews i had some doubts about the hotel but decided to book a room anyway. We were not disappointed, so I felt I had to write. Arrived to check in at about 3:30 and we were told that our room was still being cleaned. The staff were extremely apologetic and after about a 10 minute wait we were told that they found another room, renovated no less. The bedroom was huge! Room for 2 Queen sized beds, a bureau and a desk with a lot of room to spare. The kitchenette (which was the deciding factor) had a small seating area and was stocked with pots, pans, flatware and glassware. There was a coffee maker,toaster, gas range, microwave and a full size refrigerator. They actually sent up another microwave and set of pans (which we sent back). It was perfect for eating in when we wanted. By the way, did I mention clean? We're both in the hospitality business so we tend to be a little over critical at times. There was a decent sized changing room and a full bathroom with a sink and shower head that my wife fell in love with (Home Depot, here I come). The staff was extremely courteous, always smiling and in good spirits. Even the workers doing the renovations were very friendly. They were also very quiet working in the rooms directly below us. The location was great. I had my doubts about being on a college campus but it was peaceful, quiet (for a campus) and clean. Places to eat nearby and grocery shopping as well. There were always people around but it never felt crowded. And just a short walk to the mall. Is it a "5 Star" hotel? No, I knew that when I booked it, but it still was way above our expectations. Would we recommend it to a friend? We already have and we plan on staying there again the next time we go to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS, Whole Foods, sandwich shop & liquor store right in the area

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Masoud D
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Sep 5, 2013

Very close to everything, good staff, clean hotel

I spent 2 night in the hotel with my wife. The hotel is quite old, but they have renovated it and you can enjoy its all good points like cleanliness. The most important thing is that it is 10 min walk distance to the white house! I had an issue with the staff and they resolved it very well. The parking charge was announced incorrectly for me and when I arrived, I told them that sb has given me wrong info when I called the hotel and asked for the parking fee. After 1 hour, they brought a nice excuse letter and also did not charge me for 1 night of parking. I liked their attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWU Bound Mom
Family
Seoul Korea
Aug 24, 2013

College Move

Stayed at the SP with my daughter before moving into the GWU dorm. We came from overseas so needed someplace close to campus, close to the metro and the kitchen was a bonus. Clean, efficient, comfortable, had two queen beds, kitchen comes with coffee pot, stove, dishes, fridge, toaster, no microwave however. It is just a few minutes walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station, numerous restaurants, a whole foods, CVS and of course the monuments and museums. Staff was friendly and efficient. Plan on using it again when we visit the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spring51
Family
Philadelphia
Aug 16, 2013

location is good

The hotel is close to metro station and the White House. The room is spacious, and with a small kitchen. There is a 24-hour CVS downstairs. It is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stefania becchi
Family
West palm beach
Aug 7, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel was very nice, clean, the staff was very friendly. The location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kongkongkong
Family
Blacksburg, VA
Aug 4, 2013

nice hotel

Staff was very helpful and room was very nice as well. The hot tub by the pool was nice except the jets didn't seem to working well. But I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MK2713
Business
Southern California
Jul 26, 2013

A little dated, but overall a good place to stay

Pros: GREAT location - this hotel is a few minutes walking from the Mall, The White House, and most other touristy stuff in DC. It is close to a handful of metro stops as well. It's RIGHT next to GWU (ie. beware students during the academic year). The room had a real kitchen, including dishes, a full fridge, and gas burners. If you're planning a long stay you could save on food costs by buying stuff an prepping it in your room. There was a toaster, but no microwave. FREE WIFI! Complimentary hair dryer. 24 hour drug store RIGHT next store for any 'oh shoot! I forgot to pack toothpaste!' needs. Beds were comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. CONS: Kind of a food desert. Although there is a well known coffee place 2 short blocks away. The decor is a bit dated, but things were pretty clean. (A chair in my room had a stain on it, but the bed linens and towels were spotless). No bathrobes. Room service ends EARLY (before 10pm). Elevators were slow. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Newseum (all about news and journalists) is well worth the trip. Among other things, It has a gallery of every Pulitzer Prize winning photograph, as well as cool artifacts such as the door that started Watergate. It's not free, but their exhibits are very well done and your ticket is valid through the next day. By long walk I mean at least 25 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top