$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful décor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1364 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
huntington
May 25, 2008

friendly

very close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance from alll activities

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Beverly Hills, Ca.
Feb 4, 2010

TERRIFIC PLACE!

We had a wonderful time. The room is really large and that doesn't include a separate kitchen. The staff is very helpful and if you walk towards George Washington U. there are a lot of restaurants. The hotel is right next to a CVS pharmacy and two blocks from a Starbucks. We walked to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, and all the other museums. You got all of this and at an amazing price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warsaw, Poland
Feb 20, 2011

great location for not so big price

Travelling from NY to Miami would like to visit a capitol of US. I choose such hotel because of good location - walking distance to White House and a bit to Capitol. Nice room with separate kitchen and free Internet access. What surprised me was a cost of parking - $30 per night :-( Nevertheless I will recommend such place for short visiting Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Jul 18, 2007

Great location at bargain price

The State Plaza rooms are oversize and also include an adjacent kitchen with a table and chairs, full size refrigerator, stove and microwave. The bath also was spacious. The hotel used to have a nice restaurant but apparently it is undergoing renovations. My only problem with the State Plaza is that so many people want to stay there I often have a hard time obtaining a reservation. Hotel employees are courteous and helpful. The bellman even went down the street to purchase a newspaper for me the night of my arrival. Disabled travelers should know that there is a half flight of stairs to maneuver from the lobby to the first floor and the elevator to other floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is convenient to offices in the Foggey Bottom area. There is a CVS pharmacy closeby.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Peachtree City, GA
Jun 5, 2008

Great location

The State Plaza Hotel is located within walking distance of many major D.C. attractions. There is a 24 hour pharmacy next door which my granddaughter called our life line. The staff was pleasant and willing to assist when needed. The rooms were well maintained and clean. It was nice to have a kitchen. However, we did not find out until the last day that we could have requested a microwave. On my next trip to Washington, I would glad stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask about restaurants in the area. There are good ones nearby, but are a bit difficult to find. Most of the major monuments, as well as the White House and the Capitol, are within walking distance. The White House and Capitol are rather long walks, but are doable.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Feb 19, 2008

Good location and large rooms

Our suite had a dressign room, kitchen, and large bedroom with a desk and internet connection. I was surprised by the substantial charge for using the phone, and the kitchen was not useful - just a stove top without an oven or even a microwave. But the location is terrific, and we could walk to the mall and Kennedy Center, and the nearby GW University offered plenty of quick food options. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Fly into Baltimore and take the Shuttle that delivers you right to your DC hotel. Well worth the cost.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Value Mom
St. Louis MO
Mar 28, 2010

Excellent Value - Great Location

Fantastic value for the money and the location didn't get any better. The State Plaza has two lobby entrances (one on E Street and one on F Street). The F Street entrance was right next to Foggy Bottom Grocery and the E Stree entrance was right next to CVS, so shopping for groceries and necessities was easy. The staff was top-notch and the rooms were spotless. It's not a modern hotel, but very nicely kept. There are kitchens in every room which worked out GREAT. We saved a bundle by purchasing snacks / beverages / breakfast items and not having to go out for every meal. The location is only four - five blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro, so getting around was a snap. Located just blocks from the White House, the Lincoln Memorial and Mall, so it doesn't get much better than this. If you are looking for a great value, this is it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 24, 2007

luxury amenities

The most convience it provided me was it was located right in the heart of washington DC and mintues away from GWU!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a huge city park just a few blocks from the hotel. Great running trail, tennis courts, and an awesome skyline view.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2008

How many hotel rooms have a kitchen?

I found the room very comfortable and even though the TV was small, the room was spacious and the kitchen was a definite bonus! The doorman was fabulous and the location is ideal whether you're there on business or just site-seeing. Only a ten minute walk from the White House and a six minute cab ride from Georgetown, which has every store and restaurant you'd want. Only negative was that there was much dining and shopping in a close walking distance since you're basically located in the middle of a college campus. Lovely scenery though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Utilize the Metro. Twenty dollars lasted me almost the full 4 days and we traveled from Arlington to the Capitol building and back.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DAR gal
North Carolina
Feb 26, 2010

Great location. Walked to our meetings

Great location. Within walking distance of our meetings. Would stay again. Only request is a shuttle for evening activities to the DAR building during Congress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top