$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful décor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1364 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Mom13
South Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

Great location with all amenities we need

This is a great value hotel! It is so close to the White House and Mall area if you want to sightseeing those places. We particularly love the full kitchen, the comfortable queen size bed with the great support pillows. The room was kept very clean. My two kids enjoyed their stays as much as us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bggb
Newport News, VA
Sep 23, 2013

Museum trip

Price and location were great. Rooms were old and ordinary, but well kept. Parking was available, but for a stiff fee (which was not mentioned on their website, but included in their amenities list).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Start museum and monument viewing as early as possible. Skip the museums in the afternoon and plan outside activities then.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven New Travelor
Phoenix
Sep 23, 2013

Great location and very comfortable suite

We were very impressed with the newly renovated suite and enjoyed our 3 night stay. The staff were friendly and accommodating of our every request. The room was beautiful and very large. It was a 15 minute walk to the White House and downtown DC. A perfect place to stay. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Washington DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk just a few short blocks to downtown and enjoy the sights at your leisure.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
honnie
buffalo,ny
Sep 22, 2013

getaway

The location was perfect. Room was very clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peter D Intrepid Traveler
NYC, NY
Sep 20, 2013

Had some doubts, but...

this is the first review I've ever written. After reading all the reviews i had some doubts about the hotel but decided to book a room anyway. We were not disappointed, so I felt I had to write. Arrived to check in at about 3:30 and we were told that our room was still being cleaned. The staff were extremely apologetic and after about a 10 minute wait we were told that they found another room, renovated no less. The bedroom was huge! Room for 2 Queen sized beds, a bureau and a desk with a lot of room to spare. The kitchenette (which was the deciding factor) had a small seating area and was stocked with pots, pans, flatware and glassware. There was a coffee maker,toaster, gas range, microwave and a full size refrigerator. They actually sent up another microwave and set of pans (which we sent back). It was perfect for eating in when we wanted. By the way, did I mention clean? We're both in the hospitality business so we tend to be a little over critical at times. There was a decent sized changing room and a full bathroom with a sink and shower head that my wife fell in love with (Home Depot, here I come). The staff was extremely courteous, always smiling and in good spirits. Even the workers doing the renovations were very friendly. They were also very quiet working in the rooms directly below us. The location was great. I had my doubts about being on a college campus but it was peaceful, quiet (for a campus) and clean. Places to eat nearby and grocery shopping as well. There were always people around but it never felt crowded. And just a short walk to the mall. Is it a "5 Star" hotel? No, I knew that when I booked it, but it still was way above our expectations. Would we recommend it to a friend? We already have and we plan on staying there again the next time we go to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS, Whole Foods, sandwich shop & liquor store right in the area

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Masoud D
Charlotte, NC
Sep 5, 2013

Very close to everything, good staff, clean hotel

I spent 2 night in the hotel with my wife. The hotel is quite old, but they have renovated it and you can enjoy its all good points like cleanliness. The most important thing is that it is 10 min walk distance to the white house! I had an issue with the staff and they resolved it very well. The parking charge was announced incorrectly for me and when I arrived, I told them that sb has given me wrong info when I called the hotel and asked for the parking fee. After 1 hour, they brought a nice excuse letter and also did not charge me for 1 night of parking. I liked their attitude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GWU Bound Mom
Seoul Korea
Aug 24, 2013

College Move

Stayed at the SP with my daughter before moving into the GWU dorm. We came from overseas so needed someplace close to campus, close to the metro and the kitchen was a bonus. Clean, efficient, comfortable, had two queen beds, kitchen comes with coffee pot, stove, dishes, fridge, toaster, no microwave however. It is just a few minutes walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station, numerous restaurants, a whole foods, CVS and of course the monuments and museums. Staff was friendly and efficient. Plan on using it again when we visit the DC area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spring51
Philadelphia
Aug 16, 2013

location is good

The hotel is close to metro station and the White House. The room is spacious, and with a small kitchen. There is a 24-hour CVS downstairs. It is convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

convenient

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stefania becchi
West palm beach
Aug 7, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel was very nice, clean, the staff was very friendly. The location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kongkongkong
Blacksburg, VA
Aug 4, 2013

nice hotel

Staff was very helpful and room was very nice as well. The hot tub by the pool was nice except the jets didn't seem to working well. But I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MK2713
Business
Southern California
Jul 26, 2013

A little dated, but overall a good place to stay

Pros: GREAT location - this hotel is a few minutes walking from the Mall, The White House, and most other touristy stuff in DC. It is close to a handful of metro stops as well. It's RIGHT next to GWU (ie. beware students during the academic year). The room had a real kitchen, including dishes, a full fridge, and gas burners. If you're planning a long stay you could save on food costs by buying stuff an prepping it in your room. There was a toaster, but no microwave. FREE WIFI! Complimentary hair dryer. 24 hour drug store RIGHT next store for any 'oh shoot! I forgot to pack toothpaste!' needs. Beds were comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. CONS: Kind of a food desert. Although there is a well known coffee place 2 short blocks away. The decor is a bit dated, but things were pretty clean. (A chair in my room had a stain on it, but the bed linens and towels were spotless). No bathrobes. Room service ends EARLY (before 10pm). Elevators were slow. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Newseum (all about news and journalists) is well worth the trip. Among other things, It has a gallery of every Pulitzer Prize winning photograph, as well as cool artifacts such as the door that started Watergate. It's not free, but their exhibits are very well done and your ticket is valid through the next day. By long walk I mean at least 25 minutes.

Back to menu Return to top