$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
930 out of 930
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Mom13
South Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

Great location with all amenities we need

This is a great value hotel! It is so close to the White House and Mall area if you want to sightseeing those places. We particularly love the full kitchen, the comfortable queen size bed with the great support pillows. The room was kept very clean. My two kids enjoyed their stays as much as us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Fullerton, CA
Aug 31, 2008

great location-no need for rental car

Great location and walking distance (about 5 blocks) from the Metro Subway. We flew into to Ronald Regan airport and took the Metro from the airport to the hotel. We arrive a few hours early however, the hotel was nice enough to accommodate us with early check in. The rooms are a little dated, but they are clean and comfortable so for the price and location it didn't matter that much. The rooms have small kitchens which came in handy for extended stays. One of our children is attending George Washington University and for the next several years we plan on staying at this hotel when possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

About 3 to 4 blocks south is the Lincoln and Vietnam memorial.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
Aug 20, 2007

Very comfortable, great location

I think this hotel gets a lot of business travelers as it is so close the State Dept., but it was great for vacation travel. The kitchen was sparse (there was no microwave but one was brought up immediately when I asked for one), but fine for our needs with a full-sized refrigerator and stove (no oven). The TV had my favorite cable channels, the beds were very comfortable and the bathroom and dressing area, while older, were just fine. The hotel offers free internet but our laptop didn't have a cable to hook it up. The folks at the front office loaned us one, and we were off and running. The hotel is five/six blocks from the Metro station and within a short walking distance of the Kennedy Center and the Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Veterans Memorial. We were able to easily walk to all the sites, including the White House, Smithsonian, Washington Monument, etc., although others may opt to jump on the Metro. We were also able to take the Metro from Reagan National Airport and then walk to the hotel. There are no restaurants immediately around the hotel. But there are a couple of stores; one grocery, one variety, and a liquor store with good prices on California wines. There's a Starbucks down the street. The staff was nice and accommodating. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I don't know if they do this year round, but the Kennedy Center, also just down the street, offered free concerts at 6 p.m. every evening on the Millenium Stage, and the type of music was different every night.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
May 12, 2007

Small Hotel Feel

The State Plaza Hotel is a mid-size hotel with a small hotel feel. This is evidenced in the personalized service and the attention to detail. My room was clean, comfortable and spacious, and had everything I could possibly need, from an ironing board and iron to wine glasses and a corkscrew. I will definitely plan a return trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

A CVS and a liquor store right next to the hotel can provide items you may need or have forgotten.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alejandra
Business
USA
Mar 23, 2008

Great value for your money!

The State Plaza Hotel is a great value for your money. It is only a few blocks away from the White House and it is located in a very safe neighborhood. It is very clean and no one bothers you. In the ground floor there is a restaurant called the Bistro. I did not dine there, but the prices are moderate. They do not offer much choices, though. There is free wireless internet on the lobby. If you want it in the room you need to being your own cables. The bed was so comfortable, you will definetely sleep well during your stay. Every room has a kitchennete, a coffee maker with free coffee and tea for you to make. It also has a a fridge and cabinets to store your food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Baja restaurant (I street with 16th street). It serves great Mexican food for low prices. My party of 3 ate there for $25. There is also a Friday's around that area as well. There is a CVS and a grocery store within a block.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
USA
Dec 28, 2008

very comfortable

I like the kitchen in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Starbucks and Subway near hotel.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Colbert, WA
Dec 31, 2008

Excellent option for tourist family

4 blocks from the Washington Monument and Mall. Excellent staff. Suite is spacious and perfect for a longer stay (kitchen, living room, bedroom - space to spread out). Staff was extremely professional, efficient and friendly. Quick mart right next door. George Washington Univ district provides some fast food. I recommend the Tonic restaurant (2 blocks away) for dinner out. Only negative was the amount of sirens (ambulance mostly - close to a hospital?) in evening. I would highly recommend the Plaza for tourist stays - particularly from families and if you are hoofing it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lewistown, PA
May 30, 2009

Great price and location

Very helpful staff. Close to the white house, lincoln memorial.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Superstar4you
Business
El Paso, TX
Aug 4, 2009

Great Location!

The location was perfect for all sightseeing activities. Hotel staff were very accomodating and I couldn't have asked for a better hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Literally just a few blocks in all directions!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Traveller
Business
TX
Aug 7, 2009

State Plaza Hotel

The staff was outside to open the door. Called a taxi when I needed it. Great check-in experience. I wasn't charged anything (yet :) ) over the initial booking price. Clean room, quiet, right near the main attractions. I had a great time in DC. Note: the hotel is just like it is advertised: no frills, great value. The view wasn't the greatest but hey, one is going there to go out not to stay in :) Some shade curtains would be very useful, especially on the long hot summer days. None of the little details would lower the value the hotel is providing giving the location and the cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

what about the white house and the obelisc :)

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Amherst, NY
Aug 18, 2009

"The Nugent's go to Washington, DC"

Our taxi arrived late afternoon at State Plaza Hotel and doorman greeted us and put all the luggage on a cart. Checking in went fast&easy and we went up to our room. First impressions were good and our suite was very accomodating and attractive. Excellent room service for emergencies and friendly staff. Just wish the desk could speak better English for directions and understand better. Never ate in restaurant but it seemed nice. Breakfast menu was alittle pricey and surprised hotel didn't offer a continental breakfast for their guest. This became an inconvenience for us and we bought breakfast food next door at CVS Pharmacy which we enjoyed in our kitchenette back in our room. A first class hotel should always offer some kind of continental breakfast for the quests. State Plaza Hotel is located in the Foggy Bottom area across the street from the State Department so access to buses and transportation is satisfactory. Requires taxi fares going to restaurants not easily walked. Tonic is one of the best restaurants that is walkable from hotel. Just glad we chose the convenience of a suite which is State Plaza's specialty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tonic Restaurant is a short walk from the hotel and the food is superb. Just order two dinner entre's and you receive a free bottle of wine that's on Monday evenings. Also they have a patio if you prefer to dine out. Great place with atmosphere and reasonable prices.

Back to menu Return to top