$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 9, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
1,364 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful.... See full review

  • DC Business
  • May 13, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The F Street Bistro is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful décor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1364)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
1364 out of 1364
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cheshire, MA
Mar 15, 2010

Retro, super clean, A+ location

We were in D.C. to view the sights and see the Terra Cotta Warrior exhibit. This hotel is in an awesome location. It is in a very nice neighborhood surrounded by George Washington University and we were able to walk everywhere. We didn't use our car the whole weekend and we were on able to park on the street for free on Saturday and Sunday. It was about 10 blocks to walk to the red line metro to go to the zoo, but it was good exercise. The bedding was of good quality. The bath was circa 1950's, but in excellent condition. The kitchen was from the same time period as well with metal cabinets, but everything was spotless. The dressing room was a nice bonus. The staff was very nice. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB, Club Lady
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 4, 2011

Return Guest

I am a returning guest at the State Plaza, have been there annually for the last five years. I attend DAR Continental Congress and other activities at DAR Headquarters. I like the fact that the location is a walkable distance or if I need a taxi they are always there. The facility reminds me of excellent European Hotels I have stayed in. The kitchenette gives me the opotion to eat in if i chose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is with in walking distance of the White House, the Mall and most other histroic places.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grace O'
Ann Arbor area, SE Michigan, USA
Nov 17, 2009

Glad to have chosen this hotel.

The State Plaza is at the edge of the George Washington University campus where I was attending a conference. It's ideal for GWU but it's also close to the Foggy Bottom (orange and blue) Metro station. If you find a good price at the State Plaza, I'd recommend it for DC tourists or business travelers. The hotel is fairly easy walking distance to the White House and minutes by Metro to all the attractions. Other writers have differed on proximity to restaurants and I think I know why. If you walk east toward the White House you're in a sea of giant federal and other admin buildings with no commerce to speak of. But if you walk north from the hotel's F Street entry along 21st Street, you're a scant three blocks from the 2000 Pennsylvania complex with a bakery breakfast/lunch place, plus two dinner houses, the Italian more reasonably priced than the seafood, and more. Nearby are a good number of options, local and chain. The GWU campus offers the requisite coffee house branches and, if your kids want fast food, the GWU Marvin Center, two blocks away, has a food court with a several options, though the hours vary from usual. The GWU website also has a list for visitors of many restaurants close to its campus. I grew fond of the State Plaza while staying there. Many critics point to it as badly in need of an update yet I think it all depends on your viewpoint. I hope much is left as is--charmingly '50s. The kitchen was a great plus. The bellman mentioned that the hotel had once been efficiency apartments and, except for the microwave, the kitchens are much the same, including a cook top and full-size fridge. There are some dishes and cups in the cupboards and the hotel promises pots and pans upon request. This would be especially helpful for a longer stay. There's a chain drug store for groceries right next door as well as a large branch with a larger grocery section at the 2000 Pennsylvania. The bathroom was mostly original vintage, too, smaller than those at most hotels but with a good sized adjacent dressing room with big vintage vanity, great lighting, and a wall size mirror. There's plenty of light and mirrors in the bathroom as well, a big help to those near-sighted like me. In the closet is a special safe for laptops you program electronically with a PIN. I had to tilt my 15" laptop to fit but I was able to lock it away every time I left. Internet access is free and via ethernet cable. There's also a small office for guest use on the first floor. Elsewhere is the café which seems European-like in its scale and intimacy. Good food and a full bar, though the menu and hours are limited. I don't believe there is breakfast room service, which would have been a plus. Had two pleasant dinners there but Sunday brunch was a dud. Built in 18% tip for shabby buffet and lethargic service. The room itself was well equipped and immaculate. It was clear the room was well-cleaned and vacuumed daily, something I'm not sure happens at all hotels with multi-night guests. Good bedding and bed. Good towels and toiletries. Except for the brunch issue, I have no complaints at all about the staff. On the way to my room, the bellman showed me where common services were. And when I checked out, the desk staff helped me deal with a discrepancy in my Super Shuttle reservation. They weren't successful, but not for want of trying. I would be likely to choose the State Plaza for a future DC stay, even if GWU were not a factor. (I would NOT pre-book the Super Shuttle again...Super Dud!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The trick to finding restaurants nearby is to walk up one of the numbered streets perpendicular to E and F. There's a quite good, reasonably priced Italian restaurant, Bertucci's, about three blocks north at 2000 Pennsylvania Ave.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 10, 2008

Extra Large Suite

The rooms at the State Plaza in Washington DC include the usual two queen beds, dressers, etc. but also include a desk and chair, a dressing room with make-up table outside the bathroom, and a full kitchen with table and chairs. The hotel is not far from the White House and the staff is extremely attentive. The restaurant served breakfast, lunch, and dinner at reasonable prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The CVS next door was very convenient.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Oklahoma City
Jul 7, 2008

excellent location, excellent value

the State Plaza hotel is in an excellent location within easy walking distance of national mall, GWU, shopping and metro. excellent kitchenette, 24 hour CVS right next door, small and friendly, staff very friendly and help, the beds are big, great mattress, plenty of pillows, big rooms, very good for families. one small negative was that the maids did not always vacum the floor every day, the bathtub would back up a little and it was obvious that the tubs were not scrubbed every day. however, the pluses of this place FAR outweigh the slight negatives. I wish all my vacation/business rooms were this outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

buy a map, walk to White House and shopping because there are good restaurants along the way and due north of the hotel. larger grocery store is in Watergate, short walk west.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shogem
Bethel, CT
Jan 3, 2010

State Plaza Review

I would definitely go back again. The beds were luxurious. The staff was friendly and courteous. It was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bagpiper
Miami, FL
Dec 30, 2009

Perfect for the Price

Outstanding location within minutes of the Mall and Foggy Bottom Metro. Rooms come with kitchenettes and with a CVS pharmacy right next door, savings on meals are there for the taking. Service was excellent and the gym, although rather small, was efficient. 8/10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the food and dining experience at Old Ebbitt's Grill. Steaks are delicious and the ambience cannot be beat.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy Grammy
Business
Middleton, Idaho
Feb 27, 2014

Washington D.C. trip

Just wonderful!! Thanks for finding that hotel for me!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 12, 2008

Great Location, Super Convenient

The State Plaza Hotel was very charming. Aside from no wireless internet, the hotel was extremely comfortable. Having a full kitchen proved very nice when unexpected guests came to visit. The beds provided a great sleep and the location to all the monuments was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a cab to the White House and then walk as much as possible from there. Jump on the TourMobile bus which takes you all around and you can jump on/jump off at your leisure. The Hotel is a comfortable walk from the Vietnam Memorial.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Touristfrom NYC
New York, NY, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Easy Acess to everything at a reasonable price.

A+++++++++++++++++++++++++ This was a great hotel at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A+

Back to menu Return to top