$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
848 reviews
Across the street from GWU dorms

Clean and convenient- across the street from the George Washington University dormitories. Large... See full review

  • Sandy from Va
  • Jan 14, 2015
Great

I highly recommend this hotel for its good location and service. Even more appealing is the room... See full review

  • Kate
  • Dec 30, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
Policies and fees
Starting 01 January 2015, valet parking with in/out privileges will be $34 plus tax.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.
Deluxe King
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe King guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe 2 Queen
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe 2 Queen guestrooms at the State Plaza Hotel feature two queen beds and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.
Deluxe Plaza Suites
Inspired by the elegant Art Deco period, the Deluxe Plaza Suites at the State Plaza Hotel feature one king bed and one sofa bed and a chic color scheme in shades of greys with accents of gold and winter white. The beautiful rooms feature artwork from local artists, flat screen TVs in the bedrooms and sitting rooms, and transitional furnishings that create a comfortable and stylish environment. The guest bathrooms showcase clean white and grey floor and wall tile, chrome bathroom accessories and fixtures, and beautiful vanities.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (848)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
848 out of 848
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Overland Park
Jun 17, 2008

Very convenient location

I enjoyed stay her . It is located almost on campus of George Washington University. Great location! rooms are huge, with separate kitchen and dining area, refrigerator. It is a great value for the money. I would sty there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the National Mall and all the museums, Kennedy Center for Performing Arts --walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 21, 2008

Big Room Good Food

Our room at the State Plaza Hotel was roomy and comfortable. We liked the separate kitchen and dressing room. We didn't like having to walk through the garage to get to the restaurant but the food was great and even the room service seemed reasonably priced. The tv was a little small for the room but it was adequate. Subway, CVS, and Starbucks are right next door and were very handy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. It is very easy to use and cheap transportation. We used the Metro to go to the Smithsonians and Memorials and it was only a 7 minute ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 30, 2008

Awesome place to stay.

The State Plaza Hotel was an awesome place to stay when visiting Washington, DC... especially since it was pretty much centrally located to all of the points of interest and was in a great area. The room was great, plenty of room for my boyfriend and son to make themselves comfortable. The staff was very helpful and polite, and since we checked in late the staff even gave us menus to local restaurants that frequently delivered to their hotel. There was even a full kitchen! Our stay was overall very pleasant, and we are planning to return again sometime this summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House, Washington Monument, Department of the Treasury and quite a few more attractions were around 5 blocks away from the hotel... it was a nice walk and had really nice scenery with all the blossoms blooming!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 2, 2008

My review of State Plaza Hotel

hotel stay was very pleasent and affordable. It was close to main attractions and the internet access was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the starbucks was close by for coffee and breakfast in a pinch

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
America's Couple
Business
Ft. Gordon, GA
Feb 18, 2010

Very Nice!!!

My husband and I were in DC for a mini-vacation on his leave from Iraq. The hotel was more than we expected. The room was large and very nice, and the bed was really comfortable. The staff was really friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the valet parking since parking in DC is impossible. The Bistro had the most awesome food and drinks for a good price. It is located within walking distance of pretty much everything you want to see in DC and only a few minutes from Arlington Cemetery. We will most definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

F Street Bistro

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S.
Business
New York
Apr 6, 2010

Two days (one night) visit to Washington

Ideal to walk around the Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS 24-hours right in the corner by the Hotel. Hotel rooms had kitchen (gas, microwave oven, fridge, dinner table with chairs...).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jacki K RN
Business
Beaver Dam, WI
Apr 6, 2010

Great Location in DC

The State Plaza Hotel was the perfect place for my daughter & me to celebrate her 21st Birthday. We came to see things we have never seen before. We have visited Washington DC three times in the past, but never stayed in the city. State Plaza staff members were fabulous in assisting us on how to get to certain locations via the Metro system. We were treated with much respect from all the staff. I wanted this to be a special trip for my daughter and when the bellman came to get our luggage out of the taxi my daughter & I felt like we were being treated special... Later found out that they do that service for everyone. :) When we needed a taxi to get to the Kennedy Center all I had to do was call the desk and they had the cab waiting for us when we came down from our room. Since we were looking for things to do that we had never done before, the staff members were able to assist us with more local personable things to do. As usual, we hated to leave the hotel and Washington DC. Our next trip, we will be looking to stay at the State Plaza Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Quigley's Pharmacy for Tonic to cure what ails you, great food too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Warsaw, Poland
Feb 20, 2011

great location for not so big price

Travelling from NY to Miami would like to visit a capitol of US. I choose such hotel because of good location - walking distance to White House and a bit to Capitol. Nice room with separate kitchen and free Internet access. What surprised me was a cost of parking - $30 per night :-( Nevertheless I will recommend such place for short visiting Washington.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goldendreadlocs
Business
Houstoin, Texas
Feb 1, 2011

My best stay yet

I do a lot of traveling mainly outside the US; howerver I do try and get back to Washington, DC from time to time. I was so impressed with this hotel I just had to write a review. The employee of the hotel was so helpful and the rooms were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 17, 2007

My review of State Plaza Hotel

The location is great. Rooms are very comfortable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

All DC attractions are very close to the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top