$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
930 out of 930
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Arnie's mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Oct 16, 2012

Great hotel in the right location

10 minutes walk to the Kennedy Center (which is why I was there) and 10 minutes walk from the Foggy Bottom Metro Stop, this hotel couldn't have been more perfect and was half the price of the other hotels in this neighborhood. Clean, well maintained, large room with kitchenette (an unexpected bonus) and weirdly old fashioned dressing room and bathroom. I didn't check out the gym, but the website said they have one. Instead I walked around the GWU neighborhood and down to the White House, just blocks away. The only downside is the proximity of GWU frat houses and the masses of students wandering around oblivious to others, but there was no street noise in the room and I did not hear any of the parties which were happening around the corner. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Metro and a Whole Foods are 10 minutes walk away at I Street and 23rd.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Newbified
Business
Orlando, Florida
Oct 15, 2012

Great place to spend a few days

Hotel was in a great location, a good deal, and helpful staff. The rooms are old and outdated compared to most hotels, but still very comfy and big. The kitchen came with a microwave, full size fridge, stove, and toaster along with your regular cups, and silverware and a pan. While we were here we walked to nearly everything... the mall, Washington monument, Lincoln memorial, white house, capital building, nearly all museums, and many other things, including even chinatown(This was quite a walk but in a city like this walking is great.) The restaurant in the hotel was over priced and not that great, there are many others to go with a short walk or taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Branigan
Business
Albany, New York
Oct 11, 2012

Columbus Day White House Trip

The room was spotless and the hotel staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. A real gem of a hotel in the heart of DC. Wouldn't change a thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the staff. They sent us to very nice local restaurants we could walk to. Starbucks two blocks over on 21.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BrendaMI
Business
Chesterfield, Michigan
Oct 7, 2012

Couldn't be better!

VERY ROOMY, with separate kitchen with a table & 2 chairs and dressing room! Had everything but a microwave, but you could ask for one if needed...we didn't! Also had a nice view of the Washington Monument. Older, but very clean! Attached restaurant was very good, since there were not many close by. Service was good, with computers & printers to print out boarding passes. Very convenient to walk to National Mall two blocks away & pick up Hop On Hop Off bus transportation. Also CVS right next door with stocked refrigerated section for snacks! Would recommend and stay here again, very good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

So close to the National Mall, State Dept. and George Washinton University...no need for a car!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheNukeProf
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2012

Business Trip

As usual the staff greeted me and handled check-in in a professional manner. They also have a very nice restaurant. Rooms are always well-kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in-hotel Bistro Restaurant is a fine spot to dine in a relaxed manner.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Masco
Business
Sioux City, IA, USA
Oct 2, 2012

Historical Visit

Hotel was clean, staff were nice and helpful. The hotel is close enough to walk to all the important sites. Good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to all the important sites and there are good places to eat within walking distance.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babydeejordan
Business
los angeles
Sep 27, 2012

60th Birthday getaway!

The hotel staff was helful! The hotel is a little dated. It appears to have been a apartment turned into a hotel. We had a kitchen but no microwave. So you could cook in the room. Two beds but we only needed one....not sure why Orbizs didn't order a king size bed. The bathroom was small but they had a little sitting room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreene
Business
New York
Sep 24, 2012

Lovely Stay

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was a five block walk from Foggy Bottom metro station - short blocks & very manageable with one suitcase. Arrived early & they happily stored luggage so that we could get to the American History Museum. Very manageable walk, again, to the White House & Corcoran Art Gallery. Longer walk to other sites, but very do-able. We're in our 60's, walk daily, so felt at home with distances. Hotel was very clean, kitchenette included which would be very nice for families. Ate at hotel bistro, F St. Bistro. That was okay, calamari appetizer great, meal okay, wine generous, price very moderate. We were here on a weekend, so relatively quiet as hotel is in the middle of George Washington University & I suspect college students were away or sleeping . Hard to find a breakfast spot which surprised us. All in all, a very fine hotel, esp. for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Q
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2012

National Mall touring

I spent about a week at State Plaza hotel, walking down to the National Mall daily. The staff were friendly, and always provided a good base for my exploration. After a long day of looking at monuments and museums, the room was always spotless and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take one of the Segway tours of DC. The guides provide a good overview of all the sites you'll see on your own, and the Segways are really cool.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfsong
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 22, 2012

A Pleasant Surprise

The hotel is within easy walking distance of a wide array of memorials, museums, restaurants, and other attractions offered by DC. I was able to see a lot of what makes DC popular without needing a car. If you need a break from being a tourist, there are several small cafes and food shops where you can relax quietly. The room came with an eat-in kitchen that happily contained dinnerware and cooking equipment: perfect for a meal at "home." I will use this hotel again when I'm vacationing in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reflecting Pool, several monuments and memorials, the Smithsonian museums, and many restaurants of all varieties are all within a few blocks of this hotel. Very convenient!

Back to menu Return to top