$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreene
Business
New York
Sep 24, 2012

Lovely Stay

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was a five block walk from Foggy Bottom metro station - short blocks & very manageable with one suitcase. Arrived early & they happily stored luggage so that we could get to the American History Museum. Very manageable walk, again, to the White House & Corcoran Art Gallery. Longer walk to other sites, but very do-able. We're in our 60's, walk daily, so felt at home with distances. Hotel was very clean, kitchenette included which would be very nice for families. Ate at hotel bistro, F St. Bistro. That was okay, calamari appetizer great, meal okay, wine generous, price very moderate. We were here on a weekend, so relatively quiet as hotel is in the middle of George Washington University & I suspect college students were away or sleeping . Hard to find a breakfast spot which surprised us. All in all, a very fine hotel, esp. for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Q
Business
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2012

National Mall touring

I spent about a week at State Plaza hotel, walking down to the National Mall daily. The staff were friendly, and always provided a good base for my exploration. After a long day of looking at monuments and museums, the room was always spotless and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take one of the Segway tours of DC. The guides provide a good overview of all the sites you'll see on your own, and the Segways are really cool.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfsong
Business
Rochester, NY
Sep 22, 2012

A Pleasant Surprise

The hotel is within easy walking distance of a wide array of memorials, museums, restaurants, and other attractions offered by DC. I was able to see a lot of what makes DC popular without needing a car. If you need a break from being a tourist, there are several small cafes and food shops where you can relax quietly. The room came with an eat-in kitchen that happily contained dinnerware and cooking equipment: perfect for a meal at "home." I will use this hotel again when I'm vacationing in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reflecting Pool, several monuments and memorials, the Smithsonian museums, and many restaurants of all varieties are all within a few blocks of this hotel. Very convenient!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toberto
Business
Germany
Sep 17, 2012

Nice location in center of DC

Great place to stay. Huge rooms with seperate kitchen. Rooms were very clean. I would come back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.G. Super Grandpa
Business
Greeley, Co.
Sep 15, 2012

Good

Nice for an older hotel. Poor wait staff at resturaunt. Good staff otherwise. Driving-use valet. Jose is excellent. Very good cleaning staff. Slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you aren't familiar with the streets in D.C. allow plenty of time to reach destinations due to one ways, no-turn arrows and blocked roads for dignitaries.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evanf
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Sep 14, 2012

Hotel ok, not great

Comfortable enough, but had an old and cold feel to it - not really a warm, relaxing environment. Staff were nice and courteous, but we had to continuously ask for towels, toilet paper, and other amenities that should have been left automatically when the room was cleaned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor Nana
Business
Minneapolis
Sep 13, 2012

Quiet & pleasant spot

Our #1 goal was to see the MLK monument, so this location was perfect. It's a short cab ride from Reagan airport ($20). The neighborhood is full of college students and business people. Eating establishments are not close -- that was one drawback for us --although the hotel restaurant was OK, The room was lovely, with a separate kitchenette and dressing room. 4 blocks to Metro stop. A quiet and pleasant hotel that we definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Corcoran Art Gallery is great place to spend a morning

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Corvallis, OR
Sep 9, 2012

Nice stay for the dollar.

A/C was very loud which made it hard to get a good night sleep. The beds were great, but the pillows were so fluffy you slept cock-eyed. Would have been nice to have an adjustable shower head. Kitchen was nice to have and the staff kept the room clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Google navigation was most helpful in finding a stop to buy food and for restaurants. The hotel really should have had a list of local places to eat.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rainluo
Business
houston tx
Sep 5, 2012

family

good location, good stuff, but no free parking, wallet parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
censevasta
Business
new haven
Sep 3, 2012

i recommend that hotel

İt was clean personal were kindly beds were comfortable place was convinient and embeded kitchen was big and was lived us like at home breakfest could be to the hotel price included!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top