$139 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
930 out of 930
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Intrepid Traveller
Business
Seattle
Feb 3, 2013

A Gem Among the Titans

A wonderful value, excellent location for many reasons, and the rooms are huge, not modern, but clean and very functional, like having an apartment. Only negative comment, the pillows, too many and hard as rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DuPont Circle...wonderful places, all various pricing. A little further, Adams Morgan!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The interviewee
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2013

Good for a night

Only stayed here for one night. Sufficient amenities for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
USA Now
Business
Nevada
Jan 23, 2013

Presidenrial Inaugration

Staff friendly Close to parade route. Needed Metro to. South capital street. Overall nice. Would use again when prices are not marked up

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ardeidae
Business
Oregon, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Month in DC

We spent a month in Washington DC, seeing the sites and using the hotel as a base of operations. Its located close to the Metro and a few places to eat. The hotel is old, needs to have the rest rooms updated (urine smell). The staff is amazing they work hard and provide excellent service. On site resturant is ok, nothing special, food quality can be random. The room is advertised as having a kitchen, but you must ask for a microwave, there is limited dishes and nothing to cook with. Would not recommend if you expect to use the kitchen. Overall not somewhere I would recommend staying beyond two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Mom13
Business
South Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

Great location with all amenities we need

This is a great value hotel! It is so close to the White House and Mall area if you want to sightseeing those places. We particularly love the full kitchen, the comfortable queen size bed with the great support pillows. The room was kept very clean. My two kids enjoyed their stays as much as us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cost Conscious Dad
Business
RI
Jan 2, 2013

Good value, close to attractions

Our family of 4 stopped in DC on the way back north for New Years Eve and Day. My thought was that crowds would be thin, and they were. Wanted a hotel that we could walk to attractions from. State Plaza is an old hotel, built long front to back on a city block. If you are a frequent traveler with your family and accustomed to the hotel chains with the spacious lobbies and breakfast bars, this is very different. This is an old-style, city hotel, with a concierge and bellhops, eager to assist you in any way. The room was spacious, and included a small kitchen with stove, full-sized fridge, and coffee maker; no microwave. Bathroom included a separate "powder room" where one person could dress while another showered. Lots of room for 2 adults and 2 children. Fixtures are all old, but everything worked fine; TV a modern flatscreen. Beds were comfortable. WiFi included. Rooms were VERY CLEAN! Parking was valet and cost extra (as is the case with most in the city). There was a decent fitness room, no pool. Restaurant on-site, but we did not use. 24-hr drug/convenience store and liquor store next-door, coffee and sandwich shops close by. Staff was very professional, service excellent. Hotel is close to Lincoln Memorial; a healthy walk from museums. Cabs, buses, subway all close by though. A good value for a family. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are making a day of the museums, look for the clock tower behind the Museum of Nat. History. There is an excellent food court in the lower level for lunch and /or dinner at reasonable prices.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
evilone
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 2, 2013

exploring the museums and us history

It was a very pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was convenient. CVS right next door. Easy walk to the mall or subway. Kitchenette was an unexpected and useful surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Loo's
Business
Hollywood Florida
Jan 2, 2013

State Plaza is awesome!

This was a great option for our holiday trip. Truthfully, I selected State Plaza Hotel because the package was cost effective while traveling with our 2 granddaughters, but we loved it. State Plaza is in a great location, very comfortable and the full kitchen was a wonderful surprise. Best of all was the service! Everyone in every shift was warm, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We commend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Visit "Cosi" restaurant on King Street in Alexandria. Great for kids and food tastes good!! Have the Smores for dessert!!!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
peterlein
Business
Miramar, Florida
Jan 1, 2013

vacationing in DC

The bedroom was spacious, but the kitchen lacked of a microwave and no utensils to cook. Had only one time breakfast there (stayed 5 days), but it was completely expensive in relation to what was available. Carpet looks old (should be changed). I had to change once towels, because they were dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garfelda
Business
Pensacola Florida
Dec 23, 2012

Very Convenient

Excellent Hotel , Good location. The room was very clean, large, and well appointed. I would stay there again. There is a $28..00 plus 18% tax for one night parking. I guess this is normal for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top