$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vermonty 2013
Business
Vermont
Mar 18, 2013

Great deal near the mall

I loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was really clean. The kitchen was huge! Full refrigerator, sink, stove top. I don't travel much, and I'm squeamish about hotels, bed bugs, all that. I would definitely come here again. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bahoo65
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Week trip to D.C.

Stayed in D.C. for the week. Hotel was in a convenient location. About three blocks from the metro and three blocks from the mall. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint would be that my room was right next to the lobby and you could hear people coming in and out at all times of the day. The room was very spacious. The resturant located at the hotel was very good and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thescore
Business
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2013

Great Location

We traveled to Washington D.C. over the 4th of July weekend. This hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was very cost effective and the location was unbeatable for the price. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the National Mall at night, and visit the Lincoln Memorial and FDR. Night time was the best time to see those.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
asimpson
Business
Rock Hill
Feb 27, 2013

Great place to stay

If you are looking for marble and spa tubs, keep looking. If what you need is a clean, well-located place to stay near the mall in DC, this is a great place to stay. We were in town for a conference at the Corcoran (3 blocks away) and to see the normal tourist sites (the mall is only a few blocks away) and museums (a longer walk). The room was older but spotless, the bed comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to make sure our visit was great. We had such a good trip we are coming back in a few months for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food can be found at DuPont circle.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose809
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 20, 2013

Good place to visit DC

The hotel is very clean and the staff was helpful. It has a convenient location, I think is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcoNut
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 19, 2013

Activacation

Came to support climate change action in D.C. Loved the hotel and location. Would not rent a car next time. Lovely, helpful staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car in D.C. Use public transit or bikeshare. Parking is either ridiculously expensive or very difficult to find, everywhere.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Intrepid Traveller
Business
Seattle
Feb 3, 2013

A Gem Among the Titans

A wonderful value, excellent location for many reasons, and the rooms are huge, not modern, but clean and very functional, like having an apartment. Only negative comment, the pillows, too many and hard as rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DuPont Circle...wonderful places, all various pricing. A little further, Adams Morgan!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The interviewee
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2013

Good for a night

Only stayed here for one night. Sufficient amenities for a short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ardeidae
Business
Oregon, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Month in DC

We spent a month in Washington DC, seeing the sites and using the hotel as a base of operations. Its located close to the Metro and a few places to eat. The hotel is old, needs to have the rest rooms updated (urine smell). The staff is amazing they work hard and provide excellent service. On site resturant is ok, nothing special, food quality can be random. The room is advertised as having a kitchen, but you must ask for a microwave, there is limited dishes and nothing to cook with. Would not recommend if you expect to use the kitchen. Overall not somewhere I would recommend staying beyond two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Mom13
Business
South Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

Great location with all amenities we need

This is a great value hotel! It is so close to the White House and Mall area if you want to sightseeing those places. We particularly love the full kitchen, the comfortable queen size bed with the great support pillows. The room was kept very clean. My two kids enjoyed their stays as much as us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top