$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl Bus Driver
Houston Texas
Dec 5, 2012

Enjoyed my stay

My room had a powder room, a kitchen and a dining area, I was surprised and impressed. The room was very clean, the pillows were fluffy and there were plenty of channels to choose from. The gentleman at the desk was nice enough to help me set up the free wi fi on my tablet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Actually I wouldn't call it short, I would say it's a medium walk to the White House from the hotel. So much to see. City is super clean. Hotel is across the street from George Washington Univ. You almost won't know it's there, the students are so quiet.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandpaBilly
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 18, 2013

Good for family

We went to the hotel with our five year old grandson and we were happy with the size of the room and the kitchenette. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the George Washington University, and the staff was responsive and pleasant..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice little restaurant on site. Prices were reasonable and food was good.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Justin Traveler
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2013

State Plaza Hotel

Stayed at the State Plaza Hotel for 3 nights. It was a positive experience. It was clean and the staff was really great. Very friendly and were always willing to help with finding restaurants and activities to do. The rooms were small and average but did have a nice kitchen. For the price we paid it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Founding Farmers restaurant was phenomenal. we ate there three times in three days. If you go to Washington DC you must try this place

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPRG
Business
Midland, Ontario
Apr 3, 2013

Good location but needs updating

This hotel is in a good location for the sights but was not what we expected from the website. While the bedroom was spacious and the beds very comfortable, the suite overall needed an update. The kitchen was not equipped as promised - among other items, there was no microwave. The bathroom was decrepit and had ants coming in (also were some ants in the kitchen). The bathroom floor was dirty when we arrived. We asked that it be cleaned after my son broke a glass in the bathroom and also requested that something be done about the ants. When we got back at the end of the day, neither had been done. We called again and housekeeping cleaned the floor but did nothing about the ants. Also, there were no pressure-balanced faucets in the bathroom so the water pressure and temperature were unreliable from day-to-day and even during a particular shower. One day the shower was cold. While there were some advantages to staying here (mainly the location) we would not stay here again and would not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and the food was good.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamilyTraveler50
Business
ManchesterD
Apr 1, 2013

Perfect for a family vacation

The room was spacious, dresser was large but not very sturdy, kitchen provided enough room to eat and cook in, and the bath and dressing area was nice. They provided nice soaps from Bath and Body Works. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and fresh smelling sheets. I would definitely stay here again. Overall an excellent value in a pricey town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KKGG
Business
Chicago
Mar 29, 2013

Good

Free internet. And there is even a kitchen in the room! Things in the room are good except the lead of kettle is broken, but that doesn't matter since it's fine to heat the water. Nice loacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R. Goodrich
Business
Westlake Village, CA
Mar 28, 2013

Great family hotel close to the Mall

Great location, great size room ideal for family with its own little kitchen. Only a few blocks from the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations ahead of time during high season to guarantee entry.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck from Ohio
Business
Cincinnati OH
Mar 26, 2013

Great value

Can beat the value and only five or six blocks from the White House. I would definitely stay here again! My room was spacious and quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gene01
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 19, 2013

Very Good Experience

Very convenient location: walking distance to National Mall Memorials, White House, Metro Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Phillips Collection is a gem

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gensurg
Business
Fairfax Va
Mar 18, 2013

State Plaza Hotel Suites

This used to be Government office building converted to suites. We stayed in a single bedroon suite.The bedroom is huge and had 2 queen beds,flat screen TV,WiFi(free).Attached was a small closet,a separate sitting area for makeup adjacent to a separate bath with shower and tub. Another medium sized area is walled off and is a kitchenette complete with 4 burner gas stove,fridge,table and chairs for eating in. The location is perfect,close to the Metro. There is a lounge/bistro on the 2nd floor. We pain 109 plus tax . This is a great value hotel especially for a visiting out of town family sight seeing and on a dining budget. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Primi Piatti,DC's venereable Italian restaurant is a short walk away.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QnzDiva14
Business
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Just OK

The State Plaza Hotel is an old hotel that needs to be updated. The drains in the bathroom were slow and the toilet ran; I had to jiggle the handle to get it to stop. The location was great, it was walking distance from several restaurants in Foggy Bottom and the Metro. I had an overall satisfactory stay, but I have stayed in better, more modern hotels before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top