$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Knoc4will
Couples
Fredericksburg
Jul 13, 2014

Just average

Over all the hotel was just okay. Pluses with the room are; great location, bed is clean and comfy, kitchen, and quite. The negatives where; the shower/tub was clogged and filthy, no microwave for the kitchen, no free breakfast and you have to pay for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Patrick from Folly
Couples
Folly Beach
Jul 1, 2014

Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tonic

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhtalves
Business
Brazil
Jun 24, 2014

Executive and business

It was my second time in the hotel. Good location. Rates were better than any other site, including the Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Dupont Circle at night is very amazing

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GAO dong
Family
Tx
Jun 16, 2014

great location

The location is great. Very close to the national mall in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BVBV
Family
Los Angeles
May 13, 2014

Good for family

I loved our large room. It had a separate dressing area and a kitchen. It is an older hotel w a retro 40s feel in my room. The bathroom had a cool 40s tile and the tub showers were clean and nicely caulked. The semi attached cafe that doubles as room service was staffed w friendly and helpful waitstaff/management. The front desk was helpful. They let me check in early and check out a little past the noon checkout. I would certainly stay again and recommend it to those who don't need "new" and like retro features. Close to the war monuments and White House. A 1/2 mile or so from dining. You should like to walk. Very close to GW university.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

War monuments and White House.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Business
Business
Jackson, MS
May 13, 2014

State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and a Great Value considering DC prices. I did stay on a Sunday, which reduced my rate, since my business was on Monday. I'm uncertain of weekly rates, but will stay there again, if the price is "right". Highly Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For meetings at Dept. of State -- this hotel is excellent!!!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A senior walker
Couples
Central PA
May 12, 2014

A Walker's Hotel

If you are willing and able to walk at least 3/4 of a mile (one way) you can get to the Kennedy Center, George Washington University, the Washington Monument, WWII Memorial, the White House and are on the National Mall. Walking farther we went to Ford's Theater, the National Archives and several other Smithsonian buildings without using any wheeled transportation. We found delightful and reasonable restaurants within our walking area. The hotel suite was comfortable with a kitchen area that contained a stove, refrigerator, sink but no microwave. Every staff member we had contact with was polite and helpful. We used a public parking garage rather than the hotel valet parking and saved at least 2/3 of the $37 hotel fee. The closest garage we found was about .5 mile from the hotel. We did not use any amenities outside the room. Overall, the State Plaza was a good place for us to stay while we enjoyed a weekend in Washington, DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B'sFan
Single
Boston
May 10, 2014

Excellent location and value

As a single traveler, and first time visitor to DC, I couldn't have asked for a better location and value for my money. Ten to fifteen minute walk to the Metro - Foggy Bottom Station made easy work to get to all DC locations. The Metro is fantastic. Easy walk to Lincoln Memorial end of the National Mall. There is a CVS and liquor store next to the hotel. At the near corner of the next block there is an inexpensive cafeteria where I had breakfast a couple times. In the same lobby as the cafeteria is a Dunkin Donuts. Georgetown was a $10 cab ride. Near the Foggy Bottom station is a Whole Foods as well as a couple restaurants. On the GWU were a line of Food Trucks. As far as the Hotel goes, I didn't use any amenities or eat in the restaurant nor was it my plan to do so. The room had a dated mini kitchen with sink, gas ccoktop and full size fridge. Bathroom was dated, but in great condition. I suspect the hotel was once efficiency apartments. My room was comfortable and clean, staff was friendly and helpful. It was more than adequate and met my expectations. A cautionary note: Bring comfortable shoes, you will walk more than ever in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the Old Ebbett Grill on 15th St NW and G St NW. Fantastic atmosphere and awesome food, raw bar and crab cakes their specialty. Have a pre or post dinner drink at the POV roof terrace atop the W Hotel on the next block, great view of WH and surrounding area.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Future
Family
Richmond, VA
Apr 30, 2014

Great hotel

Perfect location a bit dated but not bad at all great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJK2013
Business
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Apr 29, 2014

OK for one night

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. But the air conditioner was not working properly and it was quite uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right beside a 7/24 grocery store, which are sparse in that area.

Back to menu Return to top