$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 22, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GAO dong
Business
Tx
Jun 16, 2014

great location

The location is great. Very close to the national mall in walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BVBV
Business
Los Angeles
May 13, 2014

Good for family

I loved our large room. It had a separate dressing area and a kitchen. It is an older hotel w a retro 40s feel in my room. The bathroom had a cool 40s tile and the tub showers were clean and nicely caulked. The semi attached cafe that doubles as room service was staffed w friendly and helpful waitstaff/management. The front desk was helpful. They let me check in early and check out a little past the noon checkout. I would certainly stay again and recommend it to those who don't need "new" and like retro features. Close to the war monuments and White House. A 1/2 mile or so from dining. You should like to walk. Very close to GW university.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

War monuments and White House.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Business
Business
Jackson, MS
May 13, 2014

State Plaza Hotel - Location Location Location

For US Dept. of State the location does not get any better. Staff was great! Friendly and helpful. Room was clean, comfortable and a Great Value considering DC prices. I did stay on a Sunday, which reduced my rate, since my business was on Monday. I'm uncertain of weekly rates, but will stay there again, if the price is "right". Highly Recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

For meetings at Dept. of State -- this hotel is excellent!!!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A senior walker
Business
Central PA
May 12, 2014

A Walker's Hotel

If you are willing and able to walk at least 3/4 of a mile (one way) you can get to the Kennedy Center, George Washington University, the Washington Monument, WWII Memorial, the White House and are on the National Mall. Walking farther we went to Ford's Theater, the National Archives and several other Smithsonian buildings without using any wheeled transportation. We found delightful and reasonable restaurants within our walking area. The hotel suite was comfortable with a kitchen area that contained a stove, refrigerator, sink but no microwave. Every staff member we had contact with was polite and helpful. We used a public parking garage rather than the hotel valet parking and saved at least 2/3 of the $37 hotel fee. The closest garage we found was about .5 mile from the hotel. We did not use any amenities outside the room. Overall, the State Plaza was a good place for us to stay while we enjoyed a weekend in Washington, DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
B'sFan
Business
Boston
May 10, 2014

Excellent location and value

As a single traveler, and first time visitor to DC, I couldn't have asked for a better location and value for my money. Ten to fifteen minute walk to the Metro - Foggy Bottom Station made easy work to get to all DC locations. The Metro is fantastic. Easy walk to Lincoln Memorial end of the National Mall. There is a CVS and liquor store next to the hotel. At the near corner of the next block there is an inexpensive cafeteria where I had breakfast a couple times. In the same lobby as the cafeteria is a Dunkin Donuts. Georgetown was a $10 cab ride. Near the Foggy Bottom station is a Whole Foods as well as a couple restaurants. On the GWU were a line of Food Trucks. As far as the Hotel goes, I didn't use any amenities or eat in the restaurant nor was it my plan to do so. The room had a dated mini kitchen with sink, gas ccoktop and full size fridge. Bathroom was dated, but in great condition. I suspect the hotel was once efficiency apartments. My room was comfortable and clean, staff was friendly and helpful. It was more than adequate and met my expectations. A cautionary note: Bring comfortable shoes, you will walk more than ever in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to the Old Ebbett Grill on 15th St NW and G St NW. Fantastic atmosphere and awesome food, raw bar and crab cakes their specialty. Have a pre or post dinner drink at the POV roof terrace atop the W Hotel on the next block, great view of WH and surrounding area.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC Future
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 30, 2014

Great hotel

Perfect location a bit dated but not bad at all great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJK2013
Business
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Apr 29, 2014

OK for one night

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. But the air conditioner was not working properly and it was quite uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is right beside a 7/24 grocery store, which are sparse in that area.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ceci82
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 29, 2014

Excellent Location!

The room was spacious and the kitchen well equipped. The location was the best, walking distance to the main spots in DC and there's a CVS right next to the hotel. The hotel restaurant and business center were average. The staff was friendly though the check in process took a little extra time. I think it was a great deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Around the hotel area there's a few restaurant but i didn't find them very good. However, if you walk towards 30th and M (or rent a bike in the multiple corners close by) you will find several good restaurants in a beautiful neighborhood (Georgetown).

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Inja Girl
Business
Denver, CO
Apr 27, 2014

Location, Value Can't be Beat

I'm a frequent business traveler to DC and was delighted with the State Plaza. Huge room, well-furninshed, large bath with a separate dressing/make up area. Staff was PERFECT, location can't be beat (walking distance to WH, Mall, Whole Foods, and several great restaurants). It looks like this is a refurbished hotel or residential building--all executed very well, nothing shabby. Would make a great place for tourist or business travelers. Only "complaint" is a very slow, old elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Whole Foods and Roti, three blocks away!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wags143
Business
New York, NY
Apr 26, 2014

Great location

Lovely time in Washington, D.C. The hotel location is right near the Washington monument and close to almost everything. Very easy access by cab. Having a kitchenette was very helpful to prepare snacks. We will definitely be staying at the State Plaza Hotel the next time we visit Washington, D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Lincoln's waffles, right next to the ford theater. Try the chicken and waffles. Sichuan Palace... Great, clean, MSG free Chinese food!

Back to menu Return to top