$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheNukeProf
Business
DC
Oct 6, 2012

Business Trip

As usual the staff greeted me and handled check-in in a professional manner. They also have a very nice restaurant. Rooms are always well-kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The in-hotel Bistro Restaurant is a fine spot to dine in a relaxed manner.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Masco
Couples
Sioux City, IA, USA
Oct 2, 2012

Historical Visit

Hotel was clean, staff were nice and helpful. The hotel is close enough to walk to all the important sites. Good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

You can walk to all the important sites and there are good places to eat within walking distance.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
babydeejordan
Couples
los angeles
Sep 27, 2012

60th Birthday getaway!

The hotel staff was helful! The hotel is a little dated. It appears to have been a apartment turned into a hotel. We had a kitchen but no microwave. So you could cook in the room. Two beds but we only needed one....not sure why Orbizs didn't order a king size bed. The bathroom was small but they had a little sitting room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dreene
Couples
New York
Sep 24, 2012

Lovely Stay

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was a five block walk from Foggy Bottom metro station - short blocks & very manageable with one suitcase. Arrived early & they happily stored luggage so that we could get to the American History Museum. Very manageable walk, again, to the White House & Corcoran Art Gallery. Longer walk to other sites, but very do-able. We're in our 60's, walk daily, so felt at home with distances. Hotel was very clean, kitchenette included which would be very nice for families. Ate at hotel bistro, F St. Bistro. That was okay, calamari appetizer great, meal okay, wine generous, price very moderate. We were here on a weekend, so relatively quiet as hotel is in the middle of George Washington University & I suspect college students were away or sleeping . Hard to find a breakfast spot which surprised us. All in all, a very fine hotel, esp. for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
David Q
Single
San Diego, CA
Sep 22, 2012

National Mall touring

I spent about a week at State Plaza hotel, walking down to the National Mall daily. The staff were friendly, and always provided a good base for my exploration. After a long day of looking at monuments and museums, the room was always spotless and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take one of the Segway tours of DC. The guides provide a good overview of all the sites you'll see on your own, and the Segways are really cool.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wolfsong
Rochester, NY
Sep 22, 2012

A Pleasant Surprise

The hotel is within easy walking distance of a wide array of memorials, museums, restaurants, and other attractions offered by DC. I was able to see a lot of what makes DC popular without needing a car. If you need a break from being a tourist, there are several small cafes and food shops where you can relax quietly. The room came with an eat-in kitchen that happily contained dinnerware and cooking equipment: perfect for a meal at "home." I will use this hotel again when I'm vacationing in DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Reflecting Pool, several monuments and memorials, the Smithsonian museums, and many restaurants of all varieties are all within a few blocks of this hotel. Very convenient!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toberto
Business
Germany
Sep 17, 2012

Nice location in center of DC

Great place to stay. Huge rooms with seperate kitchen. Rooms were very clean. I would come back any time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
S.G. Super Grandpa
Couples
Greeley, Co.
Sep 15, 2012

Good

Nice for an older hotel. Poor wait staff at resturaunt. Good staff otherwise. Driving-use valet. Jose is excellent. Very good cleaning staff. Slow elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

If you aren't familiar with the streets in D.C. allow plenty of time to reach destinations due to one ways, no-turn arrows and blocked roads for dignitaries.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evanf
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Sep 14, 2012

Hotel ok, not great

Comfortable enough, but had an old and cold feel to it - not really a warm, relaxing environment. Staff were nice and courteous, but we had to continuously ask for towels, toilet paper, and other amenities that should have been left automatically when the room was cleaned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Professor Nana
Couples
Minneapolis
Sep 13, 2012

Quiet & pleasant spot

Our #1 goal was to see the MLK monument, so this location was perfect. It's a short cab ride from Reagan airport ($20). The neighborhood is full of college students and business people. Eating establishments are not close -- that was one drawback for us --although the hotel restaurant was OK, The room was lovely, with a separate kitchenette and dressing room. 4 blocks to Metro stop. A quiet and pleasant hotel that we definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Corcoran Art Gallery is great place to spend a morning

Back to menu Return to top