$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
929 out of 929
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gensurg
Business
Fairfax Va
Mar 18, 2013

State Plaza Hotel Suites

This used to be Government office building converted to suites. We stayed in a single bedroon suite.The bedroom is huge and had 2 queen beds,flat screen TV,WiFi(free).Attached was a small closet,a separate sitting area for makeup adjacent to a separate bath with shower and tub. Another medium sized area is walled off and is a kitchenette complete with 4 burner gas stove,fridge,table and chairs for eating in. The location is perfect,close to the Metro. There is a lounge/bistro on the 2nd floor. We pain 109 plus tax . This is a great value hotel especially for a visiting out of town family sight seeing and on a dining budget. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Primi Piatti,DC's venereable Italian restaurant is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
QnzDiva14
Business
New York, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Just OK

The State Plaza Hotel is an old hotel that needs to be updated. The drains in the bathroom were slow and the toilet ran; I had to jiggle the handle to get it to stop. The location was great, it was walking distance from several restaurants in Foggy Bottom and the Metro. I had an overall satisfactory stay, but I have stayed in better, more modern hotels before.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vermonty 2013
Business
Vermont
Mar 18, 2013

Great deal near the mall

I loved this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the room was really clean. The kitchen was huge! Full refrigerator, sink, stove top. I don't travel much, and I'm squeamish about hotels, bed bugs, all that. I would definitely come here again. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bahoo65
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 12, 2013

Week trip to D.C.

Stayed in D.C. for the week. Hotel was in a convenient location. About three blocks from the metro and three blocks from the mall. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The only complaint would be that my room was right next to the lobby and you could hear people coming in and out at all times of the day. The room was very spacious. The resturant located at the hotel was very good and enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thescore
Business
Minnesota
Mar 1, 2013

Great Location

We traveled to Washington D.C. over the 4th of July weekend. This hotel was perfect for what we needed. It was very cost effective and the location was unbeatable for the price. We will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to the National Mall at night, and visit the Lincoln Memorial and FDR. Night time was the best time to see those.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
asimpson
Business
Rock Hill
Feb 27, 2013

Great place to stay

If you are looking for marble and spa tubs, keep looking. If what you need is a clean, well-located place to stay near the mall in DC, this is a great place to stay. We were in town for a conference at the Corcoran (3 blocks away) and to see the normal tourist sites (the mall is only a few blocks away) and museums (a longer walk). The room was older but spotless, the bed comfortable, and the staff went out of their way to make sure our visit was great. We had such a good trip we are coming back in a few months for a longer stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great food can be found at DuPont circle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jose809
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 20, 2013

Good place to visit DC

The hotel is very clean and the staff was helpful. It has a convenient location, I think is a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EcoNut
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Feb 19, 2013

Activacation

Came to support climate change action in D.C. Loved the hotel and location. Would not rent a car next time. Lovely, helpful staff and facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car in D.C. Use public transit or bikeshare. Parking is either ridiculously expensive or very difficult to find, everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angel JACKIE
Business
Washington, D.C.
Feb 18, 2013

Excellent for long stays

This is a very comfortable hotel in a very good location. The metro was nearby. Rooms were very comfortable and roomy. I would like to see them add bars in showers or strips in tubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Intrepid Traveller
Business
Seattle
Feb 3, 2013

A Gem Among the Titans

A wonderful value, excellent location for many reasons, and the rooms are huge, not modern, but clean and very functional, like having an apartment. Only negative comment, the pillows, too many and hard as rocks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

DuPont Circle...wonderful places, all various pricing. A little further, Adams Morgan!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top