$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
929 out of 929
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karolka
Business
Warsaw, Poland
May 9, 2013

great starting point for sightseeing

great location, very nice and helpful staff, a bit too long waiting fot the check-in. I definitely recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RGNY
Business
New York, New York
May 8, 2013

Great stay!

The hotel was in a good location for my purposes, and a nice walk as well to several memorials. Staff was friendly enough, though I didn't interact with them much. Size of the room was huge for the price, which was great. A couple stains in some of the furniture/curtains, but sheets and towels seemed clean. I didn't use any of the amenities, but I was aware the that there was a nicely sized gym in the hotel which is always a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrandpaBilly
Business
Washington, D.C.
Apr 18, 2013

Good for family

We went to the hotel with our five year old grandson and we were happy with the size of the room and the kitchenette. The location was excellent, right in the middle of the George Washington University, and the staff was responsive and pleasant..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Nice little restaurant on site. Prices were reasonable and food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Justin Traveler
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 4, 2013

State Plaza Hotel

Stayed at the State Plaza Hotel for 3 nights. It was a positive experience. It was clean and the staff was really great. Very friendly and were always willing to help with finding restaurants and activities to do. The rooms were small and average but did have a nice kitchen. For the price we paid it was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Founding Farmers restaurant was phenomenal. we ate there three times in three days. If you go to Washington DC you must try this place

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SPRG
Business
Midland, Ontario
Apr 3, 2013

Good location but needs updating

This hotel is in a good location for the sights but was not what we expected from the website. While the bedroom was spacious and the beds very comfortable, the suite overall needed an update. The kitchen was not equipped as promised - among other items, there was no microwave. The bathroom was decrepit and had ants coming in (also were some ants in the kitchen). The bathroom floor was dirty when we arrived. We asked that it be cleaned after my son broke a glass in the bathroom and also requested that something be done about the ants. When we got back at the end of the day, neither had been done. We called again and housekeeping cleaned the floor but did nothing about the ants. Also, there were no pressure-balanced faucets in the bathroom so the water pressure and temperature were unreliable from day-to-day and even during a particular shower. One day the shower was cold. While there were some advantages to staying here (mainly the location) we would not stay here again and would not recommend it to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced and the food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FamilyTraveler50
Business
ManchesterD
Apr 1, 2013

Perfect for a family vacation

The room was spacious, dresser was large but not very sturdy, kitchen provided enough room to eat and cook in, and the bath and dressing area was nice. They provided nice soaps from Bath and Body Works. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows and fresh smelling sheets. I would definitely stay here again. Overall an excellent value in a pricey town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KKGG
Business
Chicago
Mar 29, 2013

Good

Free internet. And there is even a kitchen in the room! Things in the room are good except the lead of kettle is broken, but that doesn't matter since it's fine to heat the water. Nice loacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R. Goodrich
Business
Westlake Village, CA
Mar 28, 2013

Great family hotel close to the Mall

Great location, great size room ideal for family with its own little kitchen. Only a few blocks from the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Make reservations ahead of time during high season to guarantee entry.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chuck from Ohio
Business
Cincinnati OH
Mar 26, 2013

Great value

Can beat the value and only five or six blocks from the White House. I would definitely stay here again! My room was spacious and quite comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gene01
Business
Miami, Florida
Mar 19, 2013

Very Good Experience

Very convenient location: walking distance to National Mall Memorials, White House, Metro Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Phillips Collection is a gem

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top