$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
853 out of 853
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MK2713
Business
Southern California
Jul 26, 2013

A little dated, but overall a good place to stay

Pros: GREAT location - this hotel is a few minutes walking from the Mall, The White House, and most other touristy stuff in DC. It is close to a handful of metro stops as well. It's RIGHT next to GWU (ie. beware students during the academic year). The room had a real kitchen, including dishes, a full fridge, and gas burners. If you're planning a long stay you could save on food costs by buying stuff an prepping it in your room. There was a toaster, but no microwave. FREE WIFI! Complimentary hair dryer. 24 hour drug store RIGHT next store for any 'oh shoot! I forgot to pack toothpaste!' needs. Beds were comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. CONS: Kind of a food desert. Although there is a well known coffee place 2 short blocks away. The decor is a bit dated, but things were pretty clean. (A chair in my room had a stain on it, but the bed linens and towels were spotless). No bathrobes. Room service ends EARLY (before 10pm). Elevators were slow. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Newseum (all about news and journalists) is well worth the trip. Among other things, It has a gallery of every Pulitzer Prize winning photograph, as well as cool artifacts such as the door that started Watergate. It's not free, but their exhibits are very well done and your ticket is valid through the next day. By long walk I mean at least 25 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New college graduate
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 24, 2013

Solo getaway

This was my second hotel during my stay in DC. I would stay there again, but I preferred my first hotel by far. The State Plaza has large rooms, but is very outdated and could use some remodeling. All of the staff were very exceptional with the exception of a rude, accented man who I spoke to on the phone about where to park my car. Great location if you want to be near the National Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah williams
Business
savannah, ga
Jul 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

My 20 year old son and I stayed at this hotel, and it was perfect for us. Two double beds. Very comfortable. Super accessible to the metro-about a four block walk. This hotel is not super fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. Had a kitchenette and a little dressing area. The restaurant only offers a buffet for breakfast, and it is a bit pricey, but it is convenient. Loved the area. If you are looking for a grand hotel experience, this is not your hotel. But, if you want a nice place to stay while in D.C. at an affordable price -- this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time and walk over to the water front. Great restaurants and atmosphere. We also took the time and walked over to the Georgetown area- well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gran 1
Business
Clarksville, Tn
Jul 15, 2013

HOLDAY FUN!!!!

Had a great time!!!! Only issue we had to wait for approximately 30 minutes for check in time aflter the 3:00 check in time. Don't know why that was a problem as we had arrived early & left our bags & were told our room would be ready by 3:00. When we returned after 3:00 still wasn't ready so we waited approximately 30 more minutes for room to get ready. Other than that the rooms were clean & we were able to walk everywhere. We would stay here again.!!!! Everyone was very friendly!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the White House is approximately one mile with sights along the way!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pbpvol
Business
Alabama
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect Hotel!

Had a one-week stay in December 2012 with my adult son and I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We arrived quite early so the front desk staff held our bags and provided a map with directions to some sights to visit in the area while our room was being prepared. We received a third-floor corner room that is larger than my son's college apartment! Nicely-appointed with comfortable beds and furniture as well as a full kitchen and two flatscreened TVs. Housekeeping staff kept our room immaculate and honored any extra request (i.e. extra coffee). The morning newspaper is a nice touch at your doorstep each day. The staff are helpful and willing to go the "extra mile." They even assisted me in printing our boarding pass when there were issues with a website. The hotel's location is perfect and we decided to walked to every event on our travel itinerary except a few times when the front desk quickly ordered a taxi for us. We never used the city bus, but there appears to be a bus stop across the street should you need it. Also a 24-hr CVS pharmacy is right next door. One evening, we ate in the hotel bistro and had a wide variety of choices. Our food was tasty and as good or better than other DC-area restaurants. To sum it up, if I had the option for 6 stars, I would use it! We WILL be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edward 007
Business
NYC
Jul 9, 2013

great hotel

very good location, customer-friendly service with a pretty pleasant atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jahd
Business
Nashville TN
Jul 5, 2013

Great place, great location

GREAT location, big comfortable room, helpful staff. The amenities are a bit dated, but that is probably what keeps this hotel affordable. I would certainly stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moligushi
Business
Mexico
Jul 3, 2013

GREAT STAFF, GREAT PLACE :)

You can walk to any of the famous places in Washington, D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Visit Pop
Business
CA
Jul 2, 2013

Great GW Location

The North entrance was just a couple of blocks from my nephew's dorm at GW and a very short distance off the National Mall. 41/2 blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Grab a breakfast sandwich at nearby Leo's Deli (22nd & G).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
michaelyszjuer15
Business
Palo Alto, California
Jun 26, 2013

Affordable hotel near most attractives

Pretty nice hotel with very large suit room, and the most important thing is that it is around most attractive areas, e.g. white house, memorial, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top