$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
863 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great location, super comfy

The State Plaza is within walking distance to all the major Washington attractions, the room was... See full review

  • Aussie Lou
  • Jun 16, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (863)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
863 out of 863
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stefania becchi
West palm beach
Aug 7, 2013

Fantastic family getaway

The hotel was very nice, clean, the staff was very friendly. The location was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kongkongkong
Blacksburg, VA
Aug 4, 2013

nice hotel

Staff was very helpful and room was very nice as well. The hot tub by the pool was nice except the jets didn't seem to working well. But I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MK2713
Business
Southern California
Jul 26, 2013

A little dated, but overall a good place to stay

Pros: GREAT location - this hotel is a few minutes walking from the Mall, The White House, and most other touristy stuff in DC. It is close to a handful of metro stops as well. It's RIGHT next to GWU (ie. beware students during the academic year). The room had a real kitchen, including dishes, a full fridge, and gas burners. If you're planning a long stay you could save on food costs by buying stuff an prepping it in your room. There was a toaster, but no microwave. FREE WIFI! Complimentary hair dryer. 24 hour drug store RIGHT next store for any 'oh shoot! I forgot to pack toothpaste!' needs. Beds were comfy. Staff was friendly and helpful. CONS: Kind of a food desert. Although there is a well known coffee place 2 short blocks away. The decor is a bit dated, but things were pretty clean. (A chair in my room had a stain on it, but the bed linens and towels were spotless). No bathrobes. Room service ends EARLY (before 10pm). Elevators were slow. Overall I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Newseum (all about news and journalists) is well worth the trip. Among other things, It has a gallery of every Pulitzer Prize winning photograph, as well as cool artifacts such as the door that started Watergate. It's not free, but their exhibits are very well done and your ticket is valid through the next day. By long walk I mean at least 25 minutes.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New college graduate
Pennsylvania
Jul 24, 2013

Solo getaway

This was my second hotel during my stay in DC. I would stay there again, but I preferred my first hotel by far. The State Plaza has large rooms, but is very outdated and could use some remodeling. All of the staff were very exceptional with the exception of a rude, accented man who I spoke to on the phone about where to park my car. Great location if you want to be near the National Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sarah williams
savannah, ga
Jul 15, 2013

Great place to stay!

My 20 year old son and I stayed at this hotel, and it was perfect for us. Two double beds. Very comfortable. Super accessible to the metro-about a four block walk. This hotel is not super fancy, but it was clean and comfortable. Had a kitchenette and a little dressing area. The restaurant only offers a buffet for breakfast, and it is a bit pricey, but it is convenient. Loved the area. If you are looking for a grand hotel experience, this is not your hotel. But, if you want a nice place to stay while in D.C. at an affordable price -- this is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the time and walk over to the water front. Great restaurants and atmosphere. We also took the time and walked over to the Georgetown area- well worth it.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gran 1
Clarksville, Tn
Jul 15, 2013

HOLDAY FUN!!!!

Had a great time!!!! Only issue we had to wait for approximately 30 minutes for check in time aflter the 3:00 check in time. Don't know why that was a problem as we had arrived early & left our bags & were told our room would be ready by 3:00. When we returned after 3:00 still wasn't ready so we waited approximately 30 more minutes for room to get ready. Other than that the rooms were clean & we were able to walk everywhere. We would stay here again.!!!! Everyone was very friendly!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the White House is approximately one mile with sights along the way!!!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pbpvol
Alabama
Jul 9, 2013

Perfect Hotel!

Had a one-week stay in December 2012 with my adult son and I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We arrived quite early so the front desk staff held our bags and provided a map with directions to some sights to visit in the area while our room was being prepared. We received a third-floor corner room that is larger than my son's college apartment! Nicely-appointed with comfortable beds and furniture as well as a full kitchen and two flatscreened TVs. Housekeeping staff kept our room immaculate and honored any extra request (i.e. extra coffee). The morning newspaper is a nice touch at your doorstep each day. The staff are helpful and willing to go the "extra mile." They even assisted me in printing our boarding pass when there were issues with a website. The hotel's location is perfect and we decided to walked to every event on our travel itinerary except a few times when the front desk quickly ordered a taxi for us. We never used the city bus, but there appears to be a bus stop across the street should you need it. Also a 24-hr CVS pharmacy is right next door. One evening, we ate in the hotel bistro and had a wide variety of choices. Our food was tasty and as good or better than other DC-area restaurants. To sum it up, if I had the option for 6 stars, I would use it! We WILL be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edward 007
NYC
Jul 9, 2013

great hotel

very good location, customer-friendly service with a pretty pleasant atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jahd
Nashville TN
Jul 5, 2013

Great place, great location

GREAT location, big comfortable room, helpful staff. The amenities are a bit dated, but that is probably what keeps this hotel affordable. I would certainly stay here again. Recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
moligushi
Mexico
Jul 3, 2013

GREAT STAFF, GREAT PLACE :)

You can walk to any of the famous places in Washington, D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search