$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
767 out of 767
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Future
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 21, 2014

Date But good for the buck

The hotel is old and they had not turned on the air conditioning yet. My room key did not initially work and I think someone allowed a pet to stay there cause it was whimpering all night. But, the hotel is great value and great location for the price. It's worth the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Autiiger
Business
South Carolina
Apr 17, 2014

Wonderful Five Nights

Location, location, location. Great area to tour memorials, near bus lines, and the metro. Staff was friendly and helpful when questioned about local buses. The room and premises were spotless. Restaurant was reasonably priced for DC and service and meal were great. Being an older hotel there were some issues with heating and air, but it was spring time and easy to deal with. Room was spacious with kitchenette and dressing area. BIG plus was the 24 hour CVS next door and Subway 2 blocks away. With a full size fridge, we could eat in the room or snack at will. We will definitely stay at The State Plaza again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take 31 bus to GW Metro to save time, money, and shine leather.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
foodiecc
Business
Los Angeles
Apr 15, 2014

Great location and very warm staff!

Excellent location, on GW campus. Close to good restaurants. Has room service. Somewhat limited hours of operation on restaurant. The staff is very helpful and warm. I have stayed here many times and I am always welcomed like an old friend by some staff members. Some rooms have kitchens. Newly renovated rooms don't have kitchens.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a CVS right next door so it's very convenient for snack, water bottles and any necessities you might have forgotten.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HGVO
Business
Houston, TX
Apr 8, 2014

Good location, nice hotel with functional separate kitchen area

Hotel has very nice staff from the reception desk to valet crew. I enjoyed the extra kitchen area, even I did not plan to cook but just a nice dinning area separate from the bedroom space. It had a full size fridge. good location, walking distance, 2 miles walking to most attractions. I had standard two queens and it was spacious. The only minor thing was shower, weak pressure and fluctuated shower water temperature, could be extremely hot. They turned off the A/C during my stay because outside was cold, but I still found it was warm in the room for a brief moment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TammyH
Business
Asheville, NC
Mar 31, 2014

Great Family Hotel

The staff was always helpful and its location was close enough to walk to most of our desired destinations. Its very close to the bus and Metro stops, but the best feature for our family was the real kitchen. After a day long day exploring the town we could just relax and enjoy a meal together.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Future
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 24, 2014

Good hotel Bit dated

This was a good hotel, bu the amenities were a bit dated. The deposit is cool only 60. Most other hotels are 150.00. Further, I parked on the street didn't have to pay for valet parking, which was great. Parking on the street is free on weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gimpy Grammy
Business
Middleton, Idaho
Feb 27, 2014

Washington D.C. trip

Just wonderful!! Thanks for finding that hotel for me!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DE Travel gnome
Business
19970
Feb 24, 2014

Business or Pleasure

The hotel is conveniently located near Foggy Bottom and The Kennedy Center in DC. The room I stayed in was a suite which included a kitchen, office area, bathroom and main living space. It was comfortable and spacious. Two things that keep me from giving a better rating are elevator location- it is up a short set of stairs and air-conditioning. I had trouble sleeping the first night because of the air-quality; although this might have been a personal problem?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JuanL
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 21, 2014

Comfy rooms and very kind service!

The hotel is simple, a little old, but the heart of the people running it is huge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magic Mike
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 12, 2014

Dated`

Stayed here for a night. The rooms are really roomy..and it is a great value..location is terrific...very close to metro and everything you would need. The only complaint is the look is quite dated...I felt like I was staying at my grandmothers...and she passed away years ago. If you can get past that...then you'll have a great time....although the look definitely needs some updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

F street Bistro is on the other side of the hotel...close and pretty good food.

Back to menu Return to top