$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

State Plaza Hotel

4 stars
View map of 2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
770 out of 770
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LuisBsAs
Friends
Buenos Aires
Dec 2, 2014

Very confortable

The kitchen gives you flixibility and the room size is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lynne614
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Nov 25, 2014

Not luxurious, but clean and well-located

I stayed here recently for 3 nights while in DC for work. If you're looking for a luxury hotel to relax in for long periods of time, this probably isn't the hotel for you. If you just need a safe and clean place to stay, this hotel is good choice. The hotel is old and rather dated, but is clean and the rooms are quite large, and have a full kitchen complete with kitchenware. Hotel staff come by with complimentary bottles of water each night. There is free wifi in the rooms, although it was slow at times. The hotel is well-located, only about a mile away from some of the monuments near the mall, and about a 10 minute walk from the Foggy Bottom metro stop. If you're visiting GWU, this hotel is perfectly-located. There is a 24-hour CVS right next store. There didn't seem to be a lot of restaurants in the immediate area, but there are a lot of quick food options on the GW campus. A few negatives: the water in the shower alternated randomly between hot and cold rather frequently. The hotel is two buildings, and in order to get to the other building you have to go outside briefly, and through a parking garage area, which isn't ideal in the cold or at night. The gym and restaurant are in one building, and the business center is in the other, so depending on which building you're in, you may have to go outside to get to the gym or restaurant. Overall, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
foodiecc
Family
Los Angeles
Oct 22, 2014

Great location!

Wonderful staff, warm and welcoming! Great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS next door and Whole Foods close by.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bellevue traveller
Family
Seattle
Sep 20, 2014

Very good Location

The hotel room was a one bedroom apartment with separate bedroom, living room and kitchen. It was very comfortable with our 1.5 year old. The overall décor is little dated, but overall location and comfort were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

24-hour CVS pharmacy and grocery is right next door.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Simple but good
Business
Mexico
Sep 5, 2014

Great place to work

This was a work trip to a location right across the street. Very comfortable bed, very clean, great table to work when I got back, friendly staff, dependable standard, I have stayed there before, kitchen, lots of space in the room, an iron for shirt and trousers, a good safe for documents, newspaper in the morning, nice old time style, great bathroom and shower, what more could I want, and I got an excellent rate. Just in this part of the city all other hotels are far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Main Washington attraction walkable from hotel. They start nearby, but In Washington they are dispersed over a fairly large area.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
foodiecc
Couples
Los Angeles
Sep 5, 2014

Great location!

Close to GW. Pleasant staff. Restaurant on premises but has limited hours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
zhaangty
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 29, 2014

lovely kitchen, nice hotel, worthwile

I know this hotel long before. Last time I booked this hotel but I failed to live in for the reason of heavy winter storm. Now I at last enjoy the nice room, convenient position and good price. I really hope you can try once and I think you will like it too. Especially, I like the lovely kitchen, you can cook your own breakfast as you wish. It is worthwhile of your living.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

near to Lincoln Memorial and Washington Monument, very close to Department of State, and other departments as well

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danny J.
Family
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Aug 29, 2014

Great Location

Within walking distance to the mall and monuments. Also within walking distance to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station and many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Piers
Single
London, United Kingdom
Aug 24, 2014

Comfortable hotel, good location, a bit bland

I had an enjoyable stay here. The room was very comfortable and well-appointed (with a kitchen two-room bathroom suite) and the big bed was amazingly comfortable. But it was otherwise a functional hotel - no bar and rather bland décor. The staff were very friendly and helpful, though I suspect there weren't enough of them in the kitchen - breakfast service was slow and the cooked food (for breakfast) was not good (burnt bacon and eggs). Otherwise great - a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is within reasonable distance of some good attractions (e.g. the White House, the Franklin Memorial) but expect to spend time on your feet. DC is full of government buildings and museum but restaurants and shops are not that easy to find nearby.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CiWei
Family
NewYork
Jul 29, 2014

good place to stay with family

This hotel location is good, it is near to the Lincoln Memorial, and near to George Washington University. The room is good for a family and you can prepare simple breakfast in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are several dinning places with walking distances.

Back to menu Return to top