$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

State Plaza Hotel

3 stars
2117 E Street N.W., Washington, DC 20037
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
864 reviews
Best Bed & Shower in Town

Best Bed & Shower in Town. Tonic Bar & Resturant is 50 yards away for a great meal. See full review

  • Patrick from Folly
  • Jul 1, 2014
Great location, super comfy

The State Plaza is within walking distance to all the major Washington attractions, the room was... See full review

  • Aussie Lou
  • Jun 16, 2014
Free shoeshine close to the White House at stylish Washington hotel
The State Plaza Hotel is situated on a leafy street just a short stroll from the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The hotel's location near the international and federal business districts makes it ideal for government or business guests. The spacious suites of the State Plaza Hotel have kitchens, desks, and high-speed internet. The helpful staff is always ready to advise guests about the hotel's services. The in-room spa services include facials and massages and there is also a fitness center on the premises. The Garden Cafe is an ideal venue for cocktails, dinner or lunch. For business guests, there is a 1,600 square foot meeting space consisting of three separate rooms, audiovisual equipment and tech support. For the leisure traveler, the hotel is close to national monuments, the White House, Georgetown University, the State Department, and Smithsonian Museums.
Reasons to stay
  • Ten minute walk to Foggy Bottom Metro Station
  • Catering, secretarial and planning staff available
  • Short walk to the World Bank, the National Academy of Sciences and the National Mall
State Plaza Hotel Rooms

The generous suites at the State Plaza Hotel offer guests plenty of room to move and feature unassuming yet tasteful decor with a full selection of amenities. There are 239 well-furnished and spacious suites with fully fitted kitchens. There are eat-in kitchens in the 172 classic state room suites which have either a queen and a king bed, or two queen beds. The 17 junior suites feature sleeper sofas and sitting rooms, and the 41 plaza suites have a dining area, living room and kitchen. The plaza suites have one queen bed, one king bed or two queen beds, as well as a couch.

Things to do nearby
  • George Washington University (0.2 mi/0.4 km)
  • National Academy of Sciences (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.3 mi/0.6 km)
  • John F. Kennedy Performing Arts Center (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Vietnam Veteran's Memorial (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • National Mall (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Lincoln Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Georgetown (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • World War II Memorial (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • The White House (0.6 mi/0.9 km)

Hotel Map

38.896 -77.0468
Area served
Washington DC- Foggy Bottom Area
Nearby airports
Reagan National Airport (8 mi NE) Dulles International Airport (40 mi NE).
Area description
The State Plaza is located in fashionable Foggy Bottom, the hub of the federal and international business district. Our distinguished address is convenient to a myriad of local attractions: for the business and leisure traveler alike. (Smithsonian Museums, The State Department,The White House, National Monuments, Georgetown University and many more attractions within walking distance from the hotel.)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed State Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

State Plaza Hotel Rooms

Stateroom Suite:Two queen beds
This incomparably spacious guest suite features two queen-sized beds. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary..
Stateroom Suite:One king or queen bed
This incomparably spacious guest suite features a king-or queen-sized bed. Each Suite is thoughtfully appointed with a kitchen, executive writing desk, lighted dressing table, and full bath, high speed internet access is complimentary.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Handicapped parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Department of State: 0.2 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.3 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Vietnam Veterans Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Kennedy Center For Performing Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Blair House: 0.5 mi
  • Lincoln Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.5 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.5 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.5 mi
  • Watergate Complex: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.6 mi
  • Korean War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.6 mi
  • District of Columbia War Memorial: 0.6 mi
  • West Potomac Park: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.8 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.8 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.9 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Franklin D Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Theodore Roosevelt Memorial: 0.9 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Tidal Basin: 1 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 1 mi
  • Holocaust Memorial Museum: 1 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 1 mi
  • Blues Alley: 1 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 1 mi
  • Bureau of Engraving and Printing: 1.1 mi
  • Phillips Collection: 1.1 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Dumbarton House: 1.1 mi
  • Jefferson Memorial: 1.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our dedication to the tradition of quality, service and value is exemplified by the expertise with which we will host your meeting, banquet or conference. The State Plaza Hotel boasts three separate meeting rooms, with a combined total of 1600 feet of space accomodating up to 120 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (864)

Ratings and reviews for State Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
864 out of 864
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ardeidae
Oregon, USA
Jan 15, 2013

Month in DC

We spent a month in Washington DC, seeing the sites and using the hotel as a base of operations. Its located close to the Metro and a few places to eat. The hotel is old, needs to have the rest rooms updated (urine smell). The staff is amazing they work hard and provide excellent service. On site resturant is ok, nothing special, food quality can be random. The room is advertised as having a kitchen, but you must ask for a microwave, there is limited dishes and nothing to cook with. Would not recommend if you expect to use the kitchen. Overall not somewhere I would recommend staying beyond two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
markjenv
Sydney
Jan 8, 2013

Great location

Served our purpose. Older hotel but clean. Great location to explore the Washington monuments. Close to Foggy Bottom metro and Whole Foods store. Was given free wifi. Parking fee is $28 + tax, cheaper than most. Nice n friendly front desk staff, Katleen n Manuel. Unfortunately same can't be said for the rest esp the housekeeping staff that delivered the microwave.... Very unpleasant man... For the price n location, will recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Mom13
South Jersey
Jan 3, 2013

Great location with all amenities we need

This is a great value hotel! It is so close to the White House and Mall area if you want to sightseeing those places. We particularly love the full kitchen, the comfortable queen size bed with the great support pillows. The room was kept very clean. My two kids enjoyed their stays as much as us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cost Conscious Dad
RI
Jan 2, 2013

Good value, close to attractions

Our family of 4 stopped in DC on the way back north for New Years Eve and Day. My thought was that crowds would be thin, and they were. Wanted a hotel that we could walk to attractions from. State Plaza is an old hotel, built long front to back on a city block. If you are a frequent traveler with your family and accustomed to the hotel chains with the spacious lobbies and breakfast bars, this is very different. This is an old-style, city hotel, with a concierge and bellhops, eager to assist you in any way. The room was spacious, and included a small kitchen with stove, full-sized fridge, and coffee maker; no microwave. Bathroom included a separate "powder room" where one person could dress while another showered. Lots of room for 2 adults and 2 children. Fixtures are all old, but everything worked fine; TV a modern flatscreen. Beds were comfortable. WiFi included. Rooms were VERY CLEAN! Parking was valet and cost extra (as is the case with most in the city). There was a decent fitness room, no pool. Restaurant on-site, but we did not use. 24-hr drug/convenience store and liquor store next-door, coffee and sandwich shops close by. Staff was very professional, service excellent. Hotel is close to Lincoln Memorial; a healthy walk from museums. Cabs, buses, subway all close by though. A good value for a family. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

If you are making a day of the museums, look for the clock tower behind the Museum of Nat. History. There is an excellent food court in the lower level for lunch and /or dinner at reasonable prices.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
evilone
Wisconsin
Jan 2, 2013

exploring the museums and us history

It was a very pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was convenient. CVS right next door. Easy walk to the mall or subway. Kitchenette was an unexpected and useful surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Loo's
Hollywood Florida
Jan 2, 2013

State Plaza is awesome!

This was a great option for our holiday trip. Truthfully, I selected State Plaza Hotel because the package was cost effective while traveling with our 2 granddaughters, but we loved it. State Plaza is in a great location, very comfortable and the full kitchen was a wonderful surprise. Best of all was the service! Everyone in every shift was warm, friendly and went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We commend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Visit "Cosi" restaurant on King Street in Alexandria. Great for kids and food tastes good!! Have the Smores for dessert!!!

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
peterlein
Miramar, Florida
Jan 1, 2013

vacationing in DC

The bedroom was spacious, but the kitchen lacked of a microwave and no utensils to cook. Had only one time breakfast there (stayed 5 days), but it was completely expensive in relation to what was available. Carpet looks old (should be changed). I had to change once towels, because they were dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garfelda
Pensacola Florida
Dec 23, 2012

Very Convenient

Excellent Hotel , Good location. The room was very clean, large, and well appointed. I would stay there again. There is a $28..00 plus 18% tax for one night parking. I guess this is normal for the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Girl Bus Driver
Houston Texas
Dec 5, 2012

Enjoyed my stay

My room had a powder room, a kitchen and a dining area, I was surprised and impressed. The room was very clean, the pillows were fluffy and there were plenty of channels to choose from. The gentleman at the desk was nice enough to help me set up the free wi fi on my tablet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Actually I wouldn't call it short, I would say it's a medium walk to the White House from the hotel. So much to see. City is super clean. Hotel is across the street from George Washington Univ. You almost won't know it's there, the students are so quiet.

Review of State Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Midwest Student
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Nov 19, 2012

Good, affordable hotel for DC stay

It's conveniently located near Foggy-Bottom station (about 5 mins of walk), but it felt like there weren't enough places to eat nearby even in the GWU campus area. The CVS nearby the store and the kitchen in the suite room made it more convenient to eat my own breakfast. The liquor store near the hotel was also a bonus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search