$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

4 stars
View map of 2033 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20036

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
456 out of 456
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zach P
Business
Washington DC
Mar 10, 2010

Not bad for the price.

The front desk staff was very helpful, pleasant, and attentive to my needs, although the valet service could use some improving. The rooms are clean and could use a remodel, but was otherwise well appointed. My GF and me had restless nights as the mattress wasn't very supportive. These guys could take a cue from The Marriott. The Marriott does it right when it comes to sleep! But overall things went very well. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that is seeking a great and clean location at a wonderful price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and awesome nightlife are just a short walk around the corner...no need for a cab unless you are wearing uncomfortable shoes.

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Mar 15, 2010

Nice Place, Nice Location, SLOW Service

The hotel was very nice and the location was great. Water pressure was great as well. The service was incredible slow and the hotel employees seemed fine with that: I had to find and wake-up the front desk guy when I came in at 1:00am because nobody was around to park my car. The valet at $30/day generally took 15-25 minutes to retrieve your car even during slow times. All of the employees in general appeared to be very nonchalant and unmotivated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Dined at a place called Savour Adams Morgan which was excellent service and food plus we had a free $50 off $100 total bill (including alcohol) from restaurants.com from booking with [...].

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
May 28, 2009

Not very luxury

broken closet slide door broken toilet roll dispenser half of bathroom lights out no bathroom exhaust fan small rooms unergonomic chairs with desks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to Georgetown

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, md
Mar 15, 2011

trip to georgetown

the hotel was nice, and it was wonderful to enjoy a lot of the sites and all the things DC has to offer. I was not to impressed with the cost of parking, I believe the fees were just a tad to expensive. But I guess being in DC what else can you expect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Georgetown

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ladybusinesstraveler
Business
Virginia, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Starving Tourist

While the room was clean and well decorated, arriving in a storming rain at 6 PM on Labor Day, I found that there was no way to get a meal or drink in this four star "luxury" Hotel. The posted price for the room was $650.00 per night/per person, and all I could think was "whom are you kidding." The view was of a brick wall, but the worst was truly no food or drink after a long car ride in driving rain. The front desk provided me with some take-out restaurant menues, and out of four choices, only one Pizza place answered the telephone and eventually delivered a mediocre, yet much appreciated, pizza. The Hotel was advertised as having a Restaurant, and I would think that as long as guests are in the Hotel, the Restaurant shoud be open. I would not stay at the St. Gregoy again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg Pa
Jul 27, 2011

What do you mean parking fee?

Hotel: OK. When we got there my husband sat in the car while I checked in. I asked about parking and they said just give us your keys and we will park it in our garage. Fair enough. Untill we checked out only to find I was charged $32 dollars per day. There are parking lots all around that area $10- $15 per day. This was never disclosed to me and the manager had a "sorry about your luck" attitude. For this reason I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

I would go to Georgetown.

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bleh.
Business
NYC, NY
Jan 26, 2011

Eh.

On business, first time in DC. Great location. Had someone barge into my room checking to see if the honor bar was touched...I had been there for an hour. Knocked and walked in immed. Apologized and stood in my doorway for about a minute yapping... Don't bother upgrading if offered. The breakfast isn't worth it. Room service is even worse. You have to pay for internet; land line or wireless. The rooms are clean but boring. TV's are old. Bedside lamp was broken. There was a gentleman named Christopher that worked behind the counter. He was fantastic. A true gent & was great at what he did. Other than that, the staff was friendly (even the guy who yapped in the doorway after barging in) but I would not stay there again. No bang for the buck. At all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I Ricchi. Best Italian around. Hands down.

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2007

Clean; horrible front desk staff

Arrived at 12pm (3 hours before technical check-in) and told room would be ready soon (by 2pm). I came back at 3:30pm; room not ready; told a little while longer. 4:30pm room not ready; told them it was inexcusable; asked how i would be compensated; told with nothing. Front desk people have no idea about sales or much professionalism / insuring customer satisfaction or loyalty. I demanded to talk to manager (he was in a meeting?). I called the desk from the lobby! and demanded a room; finally received room at 5pm. Manager still apparently busy; they later send up two bottles of cheap water. This is nothing close to what a 4 star hotel is supposed to be. I will never stay there again or recommend any else staying there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 9, 2010

Great location and nice hotel

Hotel staff was very informative about metro and local dining. Unfortunately we had to leave a day early due to family emergency and was unable to be refunded (if we booked direct with the hotel they would not have charged us for the 3rd night)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Waterfront dining in Georgetown is a 10 min walk

Review of St. Gregory Luxury Hotel and Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Melbourne, FL
Nov 29, 2010

Not a bad place to be

We just returned from a 6 night stay in D.C. at the St. Gregory. I booked the room there based on the proximity to the metro, restaurants and DuPont Circle. I also considered reviews I've read and particularly the price, as it was a long stay. This is my 3rd hotel stay in D.C., each at different places. My experience at the St. Gregory is that it was well-located and clean, but rather a disappointingly average room and decor. Not a "wow" kind of place by any means. The statue of Marilyn Monroe smack in the middle of the small lobby is kind of a puzzle, but the staff was pleasant enough and seemed relatively efficient. We ate at the M Street Cafe (attached to the hotel lobby) one time and it was so-so. We preferred catching breakfast at Cosi or Freshii just down the block. The TV in our room was old school, not a nice flat panel, and the closet configuration meant that if one person was in the closet, then the TV screen was blocked. Our shower had very little water pressure, but hot water was never a problem. I thought the mattresses had seen better days and needed to be upgraded. I would try a different hotel next time, but the rate was fair and was cheaper than most anything in the immediate area for this particular week. I suppose we got what we paid for and it worked out fine, it just wasn't anything special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't miss the Newseum, even though it may sound like it isn't that interesting. It's fascinating and the tickets are good for 2 days. Get there early and start on the 6th floor and work your way down. We skipped the intro film and I don't think we missed much. The food is surprisingly good, so staying the whole day and not rushing through is very doable. Awesome view from the 6th floor deck.

Back to menu Return to top