$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hills Vlg
May 22, 2008

Great place to stay in DC

The Sofitel was very nice. Great downtown location is just the start. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and most surprisingly for a large city...QUITE! I will stay there every chance I have when traveling back to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Best Place in DC!

This was our first trip to Washington D.C. and we were so lucky to pick the perfect hotel - the Sofitel Lafayette Square. This is a first rate hotel in the best walking location to all the sites. Two blocks from the Whitehouse and 4 blocks from the Washington Mall. The room, staff, restaurant and food were excellent. Service was A+ with nice little extras! Also close to outside restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend and will definitely stay there again next time we're in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
May 29, 2007

Very friendly staff

The Sofitel Lafayette is one of the best hotels that we have ever had the pleasure to visit. The staff was so friendly--eveyone from the front desk at check in to the concierge to the bellman to the housekeepers. The staff was also very accomodating. They were so nice and friendly to our children. Each person would speak every time they saw us. They really made you feel welcome. The location was great. A metro stop was one block behind us. The rooms were always very clean and well supplied. I would definitely stay here again if we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many places to eat withing walking distance of the hotel. The best restaurant was actually right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 19, 2007

French Luxury

The hotel was very nice, well maintained, with very friendly staff. I was greeted promptly at the front desk and checked in within a few minutes. They somehow even had the ability to upgrade me a room catagory. The room itself was modest in size but perfect for my needs. The office desk was well set up for using my laptop and storing assorted conference materials. The walls were very well insulated, so I had no issues with street traffic waking me up, even though I was only on 5th floor and there was construction less than a block away. The bed was a delight, so that along with the great black out drapes assured a great nite sleep every night. The only downside was the bathroom floor, if you can believe it. They had such good quality marble, and it was glossed to such a high level that it was a hazard. Barefoot or in slippers, it didnt matter. I almost fell several times. Its a good thing Im 30 something rather than 80 something or I could have actually been hurt. Expensive but very nice, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are at least two CVS within walking distance of the hotel. I used those to stock up on drinks and snacks, rather than burning up money on the honor bar in the hotel room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2008

great hotel

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It's perfect location, impeccable cleanliness and tremendous friendliness made it a perfect weekend. Sizeable rooms, beautiful bathrooms and attentive service.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown DC,....perfect for everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 31, 2008

Great location

The Sofitel is located near the White House and popular monuments. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable and had many amenities. We were dissatisfied with the check-in. We arrived early (1:15 PM) and check-in is at 3:00. I have to say the Concierge, was the best. He couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a breakfast/deli at one corner and a Starbucks at the other.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 2, 2008

Awesome Location

We stayed 5 nights and truly enjoyed our location. There was a great deli on the corner-Loebs?-, the White House was just 2 blocks away and 15th Street was a short walk to the mall and all of the museums, Wash monument, etc. The staff was very efficient. We ordered room service twice and were pleased with the meals. Metro Station was just two blocks away too. A very convenient location. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, WI
Aug 26, 2009

Great place to stay

This is the best hotel we have ever visited. From the instant we arrived at the Sofitel, until we departed, we had a superlative stay. The service was world class and the food was amazing. Our room was picture perfect and very clean. The location to downtown DC is excellent. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit. This place gets a perfect 10 from us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to Washington DC sites.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston
Sep 29, 2008

Best taste of France in DC

The Sofitel was a great experience for a week's visit in DC. The room had a very comfortable king-size bed, great bath amenities and excellent bar/restaurant. The check-in staff did everything possible to accommodate my needs for my requested hotel room and were very helpful in finding me ground transportation around the city. The restaurant staff assisted me in planning a great birthday dinner for my partner with a moment's notice. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

National Capitol and White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lenoir City, TN
Jul 5, 2010

Great central location for everything.

We stayed at the Sofitel at Lafayette Square for six nights. The rooms, service and quality of the hotel were excellent. The consigliere was a great help in locating all the sights, good restaurants and the fastest and easiest way to to see as mujch as possible. I would greatly recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are numerous good Reataurants close to the Hotel. we Were never more than a few blocks from three, Four and Five star Restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top