$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Pfeiffer
Business
Nogales, Arizona
May 12, 2014

Excellent Service

We had a wonderful time at Sofitel. Their staff made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you for making our stay so special. We will definitive are staying in Sofitel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A Short walk to the 'W' to have drinks and party all night!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 8, 2007

so nice to return to after a hard day of touristing

Everything was very well done. The room was comfortable and classy, not large but so well done it didn't seem to matter. We were in Washington DC to see the sights and when we returned to the room it felt good to relax there. The glass shower seperate from the tub was great and awesome towels. The decorating was classy in a nice modern way without being showy. Very comfortable bed after a day of beating the DC streets and sights. One and a half blocks from the White House and two blocks from the Metrorail. Easy to get to about anywhere. The staff was courteous and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a Metrorail pass and get to 90% of everything you want to see in DC with in two blocks of the hotel. No need to rent a car.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 7, 2007

Very interesting hotel

Frenchies in holidays ,we are stayed two nights at the hotel!All was perfect, rooms, staff, check in and out and location! Near all the most important place of the town ,It's very easy to visit White House, Washington monument and all the Mall! We are very enjoy and come back surely in this place!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent restaurant into the hotel with an exiting terrasse outdoor when weather is fine! Great!!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento
Sep 12, 2008

Great Capitol Location

The Washington D. C. Sofitel Hotel was everything you would expect from a five-star property. From the greeting we received from staff as we arrived, to the helpful assistance offered by the same staff upon departure, our stay in Washington was a memorable occassion because of our stay there. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, we were staying in the very heart of the city. From there, we were able to walk to The Mall and other places of interest, including DuPont Circle. Our accommodations were quiet, roomy, and first rate: Cozy, comfortable bed, large HDTV, and very spacious and well-appointed bathroom with separate shower. Although the hotel had its own restaurant, we chose to take advantage of several other fine establishments in close proximity. Without question, we will again plan to stay at Hotel Sofitel on our next trip to Washington D. C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit all of the sights available...and they are plentiful: The Whte House, Ford's Theatre, the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, the War Veterans'Memorials, the Jefferson and Roosevelt Memorials, the Holocuast Museum, the Smithsoneum Museums and the Capitol Building. ALL within a short distance of the hotel.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cherry Hills Vlg
May 22, 2008

Great place to stay in DC

The Sofitel was very nice. Great downtown location is just the start. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and most surprisingly for a large city...QUITE! I will stay there every chance I have when traveling back to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Best Place in DC!

This was our first trip to Washington D.C. and we were so lucky to pick the perfect hotel - the Sofitel Lafayette Square. This is a first rate hotel in the best walking location to all the sites. Two blocks from the Whitehouse and 4 blocks from the Washington Mall. The room, staff, restaurant and food were excellent. Service was A+ with nice little extras! Also close to outside restaurants and shopping. Highly recommend and will definitely stay there again next time we're in D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
May 29, 2007

Very friendly staff

The Sofitel Lafayette is one of the best hotels that we have ever had the pleasure to visit. The staff was so friendly--eveyone from the front desk at check in to the concierge to the bellman to the housekeepers. The staff was also very accomodating. They were so nice and friendly to our children. Each person would speak every time they saw us. They really made you feel welcome. The location was great. A metro stop was one block behind us. The rooms were always very clean and well supplied. I would definitely stay here again if we come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were many places to eat withing walking distance of the hotel. The best restaurant was actually right across the street.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 19, 2007

French Luxury

The hotel was very nice, well maintained, with very friendly staff. I was greeted promptly at the front desk and checked in within a few minutes. They somehow even had the ability to upgrade me a room catagory. The room itself was modest in size but perfect for my needs. The office desk was well set up for using my laptop and storing assorted conference materials. The walls were very well insulated, so I had no issues with street traffic waking me up, even though I was only on 5th floor and there was construction less than a block away. The bed was a delight, so that along with the great black out drapes assured a great nite sleep every night. The only downside was the bathroom floor, if you can believe it. They had such good quality marble, and it was glossed to such a high level that it was a hazard. Barefoot or in slippers, it didnt matter. I almost fell several times. Its a good thing Im 30 something rather than 80 something or I could have actually been hurt. Expensive but very nice, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There are at least two CVS within walking distance of the hotel. I used those to stock up on drinks and snacks, rather than burning up money on the honor bar in the hotel room.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 9, 2008

great hotel

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It's perfect location, impeccable cleanliness and tremendous friendliness made it a perfect weekend. Sizeable rooms, beautiful bathrooms and attentive service.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

downtown DC,....perfect for everything

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Mar 31, 2008

Great location

The Sofitel is located near the White House and popular monuments. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable and had many amenities. We were dissatisfied with the check-in. We arrived early (1:15 PM) and check-in is at 3:00. I have to say the Concierge, was the best. He couldn't have been more helpful or pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a breakfast/deli at one corner and a Starbucks at the other.

Back to menu Return to top