$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Old world service

We were greeted in the reception area by the most attentive receptionist I have had in this... See full review

  • Oaksland
  • Aug 23, 2014
Fantastic hotel

I will definitely go back. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. See full review

  • JRNY
  • Aug 11, 2014
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Sofitel Washington D.C. Lafayette Square is located in an updated historic landmark built in 1880. Its elegant furnishings, art pieces and interior appointments cement its classy reputation. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. It serves upscale French bistro cuisine and homemade pastries for breakfast and dessert. Guests can mingle at one of D.C.'s best bars, Le Bar. The bar's glamorous atmosphere goes well with high-end cocktails, such as the Napoleon martini. There is a multi-lingual staff.

Highlights
  • Oversized rooms and suites have a modern Art Deco theme
  • Located steps away from the White House in a historic building
  • Boasts one of the best D.C. bars, Le Bar
Location
The hotel is one block from the White House in downtown D.C., close to Dupont Circle and numerous restaurants and attractions.
Rooms

There are 237 oversized rooms and suites with a modern Art Deco theme and a historic feel. They include plasma TVs, work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, minibar, phones with voicemail and marble bathrooms. Guests appreciate the original artwork and fresh flowers in the rooms. Suites have a separate living room.

Features
The hotel is in a prime location on Lafayette Square. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, serves upscale French bistro cuisine made with local ingredients. The restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and guests should not miss the freshly baked pastries. The hotel has a fitness center. Valet parking and private indoor parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • The White House (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • The National Mall (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Union Station (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.7 mi/ 1 km)
Business
  • Business center with support staff
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Translating/interpreting service
  • 5,896 square feet of event space
Policies and fees
  • High-bandwidth wired internet access is available at $16.95 USD per day
  • Overnight valet parking costs $46 USD + tax per day.
  • Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9005 -77.034
Nearby airports
IAD, (IAD), 41.84, KM, W; BWI, (BWI), 51.49, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square also booked these hotels.

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 Double beds, Large Working Area , City View. 450sq.ft or 42sqm/Marble bath w/separate shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/High speed access/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROLLAWAY Amenities. Crib upon req
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size Bed, Living Room, Wo rk Area, Large bathroom. At least 475sq.ft (44sqm) Spacious 1 bedroom with 1 separate living room. Large desk with 2-line phone and voicemail, High-speed internet. LCD TV. Bathroom with separate glass encl
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Prestige Suite with king-size bed and separatel iving room,. At least 600 sq. ft (56 m²) spacious bedroom & separate living room. Large desk with 2-line phone & voicemail, high-speed Internet. LCD TV. Bathroom w/ separate glass-enclosed shower & bathtub
2 Db beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 2 Double beds, Working Area. 400sq.ft or 37sqm/Marble bath w/separate glass enclosed shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/HSIA/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROL Amenities. Crib upon request.Connecting roo
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Working Area. 370sq.ft or 34 sqm/Marble bath w/separate glass enclosed shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/HSIA/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROL amenities. Crib upon request. Connecting
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed,Large Working Are a, City View. 400sq.ft or 37sqm/Marble bath w/separate shower/2-phone lines/Minibar/LCD TV/AirCond/Dataport/High speed access/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron.ROLLAWAY UPON REQUEST. Crib upon re

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi

Dining

ICI URBAN BISTRO
ICI Urban Bistro offers a fresh and contemporary twist on traditional French bistro cuisine. Offering French comfort food using the best local ingredients, ICI Urban Bistro provides patrons with the perfect place to mix, mingle, share and enjoy.
LE BAR
Le Bar is located at the entrance to the hotel on the left. Le Bar is open from 10 a.m. until midnight from Monday to Sunday. Complimentary coffee and tea is available from 6.30 a.m. until 10 a.m. every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ghisi
Montreal
May 21, 2014

Five star hotel but with negative issues!

The really good aspects include its location to monuments, the overall quality of the site, the comfort of the beds and pillows, the large bathrooms, the friendly staff and the free WI-Fi. Quite a good list, to be sure. Not so good, however, especially for the money, are the less than generous sized rooms, the lack of storage for your clothes, the single sink and reduced space for toiletries, the large desk cut down in size for the TV and the absence of a coffee machine in the room replaced by low-end free coffee down in the bar (not so convenient when you're waking up!). It seems designed for a single business traveller, one who doesn't need much desk space! One suggestion: have breakfast elsewhere...it's very expensive for very ordinary quality! Two Lattes for $15 is just not worth the money. Rather typical for quality hotels, but it creates the sense of being taken advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
d.a.d.
Georgetown, Maine
Aug 31, 2010

Not the service you would expect!

Arrived at midnight. Was greeted and then asked to wait a second. Staff came back and said "we are sorry but we had a water leak and will put you up in a 5 star hotel" After I voiced my concern that we chose for the location and didn't want to be further from our next day appointment. I was asured that it was only (1) block over & (1) block up. Not so (about a total of 5 blocks off)and when we did get to the hotel unlike the Sofilet the resturant was closed so we couldn't get anything to eat. Sofiltiel never asked me if I wanted them to get me another or where the other hotel would best suit me. AND THEY NEVER ONCE SAID THAY WE SORRY FOR THE INCONVIENCE. The hotel they booked us in was much less in cost then what I paid to [...] by more than $75.00. Somebody made money on us. For that reason I will go back to my local Travel agent because I know she would have handlded it much better. Also I booked the supper shutle from Regan Nat'l to Lafayette Square it took over one hour (in traffic at 11:00 PM (not much traffic) very slow in getting them selved organized to take customer. Soo bad that when we went to return to the airport we forfieted the prepaid super shuttle for a taxi. It was $15.00 less . [...]. Would like a price adjustment!! How about it [...]????? You have my number call me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Carriere
Sep 16, 2008

When we first arrived, ...

When we first arrived, check in was fine. When we were shown to our room, the first thing noticeable was that the carpet was heavily stained. Every day when showering there was a huge puddle of water that came from the bottom of the shower which apparently needed repairs. The maid did not do a good job of cleaning the room daily. The room especially, and the hotel is in need of several upgrades. Over all the room and area is ok, but not for the price we paid. No telephone books in the rooms for the guests to look through and find other dining or entertainment options and when asked for one, was told not available in the hotel. Staff would not recommend other dining facilities other than the hotel resturant. No vending machines in the hotel, only the over priced bar in your room. They are forcing guests to use their restaurant. We had a good stay in Washington, but we felt we way overpaid for the hotel. Would have liked to try some of the local restaurants, but had to depend on the cab drivers to refer us to good dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is in close proximity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank Jones
Cleveland, Oh
Nov 12, 2012

Not worth the money!

The room was extremly small and pricey. The gym was small and If you are over sixfoot like me you can not use the eliptical machine because your head will hit the ceiling. If your gonna spend the cash go to the W otherwise save a few bucks and stay at the Hyatt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average tourist
Ann Arbor, MI
May 6, 2010

general review

We spent a week in DC to visit the sights and enjoy the city. Our hotel was located in a good spot and the staff were friendly and helpful. The elevators were the fastest we have ever experienced, a superlative point for the hotel. Our room was very dark; we had to request extra lamps to be able to read and the bed had just a sheet and heavy cover so we were either hot or cold. A request for a light blanket was not responded to. I don't know that we would ever stay there again but it was not a terrible experience either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took busses all over DC..all very convenient and inexpensive. Cabs are quite expensive and the subway was massively crowded and oppressive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dub C
West Cheser, PA
Jul 22, 2014

Nice spot, but nothing special

We went for the weekend. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, but there is no reason to return. The lobby was average but small, the king room was adequate size, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the hallway smelled funny. We were in DC with plenty of awesome restaurants, so we didn't eat at the hotel -consequenlty, no food review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
31012
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Nice hotel, difficult to locate

The hotel was very nice, but difficult to find. The hotel name was hidden and when we actually found it, we drove by it a few times trying to find the front of the building and the valet parking. There were no staff members waiting outside to assist you. The valet parking was ridiculously overpriced. $45 for one night is an outrage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHORT BUT GREAT VISIT
Florida, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Great location and staff

Very impressed from the moment I arrived when they opened the front door - quick check-in - very attentive staff - rarely had to open the front door. Although price was similar, this was a much better place to stay than the Hyatt Regency on New Jersey. Location was as good as it gets - visited 11 museums in three days and, except for the Kreeger, was able to walk to them all. Very nice rooms with tub & shower. Highly recommend. Five minor issues: I paid extra for a city view - the only view was of the American Bar Assoc. bldg., no store/gift shop, the ice machine on my floor was broken, no refrig/microwave and there was an extra fee for internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you appreciate paintings from the impressionist era do not miss the Phillips Collection - their people are great - a nice walk - just off Dupont Circle and you get a nice view of the embassy area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy engaged couple
Orlando, FL
Jan 31, 2010

Great Washington DC weekend getaway

This hotel was in a fantastic location for all tourist activities in Washington DC. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. Very close to the metro station and some great local restaurants which were only found due to recommendation from the extremely helpful Concierge. Perfect for a touristy weekend away for any couple. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

always ask the Concierge as they know great places withing walking distance to suit all tastes and all price ranges.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2009

Sofitel Washington, D.C.

When we arrived, we found that we were not given the lowest rate but could not change the rate because we booked through Orbitz. I was not happy about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kati's Mom
Millersburg, Ohio
Oct 3, 2009

Great hotel and location!

The Sofitel is perfectly located by the DC sites -- Whitehouse and the National Mall. The Metro is a block and a half away at the McPherson stop. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Besides sightseeing, we also visited with our nephew who lives in Adams Morgan, so we did have our own "personal guide". There were only a couple of little things I would have like to have seen, and that was thicker washclothes and brighter lighting in the bathroom and entrance way and a larger clothes hanging area in the closet. The washclothes were rather thin. There was not much room in the closet to hang clothes for two people. The closet was at the entry way which had a small spot light shining onto the floor. The little things would not keep us away though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ebbitt Grill is maybe about 1/2 mile away, with excellent food at very reasonable prices. The Sofitel restaurant and bar also have excellent food, although a little more pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search