$178 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 26, 2015 Check-out: Jun 29, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oaksland
Business
Asheville, NC
Aug 23, 2014

Old world service

We were greeted in the reception area by the most attentive receptionist I have had in this country! After confirming our identity, the receptionist actually walked us to the elevator and asked us to call if she could do anything to make our stay more enjoyable. Each time we walked toward the exit door It was opened by a doorman who asked if we needed a cab----and each time we tipped him for hailing a cab, he sincerely thanked me. This staff could be used to train others! The hotel was nice, ideally located near the White House but it is the attention to detail by the staff that makes the hotel truly extraordinary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The White House is beautiful at night and is the perfect distance for an after dinner walk.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
david A.
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Location style and value

Sofitel is a top end marque in the Accor group All classes of hotel in the group offer good value and Sofitel is no exception Great reception, VERY comfortable bed with a featherbed on top of the mattress. Good size room with excellent bathroom Two blocks to White House so great for walking to Mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Mall, its museums and White House a 5 minute

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hamida
Business
Garland
Apr 9, 2015

Great Location and Customer Services

Stephanie was cheerful and a pleasure to check in with. All staff personnel were happy and helpful. This is a great location which allowed us to walk nearly everywhere. I loved my stay, will consider this hotel again when travelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katherine m.
Business
brooklyn
Apr 19, 2015

Lovely stay for conference

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center. By far, the nicest hotel in the area. Easy to get to, warm and comfortably elegant. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bri B.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Business Trip

I was not as awed as I expected to be of the hotel lobby, but my room absolutely blew me away! The room exceeded my expectations and made up for the dated lobby/bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crystal A.
Business
Jacksonville
Apr 15, 2015

Great choice

Came here for a girls' trip and the cherry blossom festival. Really can't say enough great things about the hotel and staff. Every single staff member was polite and helpful. Seriously, all of them smiled and did everything to make our stay perfect. The concierge even gives you free bottles of water if you ask. Room was spotless, the shower stuff smelled fantastic, and the towels were enormous. The restaurant downstairs was not my taste (escargot and such) but the deli across the street (called Devon and blakely's?) was exquisite for breakfast and lunch and Georgia Browns is around the corner for dinner. Georgia Brown's had the best she crab soup and fried chicken I've ever tasted and the drinks were all super delicious-especially the sangria. We were so impressed, we went there two nights in a row. Anyway, hotel location is perfect. Right around the corner from the White House and a stop on most of the tour buses. The metro station is a few blocks away but the walk isn't bad. Plenty of restaurants and a CVS nearby. The stuff that comes in the fridge is super expensive ($10 for gummy bears?!) so plan ahead and hit up the CVS for snacks and drinks. overall, A+ rating for the Sofitel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael from Daytona
Business
Daytona, FL
Nov 26, 2014

Great family trip

Everything about this hotel, and the staff was exceptional. Will stay with them again when we return to DC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 15, 2007

Great staff/location to the mall and metro

The hotel was very comfortable. The hotel is not cheap but very little is in Washington, DC. Would we stay there again...Yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always take the Metro and if you plan to be there >= 3 days purchase the pass for unlimited use for seven days. When we were there in 9/07 it was only $22.00.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Person on Vacation
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Lovely stay at the Sofitel

We flew in on a red eye and were able to check our bags with the front desk. Check in is listed as 3 PM, but they were able to get us a room by 11 AM! The staff is wonderful, breakfast lovely and the room very comfortable. The location is very convenient (right behind the White House). We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the National Mall.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Triman
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Sep 14, 2009

outstanding experience

Our experience was wonderful. The staff, room, comfort, and location were superb. We were in Washington DC to attend the 9-12 Taxpayer March and the location was absolutely perfect. The bed provided the most comfortable and restful sleep -- and (I) travel all over the country. There is no comparison to the Washington DC Mandarin Oriental where we stayed in April. The only objection to Cheap tickets arrangements would be not to arrange transportation because it was only available by voucher and we still had to call to make reservations. Next time, we will make local transportation separately from Cheap Tickets and conduct business directly with the local transportation company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like cigars, Shelly's Back Room is a must! They have an excellent cigar menu with a local relaxed and affordable tavern-style restaurant with quick attentive service.

Back to menu Return to top