$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MN travellers
Business
Minnesota
Aug 19, 2013

Comfortable and affordable boutique hotel

Luxurious bed and linnens, marble bath. Very quiet but posh. Attentive staff. Phenomenal location. We were very impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Old Ebbets Grill and Founding Farmers - both amazing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hot Chick
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 17, 2014

Absolutely Will Return!

From the moment we walked through the front door until we left, our stay at the Sofitel was an amazing experience. The hotel staff was courteous, kind and helpful. Our room was immaculate and the beds were nothing short of heavenly. It was a great location both for walking and the metro. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill was a great place for dinner--just be sure to make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larry gmen fan
Business
Conway, S.C.
Jul 26, 2009

monument, holocust

We were there for a long weekend. The food at the resturant was excellent. The bed was VERY combfortable. Very close to the Metro too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SAN FRANCISCO
May 14, 2010

WONDERFUL HOTEL WHERE EVERYTHING WORKS

THIS IS ONE OF OUR FAVORITE HOTELS, OUT OF OVER 100 WE HAVE STAYED IN. MOST ARE GOOD BUT THIS WAS GREAT. THE STAFF WERE VERY ALERT AND FRIENDLY. THE EQUIPMENT WORKED, E.G. THE AIR CON COULD BE CONTROLLED COOL OR WARM. WE STAYED AT THE WILLARD, WHICH WAS TERRIFIC, BUT REALLY LIKED THE SOFITEL EVEN BETTER.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE OVAL ROOM TERRACE IS DELIGHTFUL.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommy's mom
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Jun 26, 2009

Great Location & Great Staff

The Sofitel staff is centered on making your stay in Washington DC a pleasant and memorable one. They were quick to offer assistance and were always very pleasant...from maid service to front desk to concierge to the restaurant...great employees! Our room was clean and comfortable with the beds and bedding being our favorite part...Very comfortable. No street noise or hallway noise AND our room was always the perfect sleeping temperature. We really enjoyed the Chic Picnic... the meal was delicious and they even provided us a blanket to sit on. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Post Office Pavillion had the best deals on tourist T-shirts and sweatshirts. There is a great view from clock tower which is free and did not involve any waiting time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

Dress up or stand-out

The hotel had good staff that provided a positive experience. The hotel rooms had clean, comfortable bedding and flat panel Tv's. Also, the location is close to the White House and various monuments which makes sight-seeing easy. The hotel bar is also a good place to relax after walking around D.C.. One thing to keep in mind, is that the hotel is in a business district, so people in and around the hotel are way overdressed. You will definately stand out if you are not wearing a suit, but I would not let that stop anyone from staying at the hotel. I wore typical California attire(Short's,T-shirt, and Flip-Flops) and I survived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything that you want and do not want to see in D.C. is close to the hotel. It is one block from the White House.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 7, 2008

Great Location

The Sofitel Lafayette Square in D.C. was a great choice. The location was great - 2 blocks from the White House and just around the corner from the Metro. The bathrooms were very nice and spaceous - having a seperate shower stall and tub. The lighting in the bathroom was excellent for applying makeup (which is very unusual for a hotel bathroom). The room was a nice size as well for two adults. Old Ebbitt Grill is across the street and is a great place to eat, plus it seems to be very popular among the locals. We will more than likely return to the Sofitel on our next visit to D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

1. 2 blocks from the White House. 2. Old Ebbitt Grill across the street is great place to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ghisi
Business
Montreal
May 21, 2014

Five star hotel but with negative issues!

The really good aspects include its location to monuments, the overall quality of the site, the comfort of the beds and pillows, the large bathrooms, the friendly staff and the free WI-Fi. Quite a good list, to be sure. Not so good, however, especially for the money, are the less than generous sized rooms, the lack of storage for your clothes, the single sink and reduced space for toiletries, the large desk cut down in size for the TV and the absence of a coffee machine in the room replaced by low-end free coffee down in the bar (not so convenient when you're waking up!). It seems designed for a single business traveller, one who doesn't need much desk space! One suggestion: have breakfast elsewhere...it's very expensive for very ordinary quality! Two Lattes for $15 is just not worth the money. Rather typical for quality hotels, but it creates the sense of being taken advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 21, 2008

For business or pleasure

The Sofitel Lafayette Square is an excellent hotel that features well-furnished, comfortable rooms that have large, well-appointed bathrooms. The restaurant is quite good. It is just a few blocks from the the White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

DC Coast is an excellent restauant that is a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hawthorne
Aug 22, 2008

Center of attention

Your hotel is located directly in the middle of everything you want to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots to see in do in DC. Closest attraction is the White House. The closest restaurant is Bobby Van's steakhouse. Most everything you want to see you can do by walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top