$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Old world service

We were greeted in the reception area by the most attentive receptionist I have had in this... See full review

  • Oaksland
  • Aug 23, 2014
Fantastic hotel

I will definitely go back. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. See full review

  • JRNY
  • Aug 11, 2014
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Sofitel Washington D.C. Lafayette Square is located in an updated historic landmark built in 1880. Its elegant furnishings, art pieces and interior appointments cement its classy reputation. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. It serves upscale French bistro cuisine and homemade pastries for breakfast and dessert. Guests can mingle at one of D.C.'s best bars, Le Bar. The bar's glamorous atmosphere goes well with high-end cocktails, such as the Napoleon martini. There is a multi-lingual staff.

Highlights
  • Oversized rooms and suites have a modern Art Deco theme
  • Located steps away from the White House in a historic building
  • Boasts one of the best D.C. bars, Le Bar
Location
The hotel is one block from the White House in downtown D.C., close to Dupont Circle and numerous restaurants and attractions.
Rooms

There are 237 oversized rooms and suites with a modern Art Deco theme and a historic feel. They include plasma TVs, work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, minibar, phones with voicemail and marble bathrooms. Guests appreciate the original artwork and fresh flowers in the rooms. Suites have a separate living room.

Features
The hotel is in a prime location on Lafayette Square. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, serves upscale French bistro cuisine made with local ingredients. The restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and guests should not miss the freshly baked pastries. The hotel has a fitness center. Valet parking and private indoor parking are available (fees apply).
Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • The White House (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • The National Mall (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Union Station (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.7 mi/ 1 km)
Business
  • Business center with support staff
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Translating/interpreting service
  • 5,896 square feet of event space
Policies and fees
  • High-bandwidth wired internet access is available at $16.95 USD per day
  • Overnight valet parking costs $46 USD + tax per day.
  • Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

38.9005 -77.034
Nearby airports
IAD, (IAD), 41.84, KM, W; BWI, (BWI), 51.49, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square also booked these hotels.

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square Rooms

JrSuite 1 Kg bed
Junior Suite - 1 king-size bed, living room, wo rk area, large bathroom. At least 475sq.ft (44sqm) Spacious 1 bedroom with 1 separate living room. Large desk with 2-line phone and voicemail, High-speed internet. LCD TV. Bathroom with separate glass encl
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Prestige Suite with king-size bed and separate living room,. At least 600 sq. ft (56 m²) spacious bedroom & separate living room. Large desk with 2-line phone & voicemail, high-speed Internet. LCD TV. Bathroom w/ separate glass-enclosed shower & bathtub
2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 Double beds, Large Working Area , City View. 450 sq.ft. or 42 sq.m./Marble bath w/separate shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/High speed access/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROLLAWAY Amenities. Crib upo
2 Db beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 2 Double beds, Working Area. 400sq.ft or 37sqm/Marble bath w/separate glass enclosed shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/HSIA/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROL Amenities. Crib upon request.Connecting roo
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Working Area. 370sq.ft or 34 sqm/Marble bath w/separate glass enclosed shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/HSIA/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROL amenities. Crib upon request. Connecting
1 Kg bed Dlx
Luxury Room - 1 king-size bed, large working ar ea, city view. 400sq.ft or 37sqm/Marble bath w/separate shower/2-phone lines/Minibar/LCD TV/AirCond/Dataport/High speed access/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron.ROLLAWAY UPON REQUEST. Crib upon r

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi

Dining

ICI URBAN BISTRO
ICI Urban Bistro offers a fresh and contemporary twist on traditional French bistro cuisine. Offering French comfort food using the best local ingredients, ICI Urban Bistro provides patrons with the perfect place to mix, mingle, share and enjoy.
LE BAR
Le Bar is located at the entrance to the hotel on the left. Le Bar is open from 10 a.m. until midnight from Monday to Sunday. Complimentary coffee and tea is available from 6.30 a.m. until 10 a.m. every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMac10
Australia
Feb 13, 2013

Washington Sofitel

The location of the Sofitel was excellent as was the service. I had the opportunity to meet Anna the Guest Service Manager who was extremely helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take the opportunity to dine in the restaurant the meal was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hot Chick
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 17, 2014

Absolutely Will Return!

From the moment we walked through the front door until we left, our stay at the Sofitel was an amazing experience. The hotel staff was courteous, kind and helpful. Our room was immaculate and the beds were nothing short of heavenly. It was a great location both for walking and the metro. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill was a great place for dinner--just be sure to make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nashville, TN
Sep 15, 2007

Great staff/location to the mall and metro

The hotel was very comfortable. The hotel is not cheap but very little is in Washington, DC. Would we stay there again...Yes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always take the Metro and if you plan to be there >= 3 days purchase the pass for unlimited use for seven days. When we were there in 9/07 it was only $22.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Person on Vacation
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Lovely stay at the Sofitel

We flew in on a red eye and were able to check our bags with the front desk. Check in is listed as 3 PM, but they were able to get us a room by 11 AM! The staff is wonderful, breakfast lovely and the room very comfortable. The location is very convenient (right behind the White House). We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the National Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Triman
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Sep 14, 2009

outstanding experience

Our experience was wonderful. The staff, room, comfort, and location were superb. We were in Washington DC to attend the 9-12 Taxpayer March and the location was absolutely perfect. The bed provided the most comfortable and restful sleep -- and (I) travel all over the country. There is no comparison to the Washington DC Mandarin Oriental where we stayed in April. The only objection to Cheap tickets arrangements would be not to arrange transportation because it was only available by voucher and we still had to call to make reservations. Next time, we will make local transportation separately from Cheap Tickets and conduct business directly with the local transportation company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like cigars, Shelly's Back Room is a must! They have an excellent cigar menu with a local relaxed and affordable tavern-style restaurant with quick attentive service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven md
Business
Ct
Jul 6, 2012

Awesome hotel a block from the white house

Great staff couldn't be more helpful. I swear if the door guy opened the door one more for me I was going to scream. Everyone was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. The wait staff was top notch and so was the food. As a restaurant owner and a having a BA in hotel / restaurant management I swear buy it. Room was clean and comfortable. Maybe a bit pricey but you are a block from the white house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emjayne
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2012

Nice hotel, great stay

I experienced a very comfortable stay during a business trip. The room size was perfect, had a great view, bathroom was stellar and everything was impeccably clean. Location was spot on for business. The staff was wonderful. In my opinion, there were only a few downsides for value considering the rate of the room. The room service food was far below what I expected. Incredibly overpriced, off-temp, and limited selections. Reminded me more of Ruby Tuesdays food that had been left under a food lamp for some time. I noticed other plates outsides of doors in the hallways with significant food left, so I wasn't alone on this experience. Second: I found that the wireless internet ($40 a week) to be spotty and slow. While we were awoken early in the morning for a delivery that wasn't meant for our room, we had no other problems with the staff. They were wonderful. The doormen and front desk clerks were superb and accomodating. All in all, an experience deserving of high marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sugarush
Business
Israel
Jan 1, 2013

Just what we wanted

The hotel is very impressive. It's also close to the sights and museums. We had one tiny inconvenience when we came back to the room around 3pm and it wasn't made yet. I was told the cleaning can be until 5pm. When I asked if they could do it right then, it was another half an hour before housekeeping arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very obvious, but we enjoyed the national mall and the space museum.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSmo
Business
Cleveland
Dec 31, 2012

Amazing Staff

We were there for three nights. The entire time the staff was amazing and helpful! The manager on call gave us a great insight to the best local bars and coolest local places. The concierge was spot on with recommendations, Chef Geoff's and Bobby Van's are places everyone must eat. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located, within walking distance of everywhere or a really cheap ($6 -$10) cab ride to all major attractions and museums. I can't even think of a negative thing to say about this hotel and staff... after this experience I'll be sure to stay at any Sofitel whenever I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chef Geoff's Downtown. A must eat! Best Shrimp and Grits ever.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Global
Business
North Carolina
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty terrific place....

Dont know how to describe it, other than extremely soothing. Was a quiet, calm place with euro-classiness. Staff just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pastries are up to Parisian standards. Hit them, hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WMac10
Business
Australia
Feb 13, 2013

Washington Sofitel

The location of the Sofitel was excellent as was the service. I had the opportunity to meet Anna the Guest Service Manager who was extremely helpful and professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Take the opportunity to dine in the restaurant the meal was excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top