$176 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
115 reviews
Really helpful staff!

Our family spend a few days in DC sightseeing. We walked to every attraction - about 10-15 minutes... See full review

  • Marie L.
  • Aug 21, 2015
Lovely stay for conference

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center. By far, the nicest hotel in the area. Easy... See full review

  • katherine m.
  • Apr 19, 2015

The Sofitel Washington D.C. Lafayette Square is located in an updated historic landmark built in 1880. Its elegant furnishings, art pieces and interior appointments cement its classy reputation. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. It serves upscale French bistro cuisine and homemade pastries for breakfast and dessert. Guests can mingle at one of D.C.'s best bars, Le Bar. The bar's glamorous atmosphere goes well with high-end cocktails, such as the Napoleon martini. There is a multi-lingual staff.

Location
The hotel is one block from the White House in downtown D.C., close to Dupont Circle and numerous restaurants and attractions.
Rooms

There are 237 oversized rooms and suites with a modern Art Deco theme and a historic feel. They include plasma TVs, work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, minibar, phones with voicemail and marble bathrooms. Guests appreciate the original artwork and fresh flowers in the rooms. Suites have a separate living room.

Property features
The hotel is in a prime location on Lafayette Square. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, serves upscale French bistro cuisine made with local ingredients. The restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and guests should not miss the freshly baked pastries. The hotel has a fitness center. Valet parking and private indoor parking are available (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Oversized rooms and suites have a modern Art Deco theme
  • Located steps away from the White House in a historic building
  • Boasts one of the best D.C. bars, Le Bar
Nearby attractions
  • The White House (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • The National Mall (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Union Station (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.7 mi/ 1 km)
Business
  • Business center with support staff
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Translating/interpreting service
  • 5,896 square feet of event space
Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Policies
  • High-bandwidth wired internet access is available at $16.95 USD per day
  • Overnight valet parking costs $46 USD + tax per day.
  • Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$149
4.2 / 5 482 reviews
★★★★★
$197
4.1 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$92
4.0 / 5 191 reviews
★★★★
$129
4.3 / 5 83 reviews
★★★★
$127
4.2 / 5 179 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 160 reviews
★★★★★
$325
4.2 / 5 17 reviews
★★★★
$102
4.1 / 5 337 reviews

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 double beds, 1 pull-out sofa bed, large working area, city view. 450sq.ft./42m². City view, desk area, extensive closet space, sitting area with pull-out sofa bed, complimentary WIFI, 55in HDTV, premium minibar, safe. Separate bath & rains
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE -1 king-size bed, pull-out sofa in separate living room area, interior view. 475sq.ft./44m². Spacious bedroom w/ doors separating living room area. Sitting area with pull-out sofa bed, desk, two 55in HDTVs, premium minibar. Separate bath & ra
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
PRESTIGE SUITE - 1 king-size bed, pull-out sofa in separate living room area, city view. 600sq.ft./56m². Large bedroom w/ doors separating living room. Exclusive blue color scheme. Sitting area w/pull-out sofa, desk, 2 55in HDTVs, premium minibar, BOSE ra
2 Db beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 2 double beds, working area, interior view. 400sq.ft./37m². Desk area, complimentary WIFI, 55in HDTV, premium minibar, safe. Separate bath & rainshower, Lanvin bath amenities, hairdryer, BOSE radio, iron. Connecting rooms may be available,
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 king-size bed, working area, interior view. 370sq.ft./34m². Desk area, complimentary WIFI, 55in HDTV, premium minibar, safe. Separate bath & rainshower, Lanvin bath amenities, hairdryer, BOSE radio, iron. Connecting rooms may be availabl
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 king-size bed, large working area, city view. 400sq.ft./37m². City view, desk area, complimentary WIFI, 55in HDTV, premium minibar, safe. Separate bath & rainshower, Lanvin bath amenities, hairdryer, BOSE radio, iron. Crib upon request. Ex

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi

Dining

ICI URBAN BISTRO
ICI Urban Bistro offers a fresh and contemporary twist on traditional French bistro cuisine. Offering French comfort food using the best local ingredients, ICI Urban Bistro provides patrons with the perfect place to mix, mingle, share and enjoy.
LE BAR
Le Bar is located at the entrance to the hotel on the left. Le Bar is open from 10 a.m. until midnight from Monday to Sunday. Complimentary coffee and tea is available from 6.30 a.m. until 10 a.m. every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marie L.
Family
Northfield
Aug 21, 2015

Really helpful staff!

Our family spend a few days in DC sightseeing. We walked to every attraction - about 10-15 minutes each way. The hotel staff was really helpful and the concierge gave us water each time we came in the door. The bar was large and comfortable, and had fun drinks and an outdoor area. The 'free' breakfast for kids was really limited, but a nice option to have. And our room was beautiful and full of light all day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YY
Business
Shanghai
Jun 11, 2015

Good for white house trip

Good location! It is 5 mins walk to the white house. Comfortable room, but I have to request for free water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love luxury
Couples
Macclesfield
May 26, 2015

First trip to Washington

Good trip enjoyed the Sofitel outside bar. Pretty central location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mouse111
Business
Chicago
May 26, 2015

Nice but expensive

Very nice and clean rooms. Stayed during a convention, and it was a 10 min taxi ride. Hotel was very expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
douglas m.
Family
N/A
May 19, 2015

Horrible things in room

We went to DC for our kid's spring break in April and stayed 3 nights. The hotel staff was very friendly with the exception of one very inappropriate encounter my daughter and wife had (will expand on). When we checked in and went to our room, we found a dirty glass, some dirty tissue, and worst of all a condom! We informed the front desk who immediately came up and said that they would do a thorough check of the room while we went to dinner. We never heard from management on what we thought was unacceptable, but because the staff in general was very friendly, we didn't mind too much. One day, however, my 14 yr old daughter and wife entered the hotel and were harassed by someone who worked there, but was not the doorman. We spoke to the concierge about it and he assured us that we would look into it. We were never contacted by anyone about the matter. The last day we were checking over the room to make sure we didn't leave anything behind and found under our beds: a dirty bottle full of some cream of sort, more dirty tissues, and ANOTHER USED CONDOM! Clearly the room was never cleaned right the first time or any other time. We called and asked to have the manager come up. The cleaning manager came up and was rightly embarrassed and apologetic. She took only one of our movies rented and 2 days of parking off our bill for compensation, leaving one rental, a bottle of wine and one day of parking. REALLY? My husband said he felt like he was on lets make a deal. We didn't ask for anything, but felt a little slighted by the weak attempt on their part to make amends. We have stayed at many 4 star hotels and this is NOT one! We left feeling dirty about our stay and did not feel like we stayed at a quality hotel at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
katherine m.
Business
brooklyn
Apr 19, 2015

Lovely stay for conference

I stayed here for a conference at the convention center. By far, the nicest hotel in the area. Easy to get to, warm and comfortably elegant. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bri B.
Business
N/A
Apr 17, 2015

Business Trip

I was not as awed as I expected to be of the hotel lobby, but my room absolutely blew me away! The room exceeded my expectations and made up for the dated lobby/bar/restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Crystal A.
Friends
Jacksonville
Apr 15, 2015

Great choice

Came here for a girls' trip and the cherry blossom festival. Really can't say enough great things about the hotel and staff. Every single staff member was polite and helpful. Seriously, all of them smiled and did everything to make our stay perfect. The concierge even gives you free bottles of water if you ask. Room was spotless, the shower stuff smelled fantastic, and the towels were enormous. The restaurant downstairs was not my taste (escargot and such) but the deli across the street (called Devon and blakely's?) was exquisite for breakfast and lunch and Georgia Browns is around the corner for dinner. Georgia Brown's had the best she crab soup and fried chicken I've ever tasted and the drinks were all super delicious-especially the sangria. We were so impressed, we went there two nights in a row. Anyway, hotel location is perfect. Right around the corner from the White House and a stop on most of the tour buses. The metro station is a few blocks away but the walk isn't bad. Plenty of restaurants and a CVS nearby. The stuff that comes in the fridge is super expensive ($10 for gummy bears?!) so plan ahead and hit up the CVS for snacks and drinks. overall, A+ rating for the Sofitel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hamida
Couples
Garland
Apr 9, 2015

Great Location and Customer Services

Stephanie was cheerful and a pleasure to check in with. All staff personnel were happy and helpful. This is a great location which allowed us to walk nearly everywhere. I loved my stay, will consider this hotel again when travelling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny L.
Couples
New York
Apr 6, 2015

Weekend getaway

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Junior Suite for three nights. The living room was spacious but the bedroom was on the smaller size. Location of the hotel was excellent. Within walking distance to most tourist attractions and close to the metro. The front desk was very friendly and helpful, but maid service needs improvement. We didn't get refills of coffee, cups or toiletries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top