$235 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
111 out of 111
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ghisi
Montreal
May 21, 2014

Five star hotel but with negative issues!

The really good aspects include its location to monuments, the overall quality of the site, the comfort of the beds and pillows, the large bathrooms, the friendly staff and the free WI-Fi. Quite a good list, to be sure. Not so good, however, especially for the money, are the less than generous sized rooms, the lack of storage for your clothes, the single sink and reduced space for toiletries, the large desk cut down in size for the TV and the absence of a coffee machine in the room replaced by low-end free coffee down in the bar (not so convenient when you're waking up!). It seems designed for a single business traveller, one who doesn't need much desk space! One suggestion: have breakfast elsewhere...it's very expensive for very ordinary quality! Two Lattes for $15 is just not worth the money. Rather typical for quality hotels, but it creates the sense of being taken advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kauai
Aug 5, 2009

Service with Aloha

We were on vacation from Hawaii. Stayed at the Sofitel because it was recommended by friend and by it reputation. I made the right choice because it was first class. They train their staff well. I would go back soon but its so far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
larry gmen fan
Business
Conway, S.C.
Jul 26, 2009

monument, holocust

We were there for a long weekend. The food at the resturant was excellent. The bed was VERY combfortable. Very close to the Metro too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DLGOODMAN
Business
NAPERVILLE, IL
Jul 1, 2009

NICE LOCATION FOR A WALK TO THE MALL

EVERYTHING WAS GREAT, I FORGOT TO ASK FOR A MAP OF THE MALL. (AND I GOT LOST) THEY SHOULD HAVE GIVEN IT TO ME WITHOUT ASKING.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

IF MORE THAN ONE DAY, BUY A BUS PASS THAT LETS YOU OFF AND ON ALL OF THE TIME. SAVES THE SORE FEET. OR DO SOME WALKING AND ON LONG WALKS GET A TAXI. IF THERE IS A LINE FOR TAXI, GO TO NEXT CORNER. THERE IS A GREAT DELI FOR A FAST BREAKFAST AT THE LEFT STREET CORNER OF HOTEL DOOR. JUST ASK DIRECTIONS AND NAME OF THE DELI DOWN THE STREET.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keggy1313
Business
New York, NY
Jun 29, 2009

Amazing service

Staff were very accommodating and room was extremely comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tommy's mom
Business
Fond du Lac, WI
Jun 26, 2009

Great Location & Great Staff

The Sofitel staff is centered on making your stay in Washington DC a pleasant and memorable one. They were quick to offer assistance and were always very pleasant...from maid service to front desk to concierge to the restaurant...great employees! Our room was clean and comfortable with the beds and bedding being our favorite part...Very comfortable. No street noise or hallway noise AND our room was always the perfect sleeping temperature. We really enjoyed the Chic Picnic... the meal was delicious and they even provided us a blanket to sit on. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Post Office Pavillion had the best deals on tourist T-shirts and sweatshirts. There is a great view from clock tower which is free and did not involve any waiting time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tarachka
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2009

Stylish, nothing short of excellent

Walked to the white house Walked to several excellent restaurants Enjoyed on site outdoor seating with cocktails Took 15 minute cab ride to Georgetown for a half day of boutique shopping Took 10-15 minute cab ride to Halocost Museum, Portrait Museum and The International Spy Museum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definity dine on site prior to venturing beyond. Do not under estimate the quality and creativity of this hotel's Chef and staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Business Person on Vacation
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Lovely stay at the Sofitel

We flew in on a red eye and were able to check our bags with the front desk. Check in is listed as 3 PM, but they were able to get us a room by 11 AM! The staff is wonderful, breakfast lovely and the room very comfortable. The location is very convenient (right behind the White House). We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the National Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago IL
Jun 1, 2009

We'll be back!

We were visiting our daughter to celebrate a new job. Very much enjoyed our stay, loved the outdoor bar and restaurant as well! We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the 'Nora' restaurant - edge of DuPont Circle neighborhood - as well as 'Founding Farmers' on Pennsylvania Avenue, a nice walk from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
May 17, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

First class hotel with great location. Worth the Orbitz Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to White House

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charley Mane
Business
Orlando
May 10, 2009

"Secure and safe location for walking"

Walking distance to Washington mall area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top