$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sugarush
Israel
Jan 1, 2013

Just what we wanted

The hotel is very impressive. It's also close to the sights and museums. We had one tiny inconvenience when we came back to the room around 3pm and it wasn't made yet. I was told the cleaning can be until 5pm. When I asked if they could do it right then, it was another half an hour before housekeeping arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very obvious, but we enjoyed the national mall and the space museum.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 23, 2009

Elegant hotel, friendly staff

- Easy to get to Metro to go to Washington Mall. - All small restaurants in the area close on the weekends. So you pretty much have to eat at the hotel. It was good but expensive. Friendly waitstaff though a bit disorganized. - Housekeeping and desk very friendly and helpful. - I was surprised that we had to pay for internet service and that there was no coffee or tea maker in the room considering the room price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

- Bobby Van's Steakhouse across the street was a good place to take the kids. Very friendly and good food. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kati's Mom
Business
Millersburg, Ohio
Oct 3, 2009

Great hotel and location!

The Sofitel is perfectly located by the DC sites -- Whitehouse and the National Mall. The Metro is a block and a half away at the McPherson stop. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Besides sightseeing, we also visited with our nephew who lives in Adams Morgan, so we did have our own "personal guide". There were only a couple of little things I would have like to have seen, and that was thicker washclothes and brighter lighting in the bathroom and entrance way and a larger clothes hanging area in the closet. The washclothes were rather thin. There was not much room in the closet to hang clothes for two people. The closet was at the entry way which had a small spot light shining onto the floor. The little things would not keep us away though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ebbitt Grill is maybe about 1/2 mile away, with excellent food at very reasonable prices. The Sofitel restaurant and bar also have excellent food, although a little more pricey.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudie
Business
Rochester. NY
Sep 24, 2009

A Pleasant Stay

The Sofitel was good, but I would not say 'great.' Don't get me wrong, the staff was incredibly nice and arranged for a last minute Segway trip for us around Washington, DC. They even helped with tracking down a misplaced pair of glasses. I guess I expected a bit more in the 'amenities'...no nice little chocolate on the pillow, morning croissants, etc. Still it is very well located in DC and the staff is extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of money. A small bag of cashews from the mini bar is $9.00!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudie
Business
Rochester. NY
Sep 24, 2009

A Pleasant Stay

The Sofitel was good, but I would not say 'great.' Don't get me wrong, the staff was incredibly nice and arranged for a last minute Segway trip for us around Washington, DC. They even helped with tracking down a misplaced pair of glasses. I guess I expected a bit more in the 'amenities'...no nice little chocolate on the pillow, morning croissants, etc. Still it is very well located in DC and the staff is extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring lots of money. A small bag of cashews from the mini bar is $9.00!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Triman
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Sep 14, 2009

outstanding experience

Our experience was wonderful. The staff, room, comfort, and location were superb. We were in Washington DC to attend the 9-12 Taxpayer March and the location was absolutely perfect. The bed provided the most comfortable and restful sleep -- and (I) travel all over the country. There is no comparison to the Washington DC Mandarin Oriental where we stayed in April. The only objection to Cheap tickets arrangements would be not to arrange transportation because it was only available by voucher and we still had to call to make reservations. Next time, we will make local transportation separately from Cheap Tickets and conduct business directly with the local transportation company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like cigars, Shelly's Back Room is a must! They have an excellent cigar menu with a local relaxed and affordable tavern-style restaurant with quick attentive service.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Triman
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Sep 14, 2009

outstanding experience

Our experience was wonderful. The staff, room, comfort, and location were superb. We were in Washington DC to attend the 9-12 Taxpayer March and the location was absolutely perfect. The bed provided the most comfortable and restful sleep -- and (I) travel all over the country. There is no comparison to the Washington DC Mandarin Oriental where we stayed in April. The only objection to Cheap tickets arrangements would be not to arrange transportation because it was only available by voucher and we still had to call to make reservations. Next time, we will make local transportation separately from Cheap Tickets and conduct business directly with the local transportation company.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like cigars, Shelly's Back Room is a must! They have an excellent cigar menu with a local relaxed and affordable tavern-style restaurant with quick attentive service.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Sep 6, 2009

Sofitel Lafayette Square

Very nice appointments/furnishings

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jersey
Aug 30, 2009

Sofitel Washington, D.C.

When we arrived, we found that we were not given the lowest rate but could not change the rate because we booked through Orbitz. I was not happy about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cambridge, WI
Aug 26, 2009

Great place to stay

This is the best hotel we have ever visited. From the instant we arrived at the Sofitel, until we departed, we had a superlative stay. The service was world class and the food was amazing. Our room was picture perfect and very clean. The location to downtown DC is excellent. We could walk to most places we wanted to visit. This place gets a perfect 10 from us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to Washington DC sites.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kauai
Aug 5, 2009

Service with Aloha

We were on vacation from Hawaii. Stayed at the Sofitel because it was recommended by friend and by it reputation. I made the right choice because it was first class. They train their staff well. I would go back soon but its so far away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top