$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 10, 2015 Check-out: Jul 13, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Average tourist
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
May 6, 2010

general review

We spent a week in DC to visit the sights and enjoy the city. Our hotel was located in a good spot and the staff were friendly and helpful. The elevators were the fastest we have ever experienced, a superlative point for the hotel. Our room was very dark; we had to request extra lamps to be able to read and the bed had just a sheet and heavy cover so we were either hot or cold. A request for a light blanket was not responded to. I don't know that we would ever stay there again but it was not a terrible experience either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took busses all over DC..all very convenient and inexpensive. Cabs are quite expensive and the subway was massively crowded and oppressive.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pasadena, Ca
Apr 19, 2010

Great Location Very Reasonable Rates

The staff was very attentive. They were helpful on making suggestions and reservations. The bar is nice and comfortable. The free coffee in the morning is a nice touch. The concierge made some good suggestions for Alexanderia and Arlington. Also a rain storm came up and we had to walk a few blocks, one of the staff "door people" gave me their umbrella and would not take a tip. . . WOW . . . would definitely stay here again. Clean room nicely furnished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an italian restuarant / bakery catty corner to the hotel. To the right on the opposite corner. Great pastries, sandwiches and coffee. Did not have dinner there but menu looked good

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
childless weekend
Business
Clarks Summit, PA
Mar 29, 2010

Sofitel Lafayette Square

Very nice get away without the children. The accomodations and staff were very pleasant and the room was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Mar 28, 2010

My Favorite D.C. Hotel

This is my third stay at the Sofitel in Washington, D.C. and each time the experience has been terrific. The rooms are immaculate, the bedding is crisp, service impeccable. We flew into Regan Airport and took the metro to McPherson Square and walked 2 blocks to the hotel. Took us less than a half hour from the airport to the hotel. The staff is exceptionally welcoming and are there to assist in any way possible. The bar really comes alive after 6pm. It's a great meeting place to gather before for a cocktail before dinner ... and after dinner, too. Sofitel's location is quite convenient. We walked over to the Tidal Basin to view the Cherry Blossoms. Along the way, we passed the White House and the Washington Monument. All just 10 minutes from the hotel. I love this hotel and unconditionally recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 22, 2010

Great weekend!

Everything was within walking distance! Weather was fantastic - had a great weekend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy engaged couple
Business
Orlando, FL
Jan 31, 2010

Great Washington DC weekend getaway

This hotel was in a fantastic location for all tourist activities in Washington DC. Within walking distance of all major tourist attractions. Very close to the metro station and some great local restaurants which were only found due to recommendation from the extremely helpful Concierge. Perfect for a touristy weekend away for any couple. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

always ask the Concierge as they know great places withing walking distance to suit all tastes and all price ranges.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jan 9, 2010

A Treasure in Downtown DC!!

Extremely close to Metro (McPherson Sq) - from the moment you walk into the doors, the service is exceptional. Everyone goes out of their way to help you!! The rooms are large and very comfortable, the bed is heavenly - Bathroom area roomy! One of the best stays I've had in the DC area!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast/lunch - Loeb's Deli is just down the street. Bobby Van's Steakhouse is across the street!!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nikoman
Business
New York, NY
Dec 31, 2009

Excellent Hotel

Good price, great location, comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant in the hotel (ICI). The service was also flawless.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY.Md,Del
Dec 21, 2009

Blizzard of 12/10/09

as it was a blizzard we walked around outside for about 2 hrs....great breakfast watching the snow in your resturant...walked to the Willard and the W for cocktails...ended sat nite with cocktails and dinner in your bar/rest...all was great !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

W Hotel roof top bar.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, MA
Nov 4, 2009

Service & entire hotel experience great

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top