$187 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2014 Check-out: May 11, 2014

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
96 reviews
Absolutely Will Return!

From the moment we walked through the front door until we left, our stay at the Sofitel was an... See full review

  • Hot Chick
  • Apr 17, 2014
Comfortable and affordable boutique hotel

Luxurious bed and linnens, marble bath. Very quiet but posh. Attentive staff. Phenomenal location.... See full review

  • MN travellers
  • Aug 19, 2013
Elegant hotel with classy restaurant steps away from the White House

The Sofitel Washington D.C. Lafayette Square is located in an updated historic landmark built in 1880. Its elegant furnishings, art pieces and interior appointments cement its classy reputation. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. It serves upscale French bistro cuisine and homemade pastries for breakfast and dessert. Guests can mingle at one of D.C.'s best bars, Le Bar. The bar's glamorous atmosphere goes well with high-end cocktails, such as the Napoleon martini. There is a multi-lingual staff.

Highlights
  • Oversized rooms and suites have a modern Art Deco theme
  • Located steps away from the White House in a historic building
  • Boasts one of the best D.C. bars, Le Bar
Location

The hotel is one block from the White House in downtown D.C., close to Dupont Circle and numerous restaurants and attractions.

Rooms

There are 237 oversized rooms and suites with a modern Art Deco theme and a historic feel. They include plasma TVs, work desks, complimentary wireless Internet access, safe deposit box, minibar, phones with voicemail and marble bathrooms. Guests appreciate the original artwork and fresh flowers in the rooms. Suites have a separate living room.

High-bandwidth wired Internet access is available at $14.95.

Features

The hotel is in a prime location on Lafayette Square. The on-site restaurant, iCi Urban Bistro, serves upscale French bistro cuisine made with local ingredients. The restaurant offers breakfast, lunch and dinner, and guests should not miss the freshly baked pastries. The hotel has a fitness center. Valet parking and private indoor parking are available (fees apply).

Transportation
  • McPherson Square Metro stop
  • Regan National Airport
  • Dulles International Airport
Attractions
  • The White House (0.2 mi/ 0.3 km)
  • Washington Monument (0.8 mi/ 1.2 km)
  • Georgetown (1.5 mi/ 2.4 km)
  • The National Mall (.6 mi/ 1 km)
  • United States Capitol (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Union Station (1.5 mi/ 2.3 km)
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art (0.7 mi/ 1 km)
Business
  • Business center with support staff
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet
  • Translating/interpreting service
  • 5,896 square feet of event space
Policies and fees
  • Overnight valet parking costs $43.00 USD + tax per day.
  • Free accommodation and breakfast for one child under 12 years old sharing parents' room (with space for a crib, rollaway bed or by using existing bedding) having breakfast as a family. No club access.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square Rooms

2 Db beds Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 2 Double beds, Large Working Area , City View. 450sq.ft or 42sqm/Marble bath w/separate shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/High speed access/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROLLAWAY Amenities. Crib upon req
JrSuite 1 Kg bed
JUNIOR SUITE - 1 King size Bed, Living Room, Wo rk Area, Large bathroom. At least 475sq.ft (44sqm) Spacious 1 bedroom with 1 separate living room. Large desk with 2-line phone and voicemail, High-speed internet. LCD TV. Bathroom with separate glass encl
Suite 1 Kg bed Sup
Prestige Suite with king-size bed and separatel iving room,. At least 600 sq. ft (56 m²) spacious bedroom & separate living room. Large desk with 2-line phone & voicemail, high-speed Internet. LCD TV. Bathroom w/ separate glass-enclosed shower & bathtub
2 Db beds Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 2 Double beds, Working Area. 400sq.ft or 37sqm/Marble bath w/separate glass enclosed shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/HSIA/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROL Amenities. Crib upon request.Connecting roo
1 Kg bed Sup
SUPERIOR ROOM - 1 King size bed, Working Area. 370sq.ft or 34 sqm/Marble bath w/separate glass enclosed shower/2-phone lines/LCD TV/Minibar/AirCond/Dataport/HSIA/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron. NO ROL amenities. Crib upon request. Connecting
1 Kg bed Dlx
LUXURY ROOM - 1 King size bed,Large Working Are a, City View. 400sq.ft or 37sqm/Marble bath w/separate shower/2-phone lines/Minibar/LCD TV/AirCond/Dataport/High speed access/Voice mail/Hair dryer/Electronic safe/Iron.ROLLAWAY UPON REQUEST. Crib upon re

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Audio visual equipment
Computer rental
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower
Iron
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

38.9005 -77.034
Nearby airports
IAD, (IAD), 41.84, KM, W; BWI, (BWI), 51.49, KM, N;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Lafayette Square: 0.2 mi
  • J Edgar Hoover FBI Building: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Women in the Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Decatur House: 0.3 mi
  • Blair House: 0.3 mi
  • Renwick Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Boy Scouts Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • Albert Einstein Memorial: 0.3 mi
  • National Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Freedom Plaza: 0.4 mi
  • National Geographic Society: 0.4 mi
  • Warner Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Zero Milestone: 0.4 mi
  • National Aquarium: 0.4 mi
  • Corcoran Gallery of Art: 0.5 mi
  • Presidents Park: 0.5 mi
  • Ronald Reagan Building: 0.5 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.5 mi
  • Fords Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Federal Triangle: 0.5 mi
  • Old Post office Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • National Museum of American Art: 0.6 mi
  • Department of Treasury: 0.6 mi
  • National Portrait Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • International Spy Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Art Museum of The Americas: 0.6 mi
  • Smithsonian American Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Studio Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Washington Convention Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of American History: 0.7 mi
  • Verizon Center: 0.7 mi
  • National Museum of Natural History: 0.8 mi
  • Washington Monument: 0.8 mi
  • National Archives: 0.8 mi
  • Koshland Science Museum: 0.8 mi
  • National World War II Memorial: 0.8 mi
  • National Academy of Sciences: 0.9 mi
  • Constitution Gardens: 0.9 mi
  • National Building Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Ripley Center: 0.9 mi
  • Judiciary Square: 0.9 mi
  • Reflecting Pool: 0.9 mi
  • Smithsonian Institution: 0.9 mi
  • Newseum: 0.9 mi

Dining

ICI URBAN BISTRO
ICI Urban Bistro offers a fresh and contemporary twist on traditional French bistro cuisine. Offering French comfort food using the best local ingredients, ICI Urban Bistro provides patrons with the perfect place to mix, mingle, share and enjoy.
LE BAR
Le Bar is located at the entrance to the hotel on the left. Le Bar is open from 10 a.m. until midnight from Monday to Sunday. Complimentary coffee and tea is available from 6.30 a.m. until 10 a.m. every day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (96)

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
96 out of 96
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Tarachka
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 24, 2009

Stylish, nothing short of excellent

Walked to the white house Walked to several excellent restaurants Enjoyed on site outdoor seating with cocktails Took 15 minute cab ride to Georgetown for a half day of boutique shopping Took 10-15 minute cab ride to Halocost Museum, Portrait Museum and The International Spy Museum

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Definity dine on site prior to venturing beyond. Do not under estimate the quality and creativity of this hotel's Chef and staff.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Business Person on Vacation
San Francisco, CA
Jun 23, 2009

Lovely stay at the Sofitel

We flew in on a red eye and were able to check our bags with the front desk. Check in is listed as 3 PM, but they were able to get us a room by 11 AM! The staff is wonderful, breakfast lovely and the room very comfortable. The location is very convenient (right behind the White House). We will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the National Mall.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Chicago IL
Jun 1, 2009

We'll be back!

We were visiting our daughter to celebrate a new job. Very much enjoyed our stay, loved the outdoor bar and restaurant as well! We will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We enjoyed the 'Nora' restaurant - edge of DuPont Circle neighborhood - as well as 'Founding Farmers' on Pennsylvania Avenue, a nice walk from the hotel.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
san francisco, CA
May 17, 2009

GREAT LOCATION

First class hotel with great location. Worth the Orbitz Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to White House

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
Charley Mane
Business
Orlando
May 10, 2009

"Secure and safe location for walking"

Walking distance to Washington mall area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Richmond Va
Apr 22, 2009

Top notch hotel

Excellent location and service. The room was top notch, comfortable and quiet. The service was also excellent. They let us store our bags for the whole day after we checked out. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 28, 2008

Excellent Service

Sofitel Lafayette Square Washington DC was perfectly located for business at the convention center as well as sight seeing around the mall with excellent shopping in between. Doormen were excellent - concierge service outstanding, truly great resource. Le Bar was a great meeting place for cocktails. Business center was easily accessed and useful. I would definitely return to this lovely property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

1. Great dining within walking distance. 2. Smithsonian institutions nearby. 3. Metro nearby. 4. Great shopping areas nearby.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Houston
Sep 29, 2008

Best taste of France in DC

The Sofitel was a great experience for a week's visit in DC. The room had a very comfortable king-size bed, great bath amenities and excellent bar/restaurant. The check-in staff did everything possible to accommodate my needs for my requested hotel room and were very helpful in finding me ground transportation around the city. The restaurant staff assisted me in planning a great birthday dinner for my partner with a moment's notice. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

National Capitol and White House

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Carriere
Sep 16, 2008

When we first arrived, ...

When we first arrived, check in was fine. When we were shown to our room, the first thing noticeable was that the carpet was heavily stained. Every day when showering there was a huge puddle of water that came from the bottom of the shower which apparently needed repairs. The maid did not do a good job of cleaning the room daily. The room especially, and the hotel is in need of several upgrades. Over all the room and area is ok, but not for the price we paid. No telephone books in the rooms for the guests to look through and find other dining or entertainment options and when asked for one, was told not available in the hotel. Staff would not recommend other dining facilities other than the hotel resturant. No vending machines in the hotel, only the over priced bar in your room. They are forcing guests to use their restaurant. We had a good stay in Washington, but we felt we way overpaid for the hotel. Would have liked to try some of the local restaurants, but had to depend on the cab drivers to refer us to good dining options.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

White House is in close proximity.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Sacramento
Sep 12, 2008

Great Capitol Location

The Washington D. C. Sofitel Hotel was everything you would expect from a five-star property. From the greeting we received from staff as we arrived, to the helpful assistance offered by the same staff upon departure, our stay in Washington was a memorable occassion because of our stay there. Located one block from Lafayette Square and the White House, we were staying in the very heart of the city. From there, we were able to walk to The Mall and other places of interest, including DuPont Circle. Our accommodations were quiet, roomy, and first rate: Cozy, comfortable bed, large HDTV, and very spacious and well-appointed bathroom with separate shower. Although the hotel had its own restaurant, we chose to take advantage of several other fine establishments in close proximity. Without question, we will again plan to stay at Hotel Sofitel on our next trip to Washington D. C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit all of the sights available...and they are plentiful: The Whte House, Ford's Theatre, the Washington Monument, the Lincoln Memorial, the War Veterans'Memorials, the Jefferson and Roosevelt Memorials, the Holocuast Museum, the Smithsoneum Museums and the Capitol Building. ALL within a short distance of the hotel.

Back to menu Return to top