$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 16, 2011

One day getaway

The staff were wonderful, and very helpful in planning our activities and dining. The room was spacious, clean, quiet with nice amenities, including a great bed and wonderful shower. The location is next to the White House and close by to many other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 11, 2011

Nice Weekend Getaway

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sofitel for a little weeekend together. We usually head over to New York, but went with DC this time. Never have stayed at a Sofitel before, but was pleased and impressed. Staff was courteous, room was clean and the lounge was fun. My only negative is the $42 valet parking. The staff bombards you upon your arrival and swoop up you car without asking your preference. Next thing you know, the car is gone and they charge $42.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 28, 2011

Spring Break Stay

Our trip was purely for sight seeing. We had a wonderful trip. The hotel was beautiful but it was the hotel staff that made the difference. The staff was always courteous and attentive. The doormen in particular were always welcoming and willing to help. The location was great - within walking distance to areas of interest. The only thing I would add is an area to view tours, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Nov 22, 2010

Superb service and great rooms!

Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and within a day at least four of the staff members greeted us by name. The French restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Very high quality bedsheets and very comfortable bed. Was on third floor with view of the street but could barely hear the cars. The windows were very well insulated. The gym was well equipped and had complimentary oranges and bananas. Location very good with 5 minutes walk to the White House. Seems like all employees were French so they had a nice accent. Front Desk lady sent complimentary chocolate covered strawberries to the room......a very nice gesture. We actually only had positive experiences. The bathroom was very nice and spacious also. Highly recommended! The bar had a very nice atmosphere and also had excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Smithsonian Museums are excellent! Make sure to book tickets to the Washington Monument on-line to avoid waiting in line early in the morning.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zo and Glo
Couples
Medford, Oregon
Nov 12, 2010

Outstanding Hotel and location !

Excellent location within walking distance of the "Washington Monument", the "White House", Lincoln's memorial, and even "Arlington Cemetary".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a good vinyl folding map of Washington DC, which shows all dining choices, coffee shops, attractions, entertainment, etc.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chugan
Couples
Monterery Park
Oct 20, 2010

One of the finest hotels we've stayed at

Unfortunately, when we arrived our reservation was not recieved. They said that they have been having some diffuiculty with [...].Luckly, I had my confirmation number and proof of payment. The management was great and set us up with a lovely room.The staff was great. Helpful and always polite and cheerful. This was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed. Both bedroom and bath were large. Convienient, couple of blocks from the White House and walkable to all the historical sites in the National Mall. Also a block from the METRO.When we checked out ... I recieved a bill and I noticed that the total price of our stay was less than we paid [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring alot of $$$$

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Carmel, IN
Oct 7, 2010

Sofitel

Room set up was different in a good way. Like the music on when arriving - all hotels should have free internet access and not just a business room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent crab at the dancing crab.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Sep 26, 2010

Beautiful DC hotel

Beautiful lobby, hallways, and rooms. Very welcoming staff. I would stay here again very happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

The bar in the hotel is a very nice place to have a drink and an informal, light meal.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun vacationer
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Sep 13, 2010

Formal yet comfortable

Clean hotel, first class feel with courteous staff in a great location. The only small complaints are: I like a coffee pot in the room, there was none (available through room service). I also would have liked free WiFi. WiFi available in the rooms for $10/day or you could us one of the 3 computers in their business center. Overall a very good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A lot of good non-formal places to eat in the area.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
d.a.d.
Couples
Georgetown, Maine
Aug 31, 2010

Not the service you would expect!

Arrived at midnight. Was greeted and then asked to wait a second. Staff came back and said "we are sorry but we had a water leak and will put you up in a 5 star hotel" After I voiced my concern that we chose for the location and didn't want to be further from our next day appointment. I was asured that it was only (1) block over & (1) block up. Not so (about a total of 5 blocks off)and when we did get to the hotel unlike the Sofilet the resturant was closed so we couldn't get anything to eat. Sofiltiel never asked me if I wanted them to get me another or where the other hotel would best suit me. AND THEY NEVER ONCE SAID THAY WE SORRY FOR THE INCONVIENCE. The hotel they booked us in was much less in cost then what I paid to [...] by more than $75.00. Somebody made money on us. For that reason I will go back to my local Travel agent because I know she would have handlded it much better. Also I booked the supper shutle from Regan Nat'l to Lafayette Square it took over one hour (in traffic at 11:00 PM (not much traffic) very slow in getting them selved organized to take customer. Soo bad that when we went to return to the airport we forfieted the prepaid super shuttle for a taxi. It was $15.00 less . [...]. Would like a price adjustment!! How about it [...]????? You have my number call me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top