$211 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Global
Business
North Carolina
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty terrific place....

Dont know how to describe it, other than extremely soothing. Was a quiet, calm place with euro-classiness. Staff just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pastries are up to Parisian standards. Hit them, hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beverly, MA
Jun 15, 2011

Great location

The room accommodation was excellent. Even the service at the door upon entering or leaving - always a "Bonjour" or a "Welcome back". Housekeeping service was quick and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro in Washington is fast with frequent trains, clean, and relatively easy to use and very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 8, 2011

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 31, 2011

Good service, so so room.

The hotel service is good. One of the two rooms we have has some smells and they agreed to change the room for us. The room itself is kind of narrow and the air conditioner is blowing airs right to my feet during the night. The restroom is small too and the bathtube is not big enough to fit in an adult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 23, 2011

Chic Hotel

Great customer service and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the monuments!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 16, 2011

One day getaway

The staff were wonderful, and very helpful in planning our activities and dining. The room was spacious, clean, quiet with nice amenities, including a great bed and wonderful shower. The location is next to the White House and close by to many other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 11, 2011

Nice Weekend Getaway

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Sofitel for a little weeekend together. We usually head over to New York, but went with DC this time. Never have stayed at a Sofitel before, but was pleased and impressed. Staff was courteous, room was clean and the lounge was fun. My only negative is the $42 valet parking. The staff bombards you upon your arrival and swoop up you car without asking your preference. Next thing you know, the car is gone and they charge $42.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 28, 2011

Spring Break Stay

Our trip was purely for sight seeing. We had a wonderful trip. The hotel was beautiful but it was the hotel staff that made the difference. The staff was always courteous and attentive. The doormen in particular were always welcoming and willing to help. The location was great - within walking distance to areas of interest. The only thing I would add is an area to view tours, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 22, 2010

Superb service and great rooms!

Upon arrival, the staff was very friendly and within a day at least four of the staff members greeted us by name. The French restaurant in the hotel was excellent. Very high quality bedsheets and very comfortable bed. Was on third floor with view of the street but could barely hear the cars. The windows were very well insulated. The gym was well equipped and had complimentary oranges and bananas. Location very good with 5 minutes walk to the White House. Seems like all employees were French so they had a nice accent. Front Desk lady sent complimentary chocolate covered strawberries to the room......a very nice gesture. We actually only had positive experiences. The bathroom was very nice and spacious also. Highly recommended! The bar had a very nice atmosphere and also had excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Smithsonian Museums are excellent! Make sure to book tickets to the Washington Monument on-line to avoid waiting in line early in the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zo and Glo
Business
Medford, Oregon
Nov 12, 2010

Outstanding Hotel and location !

Excellent location within walking distance of the "Washington Monument", the "White House", Lincoln's memorial, and even "Arlington Cemetary".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a good vinyl folding map of Washington DC, which shows all dining choices, coffee shops, attractions, entertainment, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chugan
Business
Monterery Park
Oct 20, 2010

One of the finest hotels we've stayed at

Unfortunately, when we arrived our reservation was not recieved. They said that they have been having some diffuiculty with [...].Luckly, I had my confirmation number and proof of payment. The management was great and set us up with a lovely room.The staff was great. Helpful and always polite and cheerful. This was one of the nicest hotels we've stayed. Both bedroom and bath were large. Convienient, couple of blocks from the White House and walkable to all the historical sites in the National Mall. Also a block from the METRO.When we checked out ... I recieved a bill and I noticed that the total price of our stay was less than we paid [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring alot of $$$$

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top