$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Global
Business
North Carolina
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty terrific place....

Dont know how to describe it, other than extremely soothing. Was a quiet, calm place with euro-classiness. Staff just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pastries are up to Parisian standards. Hit them, hard.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
31012
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 13, 2012

Nice hotel, difficult to locate

The hotel was very nice, but difficult to find. The hotel name was hidden and when we actually found it, we drove by it a few times trying to find the front of the building and the valet parking. There were no staff members waiting outside to assist you. The valet parking was ridiculously overpriced. $45 for one night is an outrage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SHORT BUT GREAT VISIT
Business
Florida, USA
Nov 5, 2011

Great location and staff

Very impressed from the moment I arrived when they opened the front door - quick check-in - very attentive staff - rarely had to open the front door. Although price was similar, this was a much better place to stay than the Hyatt Regency on New Jersey. Location was as good as it gets - visited 11 museums in three days and, except for the Kreeger, was able to walk to them all. Very nice rooms with tub & shower. Highly recommend. Five minor issues: I paid extra for a city view - the only view was of the American Bar Assoc. bldg., no store/gift shop, the ice machine on my floor was broken, no refrig/microwave and there was an extra fee for internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you appreciate paintings from the impressionist era do not miss the Phillips Collection - their people are great - a nice walk - just off Dupont Circle and you get a nice view of the embassy area.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rosiey
Business
Indianapolis
Oct 3, 2011

Visit

I love the room and everyone was so helpful. The resturant in the hotel was a bit pricy but the food was beautifuly prepared. I enjoyed my stay and will stay again when I come to Washington

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

BeBe was very helpful in securing me a seat on the tour bus.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jun 28, 2011

Excellent location

Excellent location, very friendly service, nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ristorante Trattu. Very good Italien food.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ted, pleased guest
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 27, 2011

Great hotel in a very good location

We were greeted by [...]at the front desk who was extremely helpful and made quite a few recommendations from the get go! She also helped us with an room upgrade which was extremely nice. The room was very spacious, modern and comfortable.We made dinner reservations thru the lead concierge, [...]to the Oval Room which was a short walk past the White House and extremely delicious food at a moderate price level for fine dinning. She had even mentioned our special occasion when making the resie and we got surprised with a special desert. Hotel is really nice and a very easy location to get to all the Smithsonian Museums and to walk to various neighborhoods. we do recommend this hotel highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make dinner resies at the "Oval Room". Great food and artful presentation. Extremely creative mixture of favors and color of food ingredients. Most entree's in the $20's. Try the pasta w/ truffles starter or tempura soft shell crab.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Beverly, MA
Jun 15, 2011

Great location

The room accommodation was excellent. Even the service at the door upon entering or leaving - always a "Bonjour" or a "Welcome back". Housekeeping service was quick and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Metro in Washington is fast with frequent trains, clean, and relatively easy to use and very convenient.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 8, 2011

[...]

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
May 31, 2011

Good service, so so room.

The hotel service is good. One of the two rooms we have has some smells and they agreed to change the room for us. The room itself is kind of narrow and the air conditioner is blowing airs right to my feet during the night. The restroom is small too and the bathtube is not big enough to fit in an adult.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 23, 2011

Chic Hotel

Great customer service and great location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the monuments!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 16, 2011

One day getaway

The staff were wonderful, and very helpful in planning our activities and dining. The room was spacious, clean, quiet with nice amenities, including a great bed and wonderful shower. The location is next to the White House and close by to many other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top