$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Global
Business
North Carolina
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty terrific place....

Dont know how to describe it, other than extremely soothing. Was a quiet, calm place with euro-classiness. Staff just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pastries are up to Parisian standards. Hit them, hard.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sugarush
Couples
Israel
Jan 1, 2013

Just what we wanted

The hotel is very impressive. It's also close to the sights and museums. We had one tiny inconvenience when we came back to the room around 3pm and it wasn't made yet. I was told the cleaning can be until 5pm. When I asked if they could do it right then, it was another half an hour before housekeeping arrived.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very obvious, but we enjoyed the national mall and the space museum.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JSmo
Couples
Cleveland
Dec 31, 2012

Amazing Staff

We were there for three nights. The entire time the staff was amazing and helpful! The manager on call gave us a great insight to the best local bars and coolest local places. The concierge was spot on with recommendations, Chef Geoff's and Bobby Van's are places everyone must eat. The hotel is beautiful and perfectly located, within walking distance of everywhere or a really cheap ($6 -$10) cab ride to all major attractions and museums. I can't even think of a negative thing to say about this hotel and staff... after this experience I'll be sure to stay at any Sofitel whenever I travel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chef Geoff's Downtown. A must eat! Best Shrimp and Grits ever.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wife of Political Dude
Couples
Utah
Dec 15, 2012

WH Holiday Party - Great Location

The staff are all fantastic. We thoroughly enjoyed every interaction with all the hotel employees. The rooms are small but fairly clean and comfortable. We stayed 3 nights and I had to request washcloths each day. I was almost grudgingly given 2 washcloths in my daily quest. Why they don't automatically put them in the rooms is unknown. You also get 2 bath towels and no more. Maybe they have a towel Troll? Room service was very prompt and good food. Front Desk and Doormen and Bellmen are exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Siroc is YUMMY!

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank Jones
Couples
Cleveland, Oh
Nov 12, 2012

Not worth the money!

The room was extremly small and pricey. The gym was small and If you are over sixfoot like me you can not use the eliptical machine because your head will hit the ceiling. If your gonna spend the cash go to the W otherwise save a few bucks and stay at the Hyatt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
emjayne
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Nov 12, 2012

Nice hotel, great stay

I experienced a very comfortable stay during a business trip. The room size was perfect, had a great view, bathroom was stellar and everything was impeccably clean. Location was spot on for business. The staff was wonderful. In my opinion, there were only a few downsides for value considering the rate of the room. The room service food was far below what I expected. Incredibly overpriced, off-temp, and limited selections. Reminded me more of Ruby Tuesdays food that had been left under a food lamp for some time. I noticed other plates outsides of doors in the hallways with significant food left, so I wasn't alone on this experience. Second: I found that the wireless internet ($40 a week) to be spotty and slow. While we were awoken early in the morning for a delivery that wasn't meant for our room, we had no other problems with the staff. They were wonderful. The doormen and front desk clerks were superb and accomodating. All in all, an experience deserving of high marks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hollymom
Single
boston ma
Oct 24, 2012

very pleasant experience

staff very accommodating - attentive to your needs great central location near the White House and Metro room quite comfortable room service prompt - ordered just a pot of coffee and received it on time with a small basket of pastries and a small smoothie - complimentary (or as part of the $5 delivery charge) room rate was a little higher than I usually pay..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boet
Business
New York
Sep 17, 2012

Almost...

Expensive, but worth it... almost. The premium-priced room was great in itself, but looked onto a grey, dark courtyard - all I could see was walls, with minimum daylight. To be fair, the staff were great, and moved me to a room on the street side on the last night of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Brasserie Beck is a few blocks away, great atmosphere, inventive menu, not overly priced.

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Steven md
Couples
Ct
Jul 6, 2012

Awesome hotel a block from the white house

Great staff couldn't be more helpful. I swear if the door guy opened the door one more for me I was going to scream. Everyone was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. The wait staff was top notch and so was the food. As a restaurant owner and a having a BA in hotel / restaurant management I swear buy it. Room was clean and comfortable. Maybe a bit pricey but you are a block from the white house.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LBW in Kentucky
Single
Bardstown, KY
Jun 18, 2012

staff should have followed up

After check-in I decided to shower before I met my son, a resident of DC. After undressing, I realized I left something in my bag. There was a man in my room! They left a note and sweets apologizing, but never followed up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top