$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

4 stars
View map of 806 15th Street NW, WASHINGTON DC, WASHINGTON, DC 20005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim Global
Business
North Carolina
Jan 18, 2013

Pretty terrific place....

Dont know how to describe it, other than extremely soothing. Was a quiet, calm place with euro-classiness. Staff just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The pastries are up to Parisian standards. Hit them, hard.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AUK in US
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 27, 2014

Sofitel, DC in July

Good all round hotel, highlighted by location - perfect for late night stroll around DC landmarks - and convenient bar with flow of interesting people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Streets around historic landmarks are deserted late in the evening, providing amazing and personal feel to a walk around the neighborhood.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dub C
Business
West Cheser, PA
Jul 22, 2014

Nice spot, but nothing special

We went for the weekend. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, but there is no reason to return. The lobby was average but small, the king room was adequate size, the bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the hallway smelled funny. We were in DC with plenty of awesome restaurants, so we didn't eat at the hotel -consequenlty, no food review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrh18
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Jul 8, 2014

Charming..would recommend to others

We only stayed one night but were impressed by the service and the room. Everyone at the front desk to the doorman were eager to help. Room was nice and clean. Soft pillows and Grohe shower heads in bathrooms. I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbits Grill is walking distance and close to the Whitehouse.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BSKY
Business
New York City
Jun 27, 2014

Great Place to Hang Your Hat

I stayed here for a long weekend with my daughter. It is a great location, around the corner from the Whitehouse and walking distance to the mall. The outdoor tables are a great place to have breakfast or a drink at the end of the day, and the staff would courteous and charming. The room was comfortable, my only complaint is there didn't seem to be any drawers for your clothes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

To so much in DC.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ghisi
Business
Montreal
May 21, 2014

Five star hotel but with negative issues!

The really good aspects include its location to monuments, the overall quality of the site, the comfort of the beds and pillows, the large bathrooms, the friendly staff and the free WI-Fi. Quite a good list, to be sure. Not so good, however, especially for the money, are the less than generous sized rooms, the lack of storage for your clothes, the single sink and reduced space for toiletries, the large desk cut down in size for the TV and the absence of a coffee machine in the room replaced by low-end free coffee down in the bar (not so convenient when you're waking up!). It seems designed for a single business traveller, one who doesn't need much desk space! One suggestion: have breakfast elsewhere...it's very expensive for very ordinary quality! Two Lattes for $15 is just not worth the money. Rather typical for quality hotels, but it creates the sense of being taken advantage of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Weekend Adventure
Business
Stafford, VA
May 18, 2014

Weekend in DC

Sofitel DC offers all the amenities and location of the best DC hotels. But the excellent staff combined with the price takes it over the top. Great Hotel with Great Value. Highly Recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe Pfeiffer
Business
Nogales, Arizona
May 12, 2014

Excellent Service

We had a wonderful time at Sofitel. Their staff made sure we had everything we needed. Thank you for making our stay so special. We will definitive are staying in Sofitel in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A Short walk to the 'W' to have drinks and party all night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
arc830
Business
louisiana
Apr 29, 2014

Great staff

The staff was great! Very nice rooms, close to the museums and White House.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hot Chick
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 17, 2014

Absolutely Will Return!

From the moment we walked through the front door until we left, our stay at the Sofitel was an amazing experience. The hotel staff was courteous, kind and helpful. Our room was immaculate and the beds were nothing short of heavenly. It was a great location both for walking and the metro. I would highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Washington D.C.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Ebbitts Grill was a great place for dinner--just be sure to make reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnnieMP
Business
Chicago
Feb 23, 2014

Great Couples Weekend

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over Valentine's Day weekend. We saw the sites on the National Mall, but also went for a romantic dinner nearby and enjoyed the hotel bar. Would recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to all of the museums and sites on the National Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top